We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
West Kirby
Post
Inbox
Search

“Melanie Kennedy”

The Viking Pub and Bakehouse
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in West Kirby
Price range: $13 - $23
Description: As West Kirby's first Tankovna, we serve brewery fresh beer. Our copper tanks are filled with Budweiser Budvar which is driven direct from the brewery in Budwies, Czech Rep, every week. Delivering the freshest, unpasteurised pint of pilsner this side of the Danube. We have curated a broad range of interesting beer and cider as well as some funky wines, juices and cocktails for you to explore. In the kitchen, Simon and his team have really pushed the longboat out to deliver an exciting menu that is packed with pub classics, kids menus and entirely new dishes created exclusively for your new local.
Restaurant details
Description: As West Kirby's first Tankovna, we serve brewery fresh beer. Our copper tanks are filled with Budweiser Budvar which is driven direct from the brewery in Budwies, Czech Rep, every week. Delivering the freshest, unpasteurised pint of pilsner this side of the Danube. We have curated a broad range of interesting beer and cider as well as some funky wines, juices and cocktails for you to explore. In the kitchen, Simon and his team have really pushed the longboat out to deliver an exciting menu that is packed with pub classics, kids menus and entirely new dishes created exclusively for your new local.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food in the Viking pub in West kirby is amazing fresh ingredients they say you eat with your eyes presention spot on highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank BackPacker579700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in for breakfast this morning, first visit to the Viking. Service was excellent, very friendly staff. Veggie breakfast one of the best we have had in a good while. Will definitely be going back again.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Explorer715498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to The Viking on many occasions but my visit this evening was very disappointing. The menu doesn't seem as large as it used be and the choices are not very good. I used to have the bread tin to start with and that is no longer on the menu. The choice of starters was very poor so just ended up having garlic bread with cheese. Wasn't too keen on the choices on the mains either, I went for the buttermilk chicken burger, it arrived just the burger and some chips! No salad on the plate not even a tomato! No onion rings or even a grilled mushroom! The plate looked bare! I work in a college kitchen and even my students wouldn't send food out without even the slightest bit of garnish or salad! We then asked for the dessert menu and there was a choice of 4 desserts! Really disappointed!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVikingTeam, Manager at The Viking Pub and Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kaz,

I hope you can accept my sincerest apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations during your visit and that you left feeling disappointed. We are currently getting ready to launch our new food menu which will be going live in October which will offer a larger range of dishes and we are very excited to see how it goes down. Your comments have been passed onto the kitchen team and we hope we can change your opinion around with our new menu choices.

If there is anything else you would like to discuss please feel free to email us at info@thevikingpub.co.uk or call us on 0151-601-1888.

Kind regards, Matt.
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last night we hired the upstairs of the Viking for my husbands 30th meal. It was such a brilliant night, I would highly recommend to anyone with a big family like ours. I dropped some stuff off on Friday & the staff decorated the place beautifully, had welcome drinks poured on arrival, catered for all including our toddler niece & the chefs also helped delay the food as we had family stuck coming over from Liverpool with a tunnel closure. It was such a brilliant night. Special shout out to Matt who made everything run smoothly all night & always checked on all of our guests & all the other lovely staff working upstairs. Thank you all! Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Merseyblue90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for an early dinner. Food was delicious and the service was brilliant. Well done team - will definitely see you again soon!

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank R011Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking Pub and Bakehouse also viewed

 
West Kirby, Wirral
 

Been to The Viking Pub and Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing