We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff but Awful Place”
Review of Minster View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minster View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff but Awful Place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon arrival, first impressions of the Minister View where ok, friendly Landlord who found me a parking space very quickly and seemed eager to please. This place is directly opposite the minister, lovely setting, outdoor seating area, large TV’s in the bar with sports on and a pool table. The décor is very dated and scrappy but clean enough for the most part.

We was lead to our room through a tangle of poorly signed corridors by the Landlord, our room contained a single bed as well as our double; for which the land lord apologized but this wasn't problem for us. The room was very basic but clean with a large modern TV. Clean towels but no towel rail, no toilet paper (but this was sorted when I reminded them), no hair drier or Bible! The bed sheets where clean, although the mattress was very warn and uncomfortable. Tea and coffee facilities was available in the room.

The shower cubicle in the en-suite was not cleaned very well, hairs from previous guests still wrapped around the outlet. The shower itself did not provide any hot water, plenty of cold but simply refused to heat up after 10 mins of waiting. Also, there was no one around, no number to call to ask for assistance.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast, a very messy and frankly horrible dining room. There was a table in the corner with a few cereal boxes on it mixed together with a broken microwave, empty mucky condiments, no cutlery, milk, juice, napkins or anything. The cook/waiter was lovely though, and couldn't have been more polite and clearly tried very hard with the ingredients he was given.

Upon leaving, the landlady took our cash in her nightgown, I was waiting for her to ask our opinion on our stay, or at least if everything was OK but no, nothing, just took our £60 without so much of thank you.

In summary, the Landlord and the cook are very helpful and polite, but the facilities are simply awful. There is no sign of any redecoration anywhere, despite the other reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank XLDPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently stayed and received a warm welcome from new landlord Dan. This bar has a fantastic atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming. The improvements are very evident and I look forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here on saturday night as a last minute thing, the bar and locals were fantastic, new host Dan has lots of plans to improve decor, can't wait to go back and see how he's getting on. Good luck Dan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a cracking little bar. Friendly staff and locals, your always made to feel welcome. Although it gets busy, u rarely have to wait more then a few minutes to be served. No complaints whatsoever. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SCG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed in Dec 2012, [four fussy actors] The welcome is warm and the rooms were spotlessly clean, comfy, well fitted out and everything worked well. The home-cooked food is awesome and everyone was really welcoming and friendly. The value for money was exceptionally high. Those who are used to faceless, cloned chain hotels with brand new everything are the sort that complain about this type of lovely, charming, old fashioned hospitality. Others mentioned the church bells and I thought this might be a problem but it was only a faint ching, hardly audible and didn't keep me awake at all. I will find any excuse to go back to this area to experience this hospitality again. There is free parking too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendymouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been working locally in Howden for 5 months now and have truly enjoyed my stay at the Minster View, Ian and Eve go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. All the staff and locals in the pub are pleasant and good fun.
One of the best points about the Minster View is the amazing home cooked food, with generous portions and a different dish every night - 2 courses for an amazing £6!
They are kind enough to let me have the same room from week to week, I've opted for a room at the back of the hotel as the Minster bells are quite loud but only take a short while to get use too. The room has a very comfy bed with plenty of cupboard space and a modern en-suite shower room/wc. The linen, towels and coffee/tea facilities are changed/topped up daily.
There are also a few other good points about the Minster View - Free WiFi, Free parking (Howden is a permit parking zone), excellent accessibility to the M62 motorway, York is 30 mins away.
All in all £36 for a warm comfy room and an amazing dinner is very good value from my view - if you want a hotel with character and warmth (unlike some popular pre-packaged hotels Premier Lodge wink wink!) then the Minster View is the best in Howden.

Room Tip: If they are available try to get a room at the rear of the hotel - room 6 is great for a single busi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

In my four week work related stay i have no complaints as the duratuion of my stay i found the rooms clean, beds made and cleaned daily good friendly hospitality cooked breakfast and two course dinner what more could you want with good friendly locals and bar staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#3 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Cottages
Apple Tree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Howden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saltmarshe Hall
Saltmarshe Hall
#1 of 1 in Howden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster View Hotel

Property: Minster View Hotel
Address: 2-3 Corn Market Hill, Howden DN14 7BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Howden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Minster View Hotel Howden, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing