We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent mid-week getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essex Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent mid-week getaway”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed twice at this hotel, first time was a weekend which was very noisy! this time stayed mid-week in the 'Garden Suite, got excellent rate for 3 nights'. The room was very large with a sofa and two armchairs and small table. Nice bathroom with excellent power shower over bath. The bed was not very comfortable, very hard mattress. Great views over the 18th green.
All rooms are separate to the hotel and all facilities needing a short walk, including restaurant..so wrap up warm in the winter!!
The bar/restaurant serves good value food and is very casual, no dinner suits required!! staff very good and helpful.
We did not use the pool and spa facilitiies but all looked very good, however have had beauty treatments there and highly recommend except having to get dressed to walk outside back to the room is not so relaxing, especially when cold out. Usually after massage you would stay in a dressing gown and pad back to room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrisonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    104
    70
    36
    27
See reviews for
60
87
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex, england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Have just returned from spending a Friday night at this hotel for the Vegas night xmas party.
We had the County Suite which has a lounge area - Nice view over the golf course even though it was covered in snow ! - The room is very large, unfortunately there is only 1 radiator and does not give off much heat, I phoned reception for a heater or a change of room - a heater was supplied in 5 mins and this did make a big difference. Tried to have a shower before the meal but there was no hot water!
This was the same for others in the group staying in the twin/double rooms however they did not have the heating problem.
We had a great evening, Elvis was good and the casino tables a great idea. The DJ was ok and dance floor always filled.
I know it is difficult to cater for large parties but I personally was not impressed with the food. Starter was about a tablespoon of small defrosted prawns and the veg for the main course was over boiled and just thrown into a bowl on table for everyone to help themselves.
On a brighter note the waiters were very good and very helpful.
In the morning there was plenty of hot water so not sure if this was a problem to do with the weather.
Breakfast was very nice and plenty of it.
Typical party evening and it is usually what you make of it as a group - would suggest to improve they get another radiator and change the one already in County Suite and also look at improving the food at party night.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The only issues we had with this hotel were the loud noises we could hear from our room.
After settling into bed, we could clearly hear the conversations in the next room and the people weren't even talking that loudly ! This was also the case in the morning when the same residents woke up early.
As we were situated on the ground floor, footsteps above could easily be heard.

The cleaners, who aren't exactly conspicuas by their absense, didn't seem to show much consideration for residents who were not early risers.
This was shown with their crashing and slamming of the doors as they went about their duties.

On check-out we mentioned these minor annoyances to a lady who simply said quietly "sorry about that" and "oh i'll tell them", in reference to the cleaners, which she so obviously wasn't going to do.
This was unlike our check-in, where we were greated by a very nice lady.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay here and the service that was laid out for the wedding and reception was top quality. Food and drink prices were very reasonable.

Special mention goes to a staff member called Connor, who was a very friendly lad.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Having recently started doing business with a nearby factory I am now making regular trips to this area of Essex and so far had not found a hotel that I felt happy about returning to again, but this may be one!

Arrival started with a bit of a concern that they only had me down for 1 night stay (can no hotel get arrival date / length of stay right!?), but after at first advising me a change of room would be necessary as they were busy, I finally got the same room allocated for both nights and quite pleased with it I was - a first floor view over the golf course (18th hole / 1st tee).

Thank goodness it was not the opposite side of the hotel, overlooking the car park - it would worry me that a ground floor car park view would be somewhat problematic if it got busy (e.g. when they have functions on).

The room was clean and comfortable, had all I needed, stayed cool without air-con despite the heat outside and was mostly quiet - but be warned the tees and greens can be mowed early in the mornings!

Getting to the club-house was no problem from "The Lodge" - there is an internal passage on the first floor that leads to the club-house balcony and from there you can access the Pulse bar / Cafe and facilities without having to walk through the car park.

The menu was reasonable and I enjoyed both my evening meals, sat on the balcony overlooking the course and perfect views of the sunset. Will try and get Mrs. DDV to accompany me next time and hope for similar good weather!

Wi-Fi internet access was free here - just need to ask reception for a username and pass-code.

All staff were pleasant and my final bill was the best value of all the places I have stayed in recent months. I will be back and beg for a golf-course view first floor room again and maybe next time remember my trunks and training gear and forget about having so much beer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDV558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I had qualms about reserving the Hotel for our joint Birthday celebration (five old schoolfriends, plus partners, plus some teens) but was extremely pleasantly surprised by absolutely everything we encountered in using the Hotel.

RESTAURANT:
The restaurant had good service, the food was really fantastic value - superbly cooked, excellent portions, with a menu which showed they understand flavours and was not overfussy or complicated. The menu choices were diverse enough for Vegetarians and non-Vegetarians, and they honoured a request for a more simple dish for one of our children, and adapted the menu for another. At £15 for three courses it was absolutely brilliant value!! - I highly commend them on this, plus for serving us all at the same time, and the food being hot and of a very fresh quality, and high standard.

STAFF HELPFULNESS
We had brought our own celebratory cake, and the bar staff sliced it and provided plates, for us, which was helpful and very attentive considering they were not going to make a profit on this.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast was pretty good, excellent quality, very tasty, and the coffee was some of the best I've ever come across in a Hotel.

BAR
Their only problem was a plague of wasps, which prevented us from enjoying the upstairs outdoor bar extension during the afternoon, but to be fair they did warn us and had done their best to attract the wasps to a sweet diversion, which kept their numbers down somewhat.

QUALITY OF ACCOMMODATION
The rooms were light and spacious, clean, nice bathrooms, good products, and had plenty of storage, and the flatscreen wall-mounted TVs had plenty of channels and were of the best quality I've EVER encountered in any rating of Hotel!! What a treat!!

SPA
The spa facilities were excellent, according to my teens - lovely pool, hot jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, spacious changing facilities, and large floats for children/teens to play with, which they loved.

OBSERVATIONS ON THE GOLF COURSE
The golf course didn't have a footpath for walkers, unfortunately, but was very well-kept and busy while we were there. It was nice to see the golf course from the bar and restaurant, and access everywhere was excellent.

SUMMARY
I would say that this Hotel is often underrated, given what I've read on this Website, but they really did us proud with our celebrations and I would like to rectify the balance more in their favour.

I can see how it might attract criticism for noisy rooms (as golfers can walk past the rooms easily enough, as can other residents, though rooms have a blind which prevents anyone seeing in) but at the price we paid for our rooms - doubles, twins all £49 each - and the price of the meals at £15 per head - we felt we had really done well and obtained excellent value for money.

It would be fair to say that our party are considering meeting up here again in the future because everything combined to make our stay such a success, and it was such excellent value that I think what a few people find to be annoyances and foibles can be overlooked because it makes up for this in many other ways.

EVENTS/FUNCTIONS
There were a few large parties that night, and we could have had access to their private room if we had liked, which we might take up on another occasion, and all this at no extra cost to ourselves. This is pretty amazing, as we were being quoted £80 for function rooms elsewhere, only a few miles down the road, and therefore this is also worth bearing in mind if you are thinking of booking an event there.

RATING
I would highly recommend the Hotel overall. They were extremely helpful, the service was good, and the facilities excellent. But if I were to save the praise for one element, it would be the value for money - I think it's fair to say you can't beat these prices, you don't feel overcharged but rather spoilt, and that's what it's all about when selecting somewhere to stay and spend down-time.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastronome20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The term 'country club' conjures up an idea of some rural idyll but nothing could be further from the truth!
When we checked in I asked if the room was quiet and was assured it was.However when we arrived at room 3 it was on the ground floor and looked straight onto the car park outside the window. We could also hear children crying in the room next door as the walls are paper thin. The bedroom and bathroom were clean enough but it was one of the hottest days of the year and there was no form of air conditioning.We couldn't leave the windows open either as they would have been so easy for someone to climb through!
The food in the restaurant was very average albeit reasonably priced. The floor was dirty though and remnants of other people's meals were strewn over the carpet. Not very pleasant.
The only saving grace was that the hotel does not overcharge for drinks - 2 bottles of Coca Cola were £2.60. House wine 13.50 per bottle.
There was a wedding reception at the hotel the day we were there and when we got back to our room we walked in and the air was stifling and the child next door was still bawling. There were also a couple of young lads having an altercation in the entrance to the Lodge(where the bedrooms are) so enough was enough and we went home!
Very,very poor - avoid if you can.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Earls Colne hotels

essex
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We were on a tight budget but desperately wanted a bit of time to ourselves without our 2 babies to put to bed and waking us early in the morning. We wanted a pool and a jacuzzi and a full english with the option of dinner in our room or in a no frills restaurant. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. The reception staff were so polite and professional,bar staff pleasant,and the person who took our telephone booking offered us a suite as a website only offered us a twin room. The room was huge! The bathroom was clean and modern with a good shower and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was lovely and you could return if you didn't fill your plate enough the 1st time.
It's very geared towards club members so food is served in a lounge but was enough for us. The only thing I would mention is that the rooms (in the lodge) are a short walk "outside" from the club which houses the fitness suite and food lounge so if you plan to swim I would recommend taking a set of casual clothes/shoes to dress into for walking back and forth.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
15.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
19.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Golf & Country Club

Property: Essex Golf & Country Club
Address: Earls Colne Business Centre Airfield, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Golf & Country Club Hotel Earls Colne
Essex Golf And Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing