We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly cosy place to stay”
Review of North Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canonbie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Canonbie B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A friendly cosy place to stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a wonderful weekend staying at North Lodge and would certainly recommend going there. The rooms are spacious, warm and comfortable. So much so I didn't wish to get up each morning and probably wouldn't have except for the tantalizing smells coming from the kitchen.

The cooked breakfast is plentiful and delicious with everything you could possibly desire for a good hearty start to the day.

You feel nothing but welcome in the house which has a brilliant homely feel and conversation a plenty from a host who has time for everyone.

Don't miss out on a relaxing stay in a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmody86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

North Lodge is an excellent base for exploring this unspoilt corner of Scotland. Situated just north of the border with England, this area is rich in wildlife and is an ideal place to unwind.

We have visited North Lodge on several occasions, the latest being at the end of April 2012. The main house has two double bedrooms, both ensuite, and there is a self-catering log cabin situated in the grounds overlooking the pond.

The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable and the cabin is very well-equipped.

The hosts are very hospitable and will do all they can to ensure a first class experience. The breakfasts too are excellent with a wide choice of options to suit all tastes.

Would strongly recommend this very reasonably-priced B&B and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJLPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just returned from North Lodge. Excellent stay, up to date and very clean, we all
had a good nights sleep. The best host ever we have come across at a B&B. Could not do
enough for us and gave good advise on places to visit in the local area. We will definitely
return again. We would highly recomend it for the best stay in the area.

Room Tip: Always check the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We've just returned from a wedding in Gretna and stayed at the North Lodge with my elderly mother on the 26th November. The two rooms were spotless, a lovely warm welcome and the best nights sleep I've had in a long time staying away. We couldn't fault the place, both myself and my wife will probably go back there next year and look at staying in the cabin. Thank you for a lovely stay and your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayWatts90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed at some excellent Hotels, B&B's, Ski huts and Chalets all over Europe; but this little treasure is by far the best. Is it the nice big, clean rooms and bathrooms? Is it the relaxed, plentiful and wholesome breakfast? Or maybe the tea, coffee and cakes on arrival? For us it was all of these things, plus all the everyday things seemed to be forgotten as soon as we came up the drive. Just like Arnie "Well be back".
Big Thank you to Joanna & Stuart.
From Anton & Jo

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

we stayed for four nights and Stuart and Jo were so welcoming and helpful . The room was lovely clean fresh and modern but still retaining the old charm of the property, a lovely change was a big bathroom most b & bs are tiny . Ideally situated for sightseeing the Scottish borders only twenty minutes from the M6 nice local pubs to dine in . Stuart and Jo were lovely hosts making us feel really at home .Next time we want to try the cabin which overlooks a lake an artists perfect view !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysterycustomer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed at North Lodge whilst working in the area and found it to be the most reasonably priced bed and breakfast.
First impressions were excellent and the standard of rooms and service could not be faulted at all.
Friendly service throughout and a very impressive breakfast would certainly mean that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharps_fitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lodge B&B

Property: North Lodge B&B
Address: Woodslee, Canonbie DG14 0TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Canonbie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Canonbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the North Lodge B&B, Canonbie. Our family run bed & breakfast offers comfortable accommodation with excellent breakfasts situated one mile south of the picturesque village of Canonbie. Whether travelling as part of a small group, individually or as a family, accommodation at North Lodge B&B comprises of two comfortable and airy bedrooms, a double and a twin/family bedroom complete with en-suite bathrooms. All rooms have free internet access. Whether you need an accommodation base for touring, fishing or a quiet hideaway for a Gretna wedding, we are ideally located to explore the beautiful and scenic area. Just off the A7 tourist route from Carlisle to Edinburgh, there are two excellent restaurants nearby where you can sample local Scottish produce and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing