We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every one of its' 5 stars!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walkington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadgate Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every one of its' 5 stars!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay in Foldyard Cottage. The cottage is wonderfully welcoming and comfortable. It is extremely well appointed and very well equipped - you will not be disappointed. Walkington proved to be an excellent base from which to explore the East Riding of Yorkshire with the Wolds, the coast and York all within easy reach. We ate out each night sampling everything from fish and chips to Michelin star - all of it excellent. We'd love to return - there is so much more to see and do - but only one place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cer311, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
So pleased you had a lovely break and loved East Yorkshire. It was really nice to meet you and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay in Foldyard. The cottage and its enclosed garden was beautifully presented, very well equipped and above all very comfortable. We came for a visit to the Beverly Folk Festival so it was perfect that we could book for just three nights, but we hope to return again and explore the area more fully. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cer311, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
It was so nice to meet you - the Folk Festival is a great event. I hope we can tempt you back to explore the area. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We rented two adjoining cottages last week as accommodation when attending a family wedding. All I can say is how wonderful this place is! It was so nice to be able to open the adjoining doors and have the large space to accommodate the family. Also having little soaps, loads of towels, dish washing liquid and a few other bits and pieces that don't often come with self catering properties was brilliant!

The finish on the properties is excellent. It's really handy to have the key locker at the front door so we could come and go as we pleased. I felt I was in a home away from home-thanks so much!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank keyora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cer311, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
High Barn is a great choice for extended families and I'm pleased it worked for you - it was lovely to meet you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The location isn't an obvious first choice for a vacation, unless, that is, you are a countryside lover. Generally within an hour you can reach the Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire Dales, Yorkshire Wolds & Lincolnshire Wolds. Alternatively, from the cottage base, you can visit three of the country's finest cathedral cities. In an hour and a half you can arrive at Durham - Lincoln and York are much closer. Of course the sea is close by - Flamborough Head and Robin Hood's Bay are essential destinations to visit.

The cottage we stayed in - The Stables - was private and not overlooked. Inside it had everything to suit the requirements of modern day living. The WiFi coverage was outstanding. Let's not forget the cottage's cooking and washing facilities ... second to none. The cottage had two showers, two toilets and a bath with an ample number of towels etc.

Beforehand the owners seem quite amenable to making sure that extra requirements, like an extra child's bed, are available.

Summing up - we'll be back. You can't get a better recommendation than that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a short break to see family in Yorkshire. The cottage was great, The Stables and it was a real bonus to be able to book less than 7 nights during the school holidays. It was very clean, had decent size sitting, dining and kitchen areas plus a bathroom for each bedroom (two). It was well equipped, lovely and warm, plus it had a nice enclosed outdoor area (some traffic noise from the nearby main road, but great for the children). The beds were very comfortable, with mattress toppers and lightweight quilts. Booking was straightforward and Elaine, the owner, very helpful and responsive. As it is only a short distance to my brother's I'm sure we will visit again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JaneBunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of six including great grandparents in their eighties, and a teenage boy attending a wedding in Beverley. A diverse group with different needs and expectations. The four bedroomed, three bathrooms Barn accommodated all of us marvellously. The Grumpy teenager was delighted with the free wifi and his own downstairs cosy bedroom. The older members of the group, just loved everything, but especially their ground floor bedroom with a very comfortable super king bed made up with top quality bedrooms. The rest of us were equally thrilled with our super king beds upstairs, and two delightful, spotless clean bathrooms. In fact, this place is faultless, set in beautiful countryside with delightful hosts.
It is a place we all intend to return to, and we are talking of spending Christmas 2015 there.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we'd love to see you all back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked the Barn House for a special family Christmas and we got that and so much more! Elaine is the hostess extraordinaire - catering for our every need. No request too small or large, if she can make it happen, she will! We walked through the door of this delightful 4 bedroom cottage and fell instantly in love with the place. What's not to love? Very tastefully decorated throughout and equipped to an extraordinarily high standard. The welcoming touches (tea, coffee, milk, Christmas presents!) made all the difference to me - the free Wifi made all the difference to my three boys!! The kitchen was (almost) better equipped than mine at home making it not only easy but a pleasure to prepare a Christmas meal for both mine and my husband's family. From the outset Elaine was very responsive to our emails and very warmly welcomed us soon after we arrived. She encouraged us all to make the most of staying on a farm. I appreciated the peace and quiet and the boys loved the pigs, sheep, chickens and even the rooster! Walkington is a beautiful village and is a short distance from the picturesque town of Beverley. Although we didn't use it - far too cold - the large private courtyard at the back of the property makes us long to visit again in the summer and enjoy the peace and beauty of the surrounding countryside followed by a quiet evening by the barbecue.
Elaine: Thank you so much for your hospitality, your attention to detail and your flexibility. I will definitely be recommended all of the Broadgate Farm Cottages to everyone and hope to be back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walkington
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
766 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadgate Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadgate Farm Cottages

Property: Broadgate Farm Cottages
Address: Broadgate Farm Beverley Road | Walkington, Beverley, Walkington, Beverley HU17 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley > Walkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Walkington
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadgate Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five delightful barn conversions on our farm overlooking open fields just 2 miles from Beverley. Two, three, four & six bedroom cottages 4 star Gold Award or 5 star Gold Award. Arrival any day for weekly lets and short breaks. Free wifi, ground floor bedrooms, free sat HD TV, private gardens and farm animals. WINNERS 2013, 2015 & 2016 REYTA Tourism awards and Highly Commended White Rose Awards 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadgate Farm Cottages Walkington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing