We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roods Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Such a lovely place, and such friendly hosts. I had a very nice room with a large bathroom. Everything is very clean. Isobel cooks a very nice Scottish breakfast in the morning.Free WiFi. I'd defintely come back.
There is a direct bus (747) from Edinburgh Airport almost to the front door of the B&B. Inverkeithing has a number of pubs and take aways, but no restaurant (in walking distance)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruehstuecksdirektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
84
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Isobel and Patrick really are hospitality itself. It almost felt like staying at a travel agency, tourist information, story teller, master chef, and close relatives at the same time. They helped us make the most out of our short stay in Scotland. Isobel's breakfast is top notch and Patrick can tell you almost anything about anything.

The train station is about one minute away, although you would have never guessed it when you eat your breakfast in the conservatory. Short way to Edinburgh and short way further up the country by train if you want to make day trips.

We can vouch for the more detailed descripions of the breakfast, rooms and place you'll find in other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pål Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmun, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at The Roods for a 3 night break to visit Edinburgh and Fife. The accommodation was very comfortable and both the bedroom and the en-suite had everything and more that you would need (eg. spare toiletries, iron & ironing board, dressing gowns). The breakfast menu was very tasty and varied - ranging from traditional to continental, including a wonderful 15 fruits salad with yoghurt and a special mint syrup! Isobel and Patrick were very welcoming and helpful hosts, right from the first telephone call to the follow up emails regarding directions to their home. We even went home with a bag of plums and a jar of Isobel’s homemade plum jam! Lorna & Dave Dewar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Isobel and Patrick were wonderful hosts! They recommended a great pub for dinner in the next town and helped me find another B&B when they did not have room for extra nights. My room was above average - lovely ambiance, ensuite bathroom, all very modern, comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious, and there were unexpected snacks (fruit/sweets) in the room. Location could not be better - across the street from the path to the train station with easy access to Edinburgh. A car was helpful to have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've never written a review before, but am compelled to compliment The Roods. Absolutely lovely people with sincerity and heartfelt welcome. They love to chat, but do not intrude. They make a killer breakfast, catered to your fancy. They successfully anticipate and accommodate your needs, and the location is across the street from the train station to Edinburgh, etc. If you are in the area and looking for an overnight or extended stay...book at The Roods.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the roods for a special party. Isobel and Patrick made us feel so welcome. We went as guests and came away as friends. What a smashing place, so clean and very welcoming. Try the big scottish breakfast - awesome! Next time we will try the fruit salad with our new friends. Thanks Patrick and Isobel, we really enjoyed our stay with you.

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon Suite, so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Roods over the last 11 weekends and can honestly say it’s one of the best B&B I have ever stayed at. Isobel and Patrick were perfect hosts and made me feel so welcome (pretty much like one of the family). They are both genuinely nice, sincere people and nothing was ever any trouble.
The rooms and en suite facilities are excellent. If you ever did need anything (not that you will) you only need to ask and it would be immediately attended to.
The garden area is very nice to sit out on an evening and there is also off street private parking to the rear of the property.
The train and bus stations are directly across the street from the B&B so travelling locally or into Edinburgh (20 mins by train) is no problem at all. The London service also stops at Inverkeithing train station so this is an ideal location if your onward journey is further a field.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Roods B&B to anyone looking for excellent quality accommodation at affordable prices, in a great location. Add in Isobel and Patrick’s extremely kind and helpful nature… What more would anyone want.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieBanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
2.4 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.9 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roods Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roods Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16 Bannerman Avenue, Inverkeithing KY11 1NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roods Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Roods Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roods Bed & Breakfast Inverkeithing, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing