We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, cheap stay with excellent facilities included and good value food! Fire alarm test every Monday 9am though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essex Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant, cheap stay with excellent facilities included and good value food! Fire alarm test every Monday 9am though!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were staying in a premier inn in Harwich for the previous two nights and experienced a very uncomfortable bed at a really reasonable price - we got the good night guarantee and decided to do a late deal for £42 at the Essex country club and golf hotel and expected just the room for this price. When we arrived, we were told at check in that all the pool, sauna, steam room and spa facilities were included in the price of our room. We took an impromptu trip to Colchester nearby to buy swimwear but towels were provided at the hotel. Our room was excellent - clean and tidy with a really comfy bed and more than a 3* feel with loads of extras available. The spa facilities were superb - clean, modern and definitely 5* in their feel with loads of room and the opportunity at all times to use whatever we wanted. The gym looked great too however we didn't use it. The food in the restaurant is fab - huge portions of good quality food for about £7 for a meal. The drinks were a little more pricey than usual but understandable for the location of the hotel. The only huge downside was the 9.30am alarm call (quite literally) with about 5 bells of the fire alarm unexpectedly. Once we were a little more awake we found a notice on the door statin that the alarm is checked around this time every Monday morning - something that would mean we wouldn't stay again on this day if the alarms continued at this time. Reception very apologetic that we weren't informed at check in and took our disappointment on board for a possible improvement. Other than this - a brilliant stay and would definitely return (not on a Sunday-Monday for the fire alarm reason) We loved our stay and were even allowed to use facilities after check out.

Room Tip: Don't travel sunday-monday if expecting a lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahJosh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I was so pleased to here that you found us to be great value, and took full advantage of the Pool, Sauna, Steam and Jacuzzi!
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, and apologies that your found the fire alarm test to be a disruption.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - don't forget your swimwear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    104
    70
    36
    27
See reviews for
60
87
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've stayed here twice in two weeks, does that tell you something? Looking for a nice place to stay with a good price tag is hard to find these days, so was chuffed to bits to stumble across this gem. Rooms have been spotless and warm on both occasions and the beds very comfortable, the free use of a very well equipped gym and spa/pool area is a bonus and always nice and friendly staff. Food is reasonably priced for a hotel and actually quite nice too, haven't had breakfast yet as always having to leave early. I WILL be staying again next time i'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sy_lennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! I am so pleased that you found us to be great value, and have already had a return stay.
We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Dirty and stained mattress with tatty bed linen very hard mattress would of been more comfortable on a sofa. Manager dismissed any problems with mattress as no one else had ever complained I don't think so! Good luck if staying here and hope you have a better nights sleep than we did, because if you don't nobody at this hotel cares.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manthattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to point out to any future guests that we do make every effort to ensure our guests have a comfortable nights stay. We do feel that the firmness of a matress is something which can come down to personal preference. Extra Duvets and blankets were provided for this guest to try and adapt the bed for thier personal needs and comfort at the time of thier stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Earls Colne hotels

Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time we've stayed at the Essex and won't be the last. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern,clean, tidy and you have use of the gym and facilities. We have stated in a lot worse and had to pay a lot more for the privilege. If you looking for somewhere to stay for business or pleasure in the area then stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this postive review! We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We frequent the Essex club on a regular basis and enjoy our Golf .
We liked eating in the club house here but recent visits have been dissapointing with bad service and badly trained bar staff . Shame .
Think best pop to one of the other local pubs for sone grub next time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to The Essex. I am very pleased that you enjoy the Golf, and am grateful for your constructive feedback which has been passed on and discussed with the relevant departments. I do hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

golf course was good, shame about the starter who harnessed us on our round, claiming our society was involved in slow play (B.S) he even jump in when players were playing their shots.
cold bacon rolls on arrival and let's not talk about the after meal and service, joke.
this is the second time I have had a after golf round meal and this has happen.
just play the golf, as the customer service is not up to standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2juice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. All your comments will be thoroughly discussed with the Golf Operations Team, and the Food and Beverage Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night. The leisure facilities are good - specifically the gym and the tennis courts - but other than that the hotel is looking very tired and in need of a refurbishment or at the very least some overdue TLC with a whole host of maintenance issues just in the room I stayed in. The carpets and decor look very old, as does the bedroom furniture, and the bathrooms are so old that they are on the verge of no longer feeling clean. The food was very average and I had an upset tummy for two days afterwards. May not be related but surely more than a co-incidence. Probably one to avoid even at the very cheap price if you just want a hotel for the night. 2 stars manly for leisure elements. Golf course looks nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit. All constructive feedback is discussed with the relevant Staff. With regards to your comments on the food sampled during your visit, I would just like to take the opportunity to point out that we had no other issues or similar comments at the time or your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
15.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
19.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Golf & Country Club

Property: Essex Golf & Country Club
Address: Earls Colne Business Centre Airfield, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Golf & Country Club Hotel Earls Colne
Essex Golf And Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing