We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch in the cafe”
Review of CatStrand

CatStrand
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: CatStrand Arts & Visitor Centre is a unique venue in the historic Royal Burgh of New Galloway at the gateway to the Galloway Forest Park. Gift Shop specialising in local arts and crafts/ Licensed café serving light lunches and home baking/ Outdoor seating area/ Year round programme of cinema, music, theatre & dance events/ Art exhibitions/ Local & regional information/ Free wi-fi/ Open 7 days.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in the cafe”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice friendly staff, nice food, nice wee shop to browse in. There seems to be a lot of different events going on & I hope to go back soon. Also baby friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fascinating place with lots to do”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I took three friends yesterday, and though there was not a lot going on (well it is late October!) the shop has some of the most unusual items anyone looking for something different to buy as a gift will almost certainly find it here - and the prices are not exorbitant either. The café, where we had a sandwich, is lovely. The service is excellent, and the home made bread that the sandwiches were made with is an experience in itself. Wonderful hardly covers it. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cafe in here wow so good”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

All good in here food lovely , staff lovel helpfull , it's great be back .haggis n cheese panni a classic , n the sones wow n the prices exceptional .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the Catsrand on Friday 27th September as she had booked tickets to see Roddy Hart and the Lonsome Fire and boy were we suprised with the way the Catsrand was laid out. Our hats go off to all concerned on the evening, the residents of New Galloway should be really proud of themselves. You could say that the Catsrand is a hub for New Galloway providing the community with a Cinema, Craft Centre, Theatre, Shop, Cafe and entertainments venue, Well Done New Galloway.

Roddy Hart and the Lonsome Fire were fantastic on the night, will look to go and see them again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our usual place was closed so we went in here, wee Information Visitor place. Home cooking but like most of these places it looks more like a canteen look, but ok for a snack

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 481Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CatStrand also viewed

Galloway Forest Park, Dumfries and Galloway
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to CatStrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing