We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coastways Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coastways Cafe

Coastways Cafe
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Howden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set just north east of the historic town of Howden Coastways Cafe is a family run and owned business that has been around for many years serving breakfasts to anyone making there way down the A614 towards the coast. We are currently open 7 days a week from 08:30 - 14:00 February - November 2016
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coastways Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

me and my partner always go in to the Coastways Cafe in howden, usually on our way to the east coast to either Scarborough or bridlington. I go not just for the lovely teas and meals but also as a mark of respect to my dear old mum who passed away in Dec 2008. The Coastways Cafe has not changed in all of the times i have been and it still provides quality food at a good price, and in lovely clean surroundings. I always say "god bless you mum, and miss you mum" when i leave and i will always keep going to the Coastways Cafe and it keeps me in contact with my mum! Thank you Coastways Cafe!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevvo17031960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great small cafe at Howden , no coaches , tables outside in a small park area as well as tables inside. Good food and amenities scrupulously clean . A lovely stop for lunch on our travels from Australia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fsmandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Roadside Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Situated just off the M62 (Junction 37) in the village of Howden, East Yorkshire on the A614. My partner and I were travelling to catch the Hull-Rotterdam ferry and needed a quick lunch - we found this cafe by accident, but what a wonderful accident.
Clean, welcoming with very friendly staff providing excellent cafe food for good value - much better that any fast food joint. Service was quick and value for money excellent. We enjoyed our experience so much then on our return from Holland decided NOT to eat on the ferry but wait until later in the morning just to stop here. The family staff even remembered us after 10 days! I am only sad that they are not near our home in Warrington - due to opur travel plans we will only pass this place twice in a year but it will certainly become an annual pilgrimage as long as the current family owners are there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very friendly service with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I called in for a mid morning drink and snack. Cafe is very clean and the greeting was very friendly and quick. My bacon and egg sarnie really hit the spot Thanks very much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
“not a bacon and egg cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am writing another review in response to kilobeer review. I am nothing to do with any member of staff at Coastways Cafe friends or family I object to lilobeer stating this is the case.
I have been in today on my way back from Bridlington and had a great meals and as I am aware the staff will try to provide you with a good honest meal at reasonable costs. It is far from a "bacon and egg cafe" Maybe kilobeer is a rival in Howdon?
But please do not say I am being told what to say because I am a friend or relative. I am just a caravan-er looking for a decent meal and this cafe and staff provides it.

Well done to all at Coastways,thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitchSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastways Cafe also viewed

Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Coastways Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing