We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drapers House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

As a rare cow regular and z list celeb ;) I was invited to the launch of the Rare cow in Earls Colne so made sense to enjoy the hospitality and book a room to stay over night.
Every room has a different theme we stayed in a beautifully designed room and were pampered all the way.
The hotel has 9 rooms and is 5 star boutique AA Rated the food in the Restaurant amzingly on a launch night was fantastic and done their award winning other restaurants proud.
Was also nice to meet Jess and Ricky from The only way is Essex a really nice couple who attended the launch and stayed in the hotel below us

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
93
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I were attending a function in Earls Colne and Blackwells was recommended to us both for location and quality. The location was great but the accomodation not so good. Our bedroom was located on the second floor which was an attic converted into two bedrooms. The bedroom inside was quite nice but outside on the landing it was like a storage area for old furniture and the likes. In the bathroom there were two light bulbs not working and not enough light for my wife to do her makeup. I decided to phone reception to report the faults and found that the phone did not work. I then went down to reception to report the faults only to be given a light bulb from a box under the counter. On returning to my room the new light bulb made no difference as it was the light fittings at fault. These faults were not corrected and we remained without a phone for all of our stay. The receptionist was a young man who at the time of checking in was on his own. He was not local and when questioned about the location of the village hall could not help us at all. Breakfast was just ok but the service was poor, again with two young men who didn't really have a clue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scanesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We needed a convenient place to stay in this pretty Essex village .
I found this on internet and was pleased with price( rang them direct) so booked it.
Room was great , brilliant , huge bed ( that was as comfy as it looked)We had a few minor glitch,es but the young staff did try to sort them.
We were told place had just changed hands , so offered a few suggestions;
continental breakfast for those that can't manage cooked,
someone on site to fix things like radiator that didn't come on,
some maps and leaflets about the area.
We will not hesitate to return for convenience ( it is promising and will only get better)
Check out farm shop.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms (7&8) up some stairs at back. These are quiet and would be perfect for friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skettytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I arranged (at very short notice) a surprise 50th birthday celebration for my husband. There were 12 of us. We had a magnificent table where we could all see and hear each other. The staff where superb. Nothing was too much trouble and they were a credit to themselves. We had a lovely evening with some very nice food. Although we ore ordered they were very obliging when a few in the party changed their mind. I would Highly recommend Blackwells to anyone. Thank you for making it such a great birthday celebration. My parents booked a room to stay in which had a lovely theme. Top quality bedding and a really nice room. After a superb nights sleep they had a lovely breakfast the next morning. The staff were just as lovely the next morning too. Thank you to especially to Jamie for organising everything and Megan for such great
service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr and Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Blackwells, linked to the excellent farm shop, serves superb food. The staff are always friendly and you can be certain of having a great evening out, especially in a large group. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Food great - excellent cooking and locally sourced; accommodation comfy, clean and well kitted out; chilled out and knowledgeable staff and to top it all, a good price; I could not have asked for more! It's a great combination for a small independent set-up and long may it continue!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Blackwells for three nights. All the rooms are themed and it is obvious that a great deal of time & effort went into the design. We stayed in the African Adventure (room 4), the room was compact but perfectly acceptable.

The room was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the building). The shower area was excellent with good quality towels and toiletries, however the water pressure wasn’t the best. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen.

The breakfast was first class with good quality locally sourced products. The list of local suppliers is displayed on the reception wall.
All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful
I would recommend it and will certainly be staying there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
1.4 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drapers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drapers House Hotel

Property: The Drapers House Hotel
Address: 53 High Street, Earls Colne CO6 2PB, England (Formerly The Rare Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drapers House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel and Restaurant located close to Colchester in Essex. Each of the nine bedrooms are uniquely themed and furnished to offer superior comfort all with en suite bathrooms. Our Head Chef has a ever changing menu using only local seasonal produce from local farmers and producers. we buy directly from farmers and producers across East Anglia. Local amenities include, 2 x golf courses, flying club and airfield, 2 local steam railways and many historic buildings in the area. Nearby Colchester is one of England's oldest recorded towns. The hotel can cater for weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Drapers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drapers Hotel Earls Colne
The Drapers House Hotel Essex/Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing