We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful setting!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of the hidden mill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with a king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Bedroom with a king size bed
The mill is heated by a great woodburning stove and a water source heat pump
Bedroom with a double bed
Kitchen
Old sack wheel
Heart of the mill
A 10,000 star holiday let situated in the Galloway Dark Sky Park
blue bell woods
sunset spot looking  over the Galloway hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donnasuej
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting!”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Friends and I spent a week at the Hidden Mill. The setting is tranquil and gorgeous; the Mill itself is a bit quirky and unique. I loved being outside in the evening, walking around the area listening to the river rush past, and enjoying a peaceful end to a wonderful day in Scotland!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
478fortun...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical Oasis”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the second time we've stayed in the Mill, but it certainly won't be our last. The Mill is an absolutely beautiful building, complete with fully stocked kitchen, three bathrooms, plenty of room for sleeping...but most of our time is usually spent in the basement with the log fire and easy access to views of the stream quietly babbling away below. There are plenty of beautiful fields and woods to wander about, and the hosts are very helpful (and we even got a tour of the permaculture farm!) but give you plenty of space and privacy if that's what you're after. A stunning location that's already starting to feel a bit like home. Cosy, homey, and just what you need to escape for a few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thanks guys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sham340
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Dumfries!”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had the most amazing couple of days up in Dumfries with our two young children! So good, we had to drag ourselves away.

The weather was tremendous for this time of year and both Lorraine and Uula (owners) pointed us in the right direction of some great local attractions.

The winner for us was Moss Yard Beach, approx an hour away from the mill. We could easily have been abroad, highly recommended for anyone in the area.

A close second was the outdoor sauna - what a delightful treat after a long day with the kids. The positioning of the sauna couldn't be better, right by the river in the woods - the stars were out in full force and I even had a bit of a 'how lucky am I' moment to myself.

The Mill itself was perfect - spacious, clean, lovely, it had everything you would need for a family trip away. It also contained some beautiful and interesting pieces which gave it a really warm and friendly vibe.

All in all we had a great stay which far exceeded our expectations. Next time, we'll be bringing our friends along with us as there was more than enough space to fit a couple of families in.

Thanks and we'll be back! Thomas Family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecF8
2 reviews
“A secret retreat like no other. ”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We filled up the Mill for a birthday celebration and had an incredible weekend relaxing in the countryside. With comfortable rooms each filled with unique quirks and character and a well equipped kitchen for cooking up brunch and hearty suppers, we made the most of the gorgeous surroundings - taking a dip in the lake before indulging in the woodland sauna (followed by a quick leap into the river too!). The large room on the lower ground floor was perfect for chilling out as a group in the evening, and we loved the exposed mill workings that still remained!

The surrounding countryside provided plenty of options for walks, and a healthy dose of fresh air after a rather overzealous night, and the owners, Lorraine and Uula, couldn't have been more accommodating, taking care of everything we needed and sharing some great stories along the way.

If you're looking for a dull, beige holiday with all the mod cons and no excitement, don't go here. If, on the other hand, you want a true experience, complete with character, a great atmosphere, a spot of history and something a little different, you'll have a whale of a time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen R
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Filthy, mouse droppings, nose pickings left on door architraves, oven didn't work properly, wood burner took four hours to get going, (suggest it might be an unswept flue causing the problem) and logs thereafter charged at £10 a throw, what? Sweat TENT £50 if you wanted to take advantage of it, no thanks, £30 a throw for the fire baths (owner told us all these 'amenities' took time to fire up hence the charge). The renters spent four hours cleaning as it was so dirty, doors and skirting boards vile, walls dripping with grease in the kitchen. No washing machine or tumble dryer, with a ten person property this is unacceptable. Mean fridge and freezer, for ten people, hello?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
We are sorry you had a bad experience, it would have been good if you had spoken to us at the time.
We work hard to keep the mill to a very high standard of cleanliness occasionally something can get missed. This is the first review we have had below a 4 *. It is unique perception of the mill. I have seen no evidence of mice, we have saprano bats living in the attic, a protected species. Their droppings can be seen outside the property. We buy in our wood at the rate of £60 a cube. We supply two large boxes enough for 4 days. If people want more we sell replacement for £10, that doesn't cover our costs but helps towards it should people wish to burn alot of wood, which is sometimes the case.
I will check the flue, however we had a party in the mill at the end of Feb after these guests report their stay and lit the fire to full heat within 20 mins. We are always happy to help people unfamiliar with wood fired appliances.
The oven works well. It has an induction hob however which won't work with all pots, we provide pots that work with induction..
Agreed, the fridge and freezer are fairly small but in line with an ecologically minded energy efficient home. There is also cool rooms in the basement.
We offer a woodland sauna experience and a fire bath which are optional extras. They take a huge amount of wood chopped very finely and topped up every half hour for 3 hours to prepare. Given the work involved in these things we take very little profit. I suggest anyone wishing a more balanced opinion look at our reviews here and on air b&b . I'm pleased to say we have been voted super hosts 6 quarters in a row. We hold a 4.9 star average over the last 3 years of full bookings.

Please contact us if you would like to ask any questions generated from this review.

Warm regards
Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MappingMu...
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay in Interesting Accom”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lots of cubby holes and interesting rooms and features. Roomy accom in a very peaceful setting. Eco-accom.

Friendly host offering advice on the house and it's idosyncracies. The wifi was perfectly reasonable for a rural location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accom
Liked least: Cold on arrival
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing