We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place for a celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drapers House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place for a celebration”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I arranged (at very short notice) a surprise 50th birthday celebration for my husband. There were 12 of us. We had a magnificent table where we could all see and hear each other. The staff where superb. Nothing was too much trouble and they were a credit to themselves. We had a lovely evening with some very nice food. Although we ore ordered they were very obliging when a few in the party changed their mind. I would Highly recommend Blackwells to anyone. Thank you for making it such a great birthday celebration. My parents booked a room to stay in which had a lovely theme. Top quality bedding and a really nice room. After a superb nights sleep they had a lovely breakfast the next morning. The staff were just as lovely the next morning too. Thank you to especially to Jamie for organising everything and Megan for such great
service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr and Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
93
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Blackwells, linked to the excellent farm shop, serves superb food. The staff are always friendly and you can be certain of having a great evening out, especially in a large group. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Food great - excellent cooking and locally sourced; accommodation comfy, clean and well kitted out; chilled out and knowledgeable staff and to top it all, a good price; I could not have asked for more! It's a great combination for a small independent set-up and long may it continue!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Blackwells for three nights. All the rooms are themed and it is obvious that a great deal of time & effort went into the design. We stayed in the African Adventure (room 4), the room was compact but perfectly acceptable.

The room was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the building). The shower area was excellent with good quality towels and toiletries, however the water pressure wasn’t the best. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen.

The breakfast was first class with good quality locally sourced products. The list of local suppliers is displayed on the reception wall.
All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful
I would recommend it and will certainly be staying there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, Belgium
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After all the business place I have been this year, this room was a refreshement. I had number 2, the honeymoon suite for a very fair price. Nicely painted walls, a very good bed and a functional bathroom. Breakfast is well prepared and tastefull for those who are fond a the typical English breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby-T-bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here on business and what a corker of a find.
Sarah and the team are very friendly and perfect hosts making you feel very at home. Great value, comfortable rooms, with showers with a pressure I wish I had at home and THE most amazing food I have had for a while....especially the steaks! I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgessking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of our wedding anniversary (including evening meal and breakfast - which I'll write up in the restaurant section).
From the start the service as great - warm friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble.
We stayed in room number 8 - tastefully decorated, lovely clean shower room (very powerful shower too) with nice toiletries. Very large comfortable bed, with nice bedding - we both had a very nice sleep.
Only small minor issue is no Wi-Fi, but get a great 3G signal so no issues - but this doesn't detract from what is a great place to stay.
£70 for a boutique room with fabulous staff - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spudgunprim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Drapers House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your 'anniversary' stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
1.4 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
302 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
130 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
519 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
720 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drapers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drapers House Hotel

Property: The Drapers House Hotel
Address: 53 High Street, Earls Colne CO6 2PB, England (Formerly The Rare Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drapers House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel and Restaurant located close to Colchester in Essex. Each of the nine bedrooms are uniquely themed and furnished to offer superior comfort all with en suite bathrooms. Our Head Chef has a ever changing menu using only local seasonal produce from local farmers and producers. we buy directly from farmers and producers across East Anglia. Local amenities include, 2 x golf courses, flying club and airfield, 2 local steam railways and many historic buildings in the area. Nearby Colchester is one of England's oldest recorded towns. The hotel can cater for weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Drapers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drapers Hotel Earls Colne
The Drapers House Hotel Essex/Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing