We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walkington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadgate Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottages”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are having a friends&family celebrationin May 2012 and we needed suitable accomodation and not at inflated prices (of which we came across many)
As soon as we entered Broadgate Farms web site we were impressed and we knew this is the one that made an instant impact on us. So much so, four of us decided to book the Granary for a long relaxing weekend before the stresses of Christmas were upon us.
If we were forced to find something negative to say regarding Broadgate Farm it would be that we found it really hard to find as we arrived in the dark....end of negativity.
The standard of the cottages could not be faulted, the attention to detail made all the differance from changing it from a holiday let into a home from home. The quality of the conversion is exceptional and the owners tasteful use of natural materials really did impress us all. For those who haven't spent time in Beverly it has lots of little surprises for a small Town and has a feel good ambience which entices you to linger a while.We would and will recommend these cottages without any reservations. We have booked three cottages for May and looking forward to returning to Broadgate Farm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieP240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed as a family at The Barn whilst attending a wedding in the area. The accommodation suited our needs entirely with a family including two children using the ground floor bedrooms and wet room, and two couples in the first floor bedrooms. The standard of accommodation is excellent with attention to detail at every opportunity. The furnishings in the bedrooms are excellent and give a feeling of real luxury. The quality of appliances in the kitchen is also a real treat and made self catering quite a pleasure. We met both owners who made a point of checking everything was OK. The location is also very handy for visiting nearby attractions and places of interest. It is a working farm and this made our stay more interesting, seeing what the animals were up to and collecting our fresh eggs in the morning.
It is possible to hear traffic noise from the nearby roads, particularly if sleeping with the windows open, but nothing that you would keep you awake at night. All in all a very enjoyable stay and a lovely setting for a few days break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed at newly converted 'Foldyard Cottage' and was thrilled with the beautiful high quality and character build and tasteful decor and furnishings. Loved the wood burning stove and two large very comfortable sofas. Fantastic pretty and private walled garden runs full length of cottage and views onto it from kitchen, lounge, hallway, bathroom. Whole cottage light and airy. Fully equipped kitchen makes it home from home. Beds very comfortable and every room immaculately clean. We have been travelling to Yorkshire for years to visit family in Hull and usually stay somewhere different each time (cottages and hotels). This is definitely somewhere to return to: The location, great accommodation, value for money. Will be booking our next trip soon. Met Elaine (proprietor) and Jo (cleaning) and found them very friendly and helpful. Lovely place, exceeded expectations. Best place we have stayed in. Great for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were the first occupants of a new cottage which was absolutely excellent. Beautifully furnished with a lot of nice touches, a real home from home. Location is great and the owners were there when we arrived and made sure we were still OK halfway through our stay. I'd thoroughly recommend these cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just returned from our stay at Broadgate Farm (The Forge) and I felt compelled to write a review for Trip Advisor. Our first impressions of The Forge on arrival were positive, over the week we stayed however that positive feeling sadly wasn't maintained. Our only real encounter with the owners of the property was shortly after our arrival as the door to one of the bedrooms would not open, it turned out the handle was faulty and needed replacing. If it had not been for this fault I don't believe we would have ever spoken to the owners which I found a little stand offish and impersonal - some may like that but a little courtesy and friendliness towards your customers counts for a lot.
Wandering around the property there were a few cleanliness issues which niggled a little, quite a few of the windows had small greasy hand prints upon them and I'd imagine a previous occupant had a small child who had peered out of the windows at some point. As I say, it's one of those little niggles, but it made me wonder what else had not been cleaned if something as obvious as handprints on a window had been missed. The TV table was also obviously dirty (well, half of it was dirty as you could see the line in the dust where it had been wiped).
The kitchen equipment was of a good quality (dishwasher/washing machine/cooker) however the kettle needed descaled quite badly as I had to wipe the filter before first use as there was limescale obscuring much of the filter. The toaster was good, but it was full of crumbs. The knives were fairly blunt to be honest, and one had a broken handle which felt unsafe to use - the first time we visited Beverley we called into Lakeland and bought a new one. In the upstairs bathroom some of the tiles looked like they were coming off the wall, and the shower control was also coming off the wall making me concerned using it - I'd feel awful if something fell off whilst I was staying there. We managed to open some of the windows, however the latches were quite difficult to use and some refused to unlock.
The road noise mentioned by others here was fairly constant and noticeable even with the windows firmly closed - as it was constant it was something you became used to over time but every now and then it was a slight annoyance.
A final minor niggle, whoever was charged with looking after the dogs from the farm woke us one night shouting and screaming after a dog that had gone for a run, not good when you have paying customers that you stand and scream by their bedroom window at night - it also happened the following morning and I can only suggest to them that they either train the dog to come back without the need to scream at it or they keep it on a lead.
We never did get the bedroom door fixed during our stay, which was a slight problem (I was happy that they could not fix it on the spot and we could not shut the door when we were outside the room but surely it could have been fixed at some point during the stay).
Perhaps we would not have noticed these issues quite as much if the owners had been friendlier or more visible - leaving a mobile number in case of problems is fine, but ringing a mobile to ask about little issues can get expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GraemeSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cer311, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
We always drop in on our guests during their stay to say hello and make sure they know how to find us if they need any assistance. It is a balance trying not to impose on our guests and to gauge how much “contact” they want – we obviously got it wrong on this occasion.

We are always here to help, literally yards away from the cottages and not just at the end of a phone (mobile and landline numbers provided for guest’s convenience). We are around and about the farm tending to the animals through the day.

We do take cleanliness very seriously and we are very sorry if it was found wanting in some details on this occasion – we will certainly look into all these points for future cleans.

These guests told us about the door and we came straight over to the cottage to attend to it, the bedroom door did open but needed the handle fully pulled down when opening from the outside of the room ( not an issue opening from the inside!) We did offer to have the door looked at whilst they were there and thought that they said not to bother them whilst they were there – obviously a misunderstanding. They only had to mention any other issue they may have had, Steve is a builder and we have tradesmen always available to attend to any issues if we know about them.

A lovely German family have just left this cottage and they commented on how well everything worked! Another family have just left a review of one of our cottages on the holiday rentals section of Trip Advisor saying the opposite to this review!

It’s a regret that these guests did not enjoy the cottage, we always aim to make our guests stay a comfortable and pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Cottage Review: Perfect holiday cottage and felt like home away from home. The Granary Cottage was very clean, nicely decorated, bedrooms were comfortable, nice to have 2 1/2 bathrooms, loved having a master bath in the master bedroom, kids had fun playing soccer and American football outside with kids of other guests, very quiet and peaceful. We all loved the farm animals! The private back patio was roomy, beautiful flowers . . . we really enjoyed it! Owner was very friendly and welcoming! We can't wait to book our next trip to the UK and stay in Broadgate Farms for a longer vacation! Exceeded our expectations!
Make up of party: Mom, Dad and 3 kids.

Room Tip: check out their website - Granary had 3 bedrooms (2 rooms with 2 twin beds each - Master bedroom 1 l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyMar9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Having friends in Beverley, I stumbled across a google search for cottages in Beverley which threw up Broadgate Farm Cottages. The pictures looked amazing and was just under 2 miles to my friends house.

Situated just a short way from the centre of Beverley passing by Westwood Pastures towards the small village of Walkington, Broadgate Farm Cottages can be found on the right hand side of the road. You need to look carefully but as you turn in, you see the sheep grazing and you then come up to the 4 cottages currently available. A single 2 bedroomed cottage is the first one you see, then the other 2 bedroomed cottage. The 3 bedroomed cottage is joined on to the 4 bedroomed cottage and adjoining the 4 bed, a new 2 bedroomed cottage should be open by the autumn which will allow the 4 bed cottage to be linked and make room for 12 people to stay at once. Building work was taking place while we were hear but the only time we were aware of any noise was when in the kitchen. Otherwise it was mostly quiet.

We had booked the Barn House which is the 4 bedroomed cottage. The key can be found in the key box which you are given a code for before your arrival at the cottage. We then walked into our cottage which has a lovely lay out of a lounge area, stairs to upstairs bedrooms, through to the dining room and open planned kitchen. The layout gives enough privacy when in a large group. Downstairs there is a lovely large wet room and toilet which our son who is 8 loved as the floor got wet. Through a glass door was the 2 downstairs bedrooms which had a fire door between the bedrooms and wet room, meaning we could have quietness in the bedrooms from the lounge area during the evening. The master downstairs was a super king for the duration of our stay but can be a twin room, which was roomy and had plenty light from the 2 windows. The other room is a twin but is smaller but our son loved his room and the fact it had a ceiling window which needed a pole to open it.

The kitchen was well stocked with good knives, plenty cutlery, dinner wear and what felt like thousands of glasses. Everything you would want in your own kitchen was there and there was nothing you really needed to bring. A kettle, toaster, washing machine and dishwasher were all provided as well as a reasonable family sized fridge freezer. The dining area sat 8 and was very comfortable to eat at. The double range oven and hob was lovely to use and the instructions can be found in one of the drawers. We only found this out after we hauled poor Elaine round to say the grill was broken and it wasn't. Plenty pots and pans were available including a wok and plenty serving dishes. But it didn't stop me bringing my much loved pampered chef stoneware.

Under the stairs is a lovely big cupboard with everything you need like a clothes horse, mop and bucket, pegs for hanging out your washing, High chair and travel cot if needed.

Upstairs you reach the top and find the most stunning bathroom. A corner bath with a good separate shower and a toilet and sink. The tiles and wall tiles have been chosen to perfection along with a lovely lighted mirror. The twin bedroom is spacious with a good sized wardrobe and chest of drawers. The master bedroom has the most comfortable mattress and a gorgeous en-suite shower with the same stunning décor of the upstairs bathroom and the we troom.

The back garden is paved and very spacious with patio furniture. There is a retractable washing line and privacy was perfect.

For us the Barn House felt like home. Broadband in the lounge with a lovely flat screen TV with a DVD player and freeview was enough for the week. For me it's the little details which Elaine has taken time over, such as making her own curtains to fit the windows and doors. They are beautifully made and keep the cottage cosy. The furniture is very carefully chosen and fits in with the beamed ceiling and the lovely pictures and decorations around the cottage. When we arrived, Milk, Tea and Coffee were here for us which was a lovely welcome, and Elaine has spent time making up folders with local information to help people round the area. There is also a choice of board games and books for those who wish them. If we had any problems Elaine was on hand to help or just a phone call away. Things were sorted quickly and without the fuss, we've had elsewhere. The cottages are very eco, with underfloor heating and water controls from the main house. There is a Waste Centre where you can recycle most things and get rid of your waste as well as buy some hand sanitiser and eggs from the free roaming chickens.

The cottages face on to the farm and you can visit the cows, pigs and sheep and make sure you don't run over the hens or rooster while they are wandering round the farm. The cottages are conveniently placed for Beverley but also Flamingo Land, Whitby and a short drive to the York Park and Ride and the Bridlington Park and Ride. We're already discussing when we can come back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottages to anyone who wishes to visit a lovely little place where so much thought has gone into them. Under a mile away in Walkington you will find a Costcutter and 3 pubs which serve food as well as a duck pond which we visited as we left to get rid of our left over bread.

I do apologise to Elaine as I've discovered my husband took the radox bath stuff out the bathroom unaware that it wasn't ours. I'll return a fresh one to you.

Room Tip: Look carefully through the website to choose which cottage would suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walkington
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
699 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
7.2 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadgate Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadgate Farm Cottages

Property: Broadgate Farm Cottages
Address: Broadgate Farm Beverley Road, Walkington, Beverley HU17 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley > Walkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Walkington
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadgate Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five delightful barn conversions on our farm overlooking open fields just 2 miles from Beverley. Two, three, four & six bedroom cottages 4 star Gold Award or 5 star Gold Award. Arrival any day for weekly lets and short breaks. Free wifi, ground floor bedrooms, free sat HD TV, private gardens and farm animals. WINNERS 2013, 2015 & 2016 REYTA Tourism awards and Highly Commended White Rose Awards 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadgate Farm Cottages Walkington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing