We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter's Hall Inn
Nearby Hotels
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Court Hotel(Minchinhampton)
$218
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$163
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
166
169
63
40
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
169
63
40
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubold englishsunday lunchexcellent value for moneyboth nightswestonbirt arboretumeggs benedictfish and chipslarge gardenopen firelamb shanklovely mealan evening mealreal alewarm welcomeplay areapie
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 484 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break at the Hunters Hall. Only fifty eight pounds for 2 nights B&B (yes that's right £58 for 2 nights B&B for 2 people). In spite of many cancellations due to the snow there was still a great atmosphere from those locals who braved the weather. Welcome good, room large, clean and warm. Food very good pub grub, served quickly and pleasantly, and wine - well what can I say - a bottle of bin end 2006 Barolo at £13 a bottle - you just can't go wrong can you? Great cooked breakfast , not on warmers but cooked for you, and best of all fantastic granary toast, the best we've had in an Inn. Would we go again? - you bet we would. All this and walking from the door in to the winter Cotswold landscape - a fantastic way to spend my wife's birthday.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 11 quiet , large and clean
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chromeorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make sure that customers feel they are getting value for money and it is excellent to know that we gave you a good experience. Thank you for leaving your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent stay at Hunters Hall in January, which is not the best month to visit the Cotswold area! The hotel is old world but the facities are very modern with rooms which look like they have been recently refurbished to a high standard. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Lillian made sure we had everything to enjoy our stay and Dave and Kerry were particularly attentive for dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent with breakfast the best we have had at any hotel for a long while! We were on a promotional rate stay which was excellent value but did not lose out on any of the servce or quality. We would definetly visit again,well done to Lillian and her staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I chose to stay at the hotel because we were guests at a wedding across the road, it was convenient for stumbling across the road to bed late after the function. For the cost of £130 per night I would advise staying in one of the nearer towns, Stroud or Nailsworth. The room was small, dirty and in disrepair! Cobwebs in the living area, grime in the bathroom, the radiator was hanging off the wall and breakfast wasn't that great either!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will be taking action to ensure that the standard of our rooms are better in the future. We do charge more for one night stays over the weekend but we do not want our customers to feel that they are not getting value for their money. Thank you very much for taking leaving your feedback so we can make improvements to our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Around 12 friends and I came to the Hunters Hall for my 30th birthday dinner in December. We had a fantastic time and although it was apparent they were extremely busy we still received great service and could not fault the food.

My partner and I also stayed in the hotel so we didn't have to drive home. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. It was exactly what I would expect from a small country inn.

Breakfast was great and filling. Good choice of everything; fruits, pastries, juice and hot breakfast all cooked to a good standard.

I can see from other reviews that people have received poorer service than we received, that is why I felt I should leave a review on here as no doubt it is more motivating for the staff to be reading good reviews, not just the bad ones.

We live fairly locally and would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and it was lovely. If you don't mind a first floor room this is a good one.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are very happy to hear that we made your birthday a happy occasion. Thank you very much for leaving your comments; it is always motivating for the staff to hear they are doing a good job. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent stay - just what is required after a hectic family Christmas. The pub is beautiful and full of character and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Rich and Frankie particularly are gems and the breakfast is the best I have had at any Old English Inn and I have been to the majority of them. The rooms are basic but the rest more than makes up for that. You should be proud of tour establishment - would definitely stay again - well done!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are very glad to hear that you received good service whilst visiting us. It is always motivating for the staff to receive positive feedback so thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews