We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Assured of a great night out -good food -good wine -good company” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wro

The Wro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in West Kirby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Assured of a great night out -good food -good wine -good company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Am an infrequent visitor to this bar bistro and always fine the wine of good quality. The food very nice indeed, The service great and the clientele seem a pleasant bunch also . All in all its the best place to combine a light meal with drinks in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sas3161, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much - great to hear lovey feedback from regular guests - it's really appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    110
    50
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Monday night recently. Very disappointed to discover they only have a set Menu and no other Menu or option to order sides. With a very limited menu to choose from I opted for the burger. All i can say is, the bun was twice the size of the actual burger, the fries were like Macdonalds, which is such a shame that you can't order their chunky chips as I love those, and also there was no salad with it. We were all quite annoyed as we had chosen the Wro Lounge based on their online Menu which is misleading as there is more choice on there. I am always impressed with the bar over the road and visit regularly but on the two occasions I have visited the Lounge the food has been a let down. Most places who offer a set menu, usually have a normal menu as well for those who want more choice and are prepared to pay more. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen_2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sas3161, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent disappointing experience - we have taken your comments on board and have made the full menu available alongside the 'Monday Supper Club' dishes - we have also got the wine offer on all evening. Apologies once again you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly and not over young”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a nice meal, a couple of drinks, enjoyed the atmosphere and were not shocked by the bill.the sharing platter was suitable for two with no need for extras. The Decor is currently modern, but will date fast, they will need to continue to work hard to stay at this level. Staff were friendly and helpful. The place was felt more every day quality rather super special for an important occasion.

For sure there is no scenic views other than the other glamorous people.

We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sas3161, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments - rest assured we work very hard to keep the place looking clean and tidy! We also attract, as you suggest, a wide age range of guests which is a really nice mix. Lots of people just pop in for a coffee or a drink and perhaps a sharing platter or snack - but many opt for the 2 or 3 course menus- hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was very very good, well presented and reasonably priced. Had the wine deal buy two large glasses and get rest of bottle free, we enjoyed the Savignon Blanc
Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sas3161, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback - hope to see you again at the Wro soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A really lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent afternoon tea at The Wro Lounge. It has to be booked which we had done the day before. The service was warm and friendly. We had tea with Fizz which was lovely. There were generous amounts of very nice ham, cheese and onion and tuna sandwiches. There was a scone and cream each (sadly not clotted cream) and then 4 cakes each. The lemon cake was delicious, the others perhaps a little more ordinary but it was still very good. There was a choice of tea or coffee included in the price. A real treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sas3161, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback - lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wro also viewed

 

Been to The Wro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing