We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavens Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golf Hotel(Silloth)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$127
$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$83
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$116
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
103
29
11
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
29
11
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolway coastvenisonpublic roomsloch arthurwine listpre dinnerthree choiceshusband and wife teamwell stocked barset menuperfect nightsitting roomdelightful staffmelt in the mouthdumfries and gallowaylocally sourced foodhomely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved the hotel, the bedroom was very pretty and the bed extremely comfortable. We found the staff very friendly and not at all pompous! Everyone made you feel relaxed and at home.The food was interesting and well cooked and served , though it might be a bit rich for some people. .
Loved the sitting room area and the comfortable sofas.
The garden is large but mostly lawn. The village is close by and makes a pleasant walk.
We really enjoyed the John Paul Jones Museum, founder of the American Navy, who led a very adventurous life. Though the sign post says 1 1/2 miles and it actually more like 2 1/2 miles when walking!

Room Tip: You might get a glimpse of the Solway Firth from some rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiddaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I visited Cavens Country House hotel with my girlfriend for her birthday weekend. I can honestly say she was overwhelmed .... and so was I! We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was delightful. The house and grounds superb and we thought the food was fantastic. The house served as a great base to explore Dumfriesshire but was also a great place to relax, which is just what we wanted and needed. Thank you Cavens for making the weekend a memorable one. I suspect my girlfriend now feels she has a lot to live up to come my birthday ... perhaps another visit to Cavens! Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_W_12191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Just to say thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do like our guests to feel special and well looked after, and would really love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was average food at a little above average prices, the owner is full of his own importance for somone that owns an average establishment, hope I never have to spend a second of my life in his company as long as I live.

Go to Cavens in Dumfries next to Barbours ten times better staff, atmosphere, and most of all quality of food.

Sorry but true....

Room Tip: Go right past it to Cavens in Dumfries........................
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the style of food that Cavens have to offer. As you make no mention of the food that you had combined with the fact that none of the staff remember your visit we are unsure as to the exact time or nature of your complaint other than it was not to your taste. We urge all guests who are unhappy with any aspect of their visit to tell us at the time so that we are able to rectify the situation or accommodate specific request to the best of our ability

As the pub Cavens Arms attracts a completely different market we wonder if perhaps you are unaccustomed to the style of a Country House Hotel, which generally has an entirely different type of service and menu to that of public houses. And although Cavens do not claim to have the best chef in the world, we do serve the best produce that can be found, most of which is the freshest, in season, locally sourced produce, prepared and served by a most competent chef that has been trained by some of the best.

We do feel however, as do most of our guests, that at £25 per person for a 3 course meal that is freshly prepared from ingredients sourced that day is exceptionally good value, even by pub standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Lovely bedroom, exceptionally welcoming lounges and really really good food of the highest quality cooked to perfection. This is the best review I have ever given. And it deserves every word.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernIrelandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, we do try to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay and we hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A delightful spot to visit Dumfriesshire. Elegant interior and an excellent kitchen. Great service. A wonderful quite place to rest. Sadly we stayed only for a day and couldn’t appreciate the local fishing. The owners of the manor are very hospitable and caring.
I have forgotten my coat in the hotel and after notifying the owner the coat was sent back to me.

Thank You once again Angus. )))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you Elena for your kind words and your company. We look forward to you coming for a little longer next time. Glad you got your coat. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews