We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essex Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A big disappointment!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Essex after a fantastic Christmas party there last year, what a big disappointment! Last year we were seated in the downstairs function room this year we were seated upstairs where we were packed in like sardines. The ratio of waiting staff was clearly not enough, long gaps between courses with some of our party having to eat there meal before it got cold while others were sat there still waiting for something to eat. Food was also of a poor
standard compared to last yr with my bit of stuffing being the size of a 50 pence piece!
A fight also broke out during the evening which I understand does sometimes happen. It escalated quickly with other guests getting involved, staff seemed to just stand & watch with no one there to take control of the situation leading to other guests with no involvement being pushed & shoved.
All in all a disappointing evening & we will not be booking again next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Fancydress30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, which I am of course disappointed to receive. It is such a shame that after a fantastic Party Night in 2012 you do not feel the same again this year.
We have been joined by over two thousand party goers over the festive period, and have had a lot of positive comments too. Our Events Team are always happy to discuss feedback directly, and find it extremely valuable, especially when making plans for the following year.
I hope that your postive experience the previous year means that at some point in the future you may re-visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    70
    36
    27
See reviews for
60
87
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our company came en-masse in 2012 to stay overnight. There was no hot water. We were promised this was a one-off. At that time we had a good meal and celebration in the restaurant. This year we rebooked again en-masse.this time there was hot water but it ran out - nothing like a tepid bath before a company dinner! The meal was little short of abysmal compared with last time. A prawn dish to start that was little more than a dab of pink sauce, bland beef and turkey mains and desserts that were so so. To top it all, the staff, although pleasant and hard-working, we're simply overwhelmed by the occasion. The bar was effectively unmanned - one barmaid to serve regular customers and a large group just doesn't cut it. #fail. Overall, a horrible experience where I feel that the maximum of profit has been extracted from the client in a most callous way.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailormanj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following you recent Christmas Party Night here at The Essex. We have had lots of positive comments following this years celebrations, so I was very disappointed to hear that you do not feel the same.
I can assure you that all your feedback has been discussed at length between departments. It is a shame that you have not contacted our Events Team directly for a chat, as they are always keen to discuss feedback personally.
I do hope that your positive experience in 2012 means you would still consider us as a future venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Earls Colne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had our companies Christmas party here and was very disappointed with the food to the point where I would consider it an insult to call it a meal. The salmon starter had a teaspoon full of salmon on the plate, really a pathetic effort. Main course, service was slow and again wasn't much of it. Couple of slices of turkey, a few roast potatoes and one bowl of mixed veg to share between the whole table. Cheesecake desert was the only good bit but you can't go wrong serving something that was no doubt preprepared in a packet. If you attend a function meal here then make sure you have something to eat beforehand or take a packed lunch as you will be left hungry afterwards. There was no coffee after the meal either.

Once the meal was finished, you have to endure the in house disco. The DJ seemed to have very little idea how to keep the music flowing with a mix of genres that didn't fit together. The sound system was very poor, early on all bass and difficult to hear the main tune and later on, when the volume was turned up, it was distorted to the point of making your ears hurt.

Whilst I appreciate that it is the objective of these places to make a profit, it is blatantly clear to me that this venue puts profit before people and does everything as cheaply as possible with little consideration as to whether or not their guests will have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the recent feedback following your Christmas Party Night at The Essex.

We have had 2250 people attend our Party Nights over the 2013 Festive Period and I am pleased to say that the majority of people have had a fantastic night. I am extremely disappinted to hear that you don't feel this way too.

It is a shame that you have not come to us directly to discuss your feelings, this is something our Events Team would have happily discussed with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Only here for one night but the place didnt ring my bell I'm afraid. The whole hotel feels very corporate and the rooms lack individuality. Little atmosphere in the bar / restaurant and the food was quite average. Free wifi throughout, but signal strength wasnt great in my room.
Would I return? Possibly, but only for a night

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

For those readers who suffer sleepless nights in hotels due to the noise from local traffic, golf and country clubs are worth exploring to meet your accommodation needs. This particular club has a good sized hotel annex, with rooms that I would put on a parr ( forgive the pun) with Holiday Inn. However, the club is situated in the middle of a golf course, far enough away from main roads to guarantee a quiet night's sleep.

We were most impressed with the friendly atmosphere and the two receptionist we met during our stay were a credit to the establishment.

I would recommend the breakfast which is taken in the bistro, situated in the main building. At less than £5 for the continental option which offers plenty of variety.

Guests are also given free access to the sports club facilities, which include an indoor swimming pool, sauna, and well-equipped fitness suite. We're not holders so can't comment on arrangements for guests who want to play a round.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the annex to ensure that your rest isn't disturbed by cars coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
So glad you were able to have a peaceful and relaxing nights sleep here at The Essex!
We look forward to welcoming you back, and will happily accommodate requests for Golf Facing Rooms whenever possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 6th December as part of our company Christmas party. We arrived about 5pm,staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and reasonable for the price we paid. The evening included dinner and music.
The food was truly awful !! We were told to sit down for the meal at about 8pm. The starter arrived just after 9pm fairly cold soup. The main meal potatoes were very burnt to the point of having no inside left, the other vegetables were very,very under cooked to the point where the Brussels Sprouts were completely raw. The desert arrived about 11pm.
All in all the food was definitely the worst I have ever come across at an event like this. We enjoyed the evening with friends and colleagues but I would never eat here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following a stay for a Christmas Party Night. It is always very disappointing to recieve a negative review, especially when we have had so many positive ones lately! I have ensured that all feedback has been thoroughly discussed, and do hope that you will still consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Was here for a 2 day golf stay. We arrived early and was not able to book in, so as it was early morning we had a cooked breakfast, around £7, and was very well cooked and tasty and hot. Bargain. we went down stairs and booked our buggy, and then it was off on the course, we played 18 holes and even though it was November the course was in excellent condition and every thing was well organised and the chap who dealt with us answered all our questions with aplomb. after we had finished we checked in and the room was well appointed with a great shower, always a bonus. We partaked in the steam room, pool area and it was in tip top condition.

We were on a set menu, and yes there was not a massive choice, but it was good wholesome food. After there was two bars to try and we did.

We had the continental breakfast , good food and all people I met concerned with the hotel was pleasent and always willing to help. We had a fab time and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms either face a car park or golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tighthead03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Golf Break with us in November, I have passed your review on to Lee and Liam who orgainse the Golf Societies and they were both really pleased!
We hope you will come back again next year - maybe try us in the Summer and you might be able to enjoy dinner or Breakfast out on our Restaurant Terrace!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
15.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
19.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
533 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
760 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Golf & Country Club

Property: Essex Golf & Country Club
Address: Earls Colne Business Centre Airfield, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Golf And Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club Hotel Earls Colne
Essex Golf & Country Club Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing