We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISPICABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 New Galloway B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISPICABLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Well i dont know where to start but let me tell you this readers it was possibly the worst place i have ever stayed in my life it was a terrible experience which i wont forget in a hurry!!!!!! the landlady was rude abrupt and extortionate i am aware of inflation but this was damn right redonculouse i have never paid £90 for a set of cotton sheets in my life for one night i was very hungry but offerse no breakfast as she said she idnt want us there she was doing a freind a favour but i wish she hadnt bothered i would rather have slept rough!!!!!!! in fact it felt like i slept rough as the new year celebrations were going on beneath me from the party that i could of had tickets for but declined the offer . i was going elsewherethat evening, however, i would have appreciated being able to have a last drink at athe bar before retiring to bed before a long journey home, unfourtunately the landlady was trying to extract more money just for wanting to have one last drink in the bar in the hotel i was checked in at for £90 i feel this was disgusting as i have experiance of travelling around the country staying in various b&b 's and never in my life have i experienced this kind of treatment , DISPICABLE.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stones_147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

we were really excited to spend the new year in Scotland with family. we had been booked in the cross keys. we were aware that there was no breakfast included but was absolutely disgusted that we were charged £90.00 per night per couple with no discount for not having a breakfast. we were not greeted with a friendly welcome or given any information where we could potentially get a breakfast, as the village is quite sleepy in the winter. That was not the best bit. we had gone out for the new year and one of our party was not well so we came back thinking we will retire to the quaint little hotel. How wrong could we be it was new years eve all we wanted to do was have a drink and join in the hogmany celebrations. i was at the bar when the delightful, welcoming, warm, friendly owner told me that we needed tickets. How the hell she expected us to pay for tickets when we had payed £180 for a bed for two nights (in total the group had payed £650 on arrival just for two nights with NO BREAKFAST. Not only were we told we were not allowed in without tickets we were kept awake until the early hours with the music blasting out from the party that we were excluded from. When we booked in we were overcharged had we have not queired this it would have been overlooked. We felt totally uncomfortable and was under the impression that the landlady was not interested in making our stay enjoyable. The landlay was very oppresive with total disregard for her guests. my advise to any one considering staying in this terrible atmosphere is DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK! If you like being treated with total disrespect this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBurns1959, Owner at The Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
We were very sorry to hear that these guests did not enjoy their stay at The Cross Keys Hotel. The Hotel closes from the 27th December until 4th January - with two exceptions - a Poker Tournement on the 30/12 and a `ticket only` buffet disco on Hogmanay. We do however let rooms to the friends and family of locals on a `room only` basis with no other services or facilities (including bar and restaurant) open to them. This condition is made very clear to anybody booking a room during this period - all meals are then taken with the `host families`. Unfortunately, these guests didn`t want to do that and, despite being aware of the booking conditions, they started complaining. They were asked on check-in if they wanted a ticket to the Hogmanay buffet disco, they were told it was a strictly `ticket only` event and I had held back 6 tickets for them - tickets are £5.00 and sold only to ensure that our fire safety numbers are not compromised - they refused them as they were attending another function - the tickets were then sold to people on the waiting list. When they appeared at the bar on New Years Eve -with other people in their party - they were refused addmission and reminded that it was a strictly `ticket only` event for which they had refused tickets. Again they started complaining. These guests recieved exactly what they were told they would get at the rate they were told they would get it for so I can see no reason for the complaint. We had six other guests in the Hotel during Hogmanay who had no problem understanding `room only` and `ticket only` and consequently had a very enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent a month biking and hiking from B&B/ Hotel to B&B/Hotel. New Galloway is a darling little village, but the pleasure of being there was lost in the awfulness of The Cross Keys Hotel (and attached pub). We spent one night there.

The core of the problem is with the owner. She behaved as if we were in her way and a nuisance. She was annoyed, rude and discounting. When we asked how to operate the heat, she told us, "Oh, we never need to turn on the heat before October, besides your room is always warm." It was the end of August: rainy and cold. The in-room coffee pot still had water in it that had created green fuzz on the elements, but that wasn't the worst. When we turned down the bed quilts we discovered the mattresses were merely box springs, no top mattress or foam. We were forced to lay down pillows and extra blankets from the third bed to protect our bodies from the springs. This was completely unacceptable and we notified the cycling tour planner of our experence.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Riverwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBurns1959, Owner at The Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
This guest was on a 7 day cycle tour staying at guest houses and small Hotels throughout the area. We were at a complete loss as to what to do to please this guest - she arrived in a bad temper having got lost, she complained about her bicycle, the maps, the tour route, the tour operator - everything! She didn`t like her room or her bed ( we didn`t know about this until she posted her review), she didn`t like our bar and restaurant opening times and used neither. She wasn`t happy with anything and complained constantly. I recieved a letter from the tour operator apologising for this guest - she had complined about everything for 7 days. I think she had just picked the wrong type of holiday - and we paid the price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We visited the hotel as a family get together after being away for several months.
The service was very good, friendly and efficient with a warm smile with every request.
I used the laundry service which was of both good quality and value.
The rooms were small en-suite but were very comfortable and did the job.
The restaurant serves deluicious food and has a small bar.
Breakfast is good and includes a cooked breakfast with toast and a selection of cereals.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blizaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycaroline
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Cross Keys Hotel, New Galloway for a week at the end of July, using it as a base to explore the Galloway Forest Park area. We really loved the Cross Keys Hotel, we were made to feel really welcome, our room was bright and modern, but the hotel overall has a quaint, homely feel to it. Food was delicious.

Although dogs are made to be very welcome at the hotel, it is very clean and so as people who do not have pets, we were not worried. I'd definitely recommend the Cross Keys Hotel for either a business stay or a weekend away.

thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We found this hotel by pure chance! We were on a weeks cycling tour of this most beautiful area and stopped each day when we had cycled enough, We limped slowly into New Galloway with a damaged bike and decided to stop and the first reasonable place we could find. We stayed three days!!! Susan, the owner, helped us to find someone to repair the bike, juggled rooms around so we could have two twins and, just gererally made us very welcome. This is a small hotel with a lot of atmosphere. All of the rooms have recently been refurbished and they are bright, clean and very cosy with tea/coffee and tv/dvd/radio. Safe and secure bike storage and a drying room - this hotel caters for all outdoor activities. The food was excellent - we ate in every night - the breakfasts were huge and the bar had a good selection of beer and malts and colourful locals!. We decided to stay and use the hotel as a central base to explore the area as we had never been before.
I couldn`t find fault. This is a great country Inn where the relaxed atmosphere belies the work which must go on `behind the scenes` to create the high standards we found.
Have already booked another three night stay with more cyclists for september - looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

The location is very good for New Galloway and we were there to visit family. Susan is very helpful and was very patient and kind with my grandmother.
I had telephoned in advance to request a twin room. On arrival we found that the room was at the furthest end of the house up and down several flights of stairs (very difficult with an 80 year old with a stick) and were told that all the twin rooms were at that end. Very impractical. The room itself was clean and brightly furnished. Everything felt very cheap though: the mattress was very soft, the kettle was at least 20 years old, the biscuits in the room were the sort we had a school (ie the cheapest). There were no little details to make the place feel special. There were two soaps, but they weren't wrapped and there were no other toiletries provided. The towels were small. There was no telephone in the room, and my mobile had no reception. Its also very strange that the reception mostly isn't manned. You are given a code to open the locked front door.
Breakfast was generous, although the available choice wasn't described. The eggs were cooked perfectly and the orange juice had bits in it! The condiments on the table were basic quality. The haggis was not the best.
Even though we stayed Maundy Thursday and Good Friday nights, we still found the price to be extortionate. £94 per night for two people B&B. Considering we'd stayed on the Royal Mile for £100 and in a room overlooking the lake at Loch Lomond for £116 per night, with all sorts of luxuries thrown in, this hotel in a tiny village is too big for its boots!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BermudaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Galloway
0.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
15.6 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
21.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
14.9 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Property: The Cross Keys Hotel
Address: High Street, New Galloway DG7 3RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17C former coaching in is at the top of Loch Ken and on the edge of the Galloway Forest Dark Sky Park. It is set in the centre of the smallest and most picturesque Royal Burgh in Scotland. We have 10 cosy en-suite bedrooms with TV/DVD/Radio and tea and coffee making facilities, a traditional bar with a good selection of Malts and a welcoming log fire and an excellent restaurant specialising in fresh local produce. Wi-fi access throughout Hotel. This is the perfect base to unwind and explore the outstanding natural beauty of South West Scotland. You can enjoy walking, cycling, shooting or stalking, fishing, golf, birdwatching, photography and painting, watersports.........Or just totally relax and do nothing....We welcome well behaved and "dog friendly" dogs. TRADITIONAL HOSPITALITY AT ITS VERY BEST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing