We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent!”
Review of March Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canonbie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
March Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canonbie
Bridgnorth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and once again it does not disappoint. We always seem to get room 5, which is brilliant. The owners are continually looking to tweek things and two comfy swivel chairs replaced the alreadycomortable settee in the bay window overlooking the hotel grounds. As always, everything is spotlessly clean.
The food is superb and reasonably priced and breakfast always gives a wide choice to set you up for the day.
Everyone is very friendly and make you feel part of the 'family'.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - BUT PLEASE LEAVE ROOM 5 FREE FOR OUR NEXT VISIT!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a four poster and lovely view over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreedenceClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a small (7 bedroomed) family run hotel perched on the side of a valley with spectacular views of the Esk valley. We have stayed at the March Bank every year for about 15 years and have always come away smiling. The food is reliably excellent with plenty of fish and seasonal game on the menu. Unlike many restaurants you get loads of veg cooked perfectly (not boiled to death) and the portion size of meat or fish are very generous. Lots of restaurants buy in their puds, but not here, it is all made on site and delicious. The breakfast menu gives you plenty of choice as well as a full english breakfast you can also have scrambled egg with smoked salmon or kippers as well as the usual cereals and toast etc. The wine list is good and very reasonably priced and the service is always very efficient and friendly. The rooms have recently been renovated and redecorated as has the bar area and there is always plenty of hot water and the rooms are cosy warm. Richard and Clare are very welcoming and really helpful and if you are very lucky you might get a glimpse of their delightful children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michnoquetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and this one didn't disappoint. A warm welcome, great room and excellent food.

A tripadvisor leaflet in the bedroom urging guests to leave feedback which can only mean one thing - nothing to hide, and there wasn't. Very clean, throughout.

Full English breakfast wasn't piled up on the plate as per usual, but lovingly made with wholesome quality ingredients.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchalps2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This country house hotel is a hidden gem. The rooms are newly refurbished and extremely comfortable and it has been a pleasure to return once again to find the same warm friendly welcome from Mr and Mrs Moore. We enjoyed the evening meal which surpassed all of our expectations. Chef takes full advantage of local quality produce and his expertise in the kitchen is reflected in the satisfaction of the diners. We enjoyed a hearty full english breakfast in the morning before sadly bidding the Marchbank farewell until our next visit.

Room Tip: Four poster room at the front has alovely view down to the river but they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions. It is a quiet peaceful hotel. The food is fabulous. However the reputation of the hotel is based on the hospitality of the owner and staff. They are the most helpful, welcoming, hosts one could ever wish to meet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed at the March Bank Hotel for 1 night on the 5th June 2011. I had choosen to stay there for no other reason than the location it is in but will certainly stay for longer in future.
From beginning to end I found the staff friendly ,welcoming and they went out of their way to be helpful and the standards of service would put most so-called "big name" hotels to shame.
The hotel has stunning views over the Esk valley and is ideally situated on the border of Scotland and England combining in my opinion the best standards of service of both countries. The evening meal and choice of menu available were exceptional as was the breakfast .The room was spotlessly clean ,decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel as a must stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Ideal for a peaceful stay in a quiet location. We stayed in a lovely room with a four poster bed. The best thing about our stay was hotel owner Richard's personal attention to detail and his excellent cooking both at dinner and breakfast. The location is great for travellers from the south to Scotland or vice versa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canonbie
5.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
7.3 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
76 reviews
5.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to March Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about March Bank Hotel

Property: March Bank Hotel
Address: Marchbank Cottage Scots DYKE, VIA, Canonbie DG14 0TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Canonbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canonbie
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing