We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Reception”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel myself but went in unannounced and booked my elderly uncle in who was over from the states on a visit for two nights. His original accommodation plans had fallen through we so had to find somewhere else in a hurry. Stumbled across this place. Beautiful location right on the river, popular pub nearby, rooms clean and pleasant, he told me the breakfast was excellent. From a personal view, whatever they are paying the guy on Reception on the evening of 24th July it isn't enough! He could not have been more helpful. A big thankyou to him - Are you reading this Best Western!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I will pass on your kind words to Rhys and ensure that he receives the recognition he deserves.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    431
    191
    77
    52
See reviews for
159
614
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here 7 to 11 July (4 nights) on Devon coach tour with Cooks of Southend. Riverside location nice but our room was in one of the Lodges (annexes). These are uphill from main hotel and across minor road serving the pub. Room clean but TV didn't work and WiFi very poor. The food was dreadful. Apparently we were on the so called "coach menu". Drinks in hotel bar very expensive. With a couple of notable exceptions the staff were unhelpful and occasionally rude. Not sure if this is a motel trying to be a hotel as seemed to be overnight stop for other coach parties and tradesmen. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Probably one in the annexes as apparently rooms in main hotel need refurbishing. However please note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

The North and South Lodge are the same standard as the main building, they are by no means annexes.

The road you are discussing is the entrance to the hotel and isn't a through road to any other destination.

We welcome a lot of guests to the hotel, corporate and leisure guests and we try and meet everyone's requirements.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lunch was very pleasant. We sat on the patio. The lunch menu didn't have a great choice but what we had was very nice and nicely presented. We thought the drinks pricey. Very pleasant staff and a nice hotel. Will return

Room Tip: We only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for review.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked in by my company and not expecting a lot I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, I had an excellent room with a fantastic view up towards Tiegnmouth across the estuary, the room was very clean and in good decorative order.

On the down side I tried to get an early evening drink from the bar to no avail as staff had gone missing ( I could see the receptionist trying to chivvy them to no avail) and not a great choice for veggies here eating wise so we went out to a local Indian.

What ever you do don't try and make a joke with the rather stern breakfast lady, though in her defence they were incredibly full with a coach or two of German tourists.

All in all good and I would come back.

Room Tip: Book a water facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, I will be sure to discuss it with the rest of the team and address the issues that you discussed.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Passage House Hotel (July 2014).
Room – slightly dated but in generally good condition, very clean, the house-keeping team cannot be faulted. Room cleaned and vacuumed every day. Even when we were still occupying the room for most of the morning to get ready for a wedding, we returned in the evening to a lovely clean room.
Breakfast – good, staff appeared to be very busy though as there were several large coach parties at the hotel. In my opinion there must be a lot of food wastage as the amount of toast each person was given was just too much, might be better to have bread and a toaster for customers to help themselves?
Pool/Leisure area – again slightly dated but clean and well maintained. Kids loved it but were asked, albeit politely, to keep the noise down as guests having treatments could hear them – hardly surprising as the spa area is situated in a mezzanine above the pool and kids do make noise, especially when having fun!
Staff – mostly very polite, apart from one lady on reception who very snottily told my children to keep the noise down when they were in the reception area, the hotel chain sells itself as “family friendly” but in my opinion it seemed to be a case of kids should be seen and not heard.
The fact they were told to “eh, keep it down NOW”” by a very aggressive hotel receptionist was a bit much considering we had been given a room pretty much directly above the function room where there was a party with loud music (not to mention the rubbish DJ who kept shouting and chanting into the mic!) on the Saturday night. Add to this the smokers who congregated below our bedroom window having a chat and those saying a very loud goodbye to each other when they finally left just after mid-night, suffice to say the kids were being noisy, but they were only letting off steam after being kept awake till the early hours. And no we were not pre-warned about the late night music before hand, as we were told that we should have been when we went to reception to ask when the music would finish.
Overall a nice hotel, some of the staff’s attitudes need addressing with regards to children and the noise they make, but yes I would stay here again and I would recommend it to others. Just not to anyone with kids, because of this I have awarded 3 stars rather than the 4 it deserves.

Room Tip: Lovely views if you can get a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmsiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review.

As a family owned hotel, we pride ourselves on being family friendly, so I would like to discuss with you at your earliest convenience about your stay, so I can investigate the situation.

My contact details are carleywarren@passagehousegroup.co.uk 07725481518

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The location of the hotel is lovely near the estuary ( however at the time of writing the current directions on the booking confirmation are wrong - get the correct postcode from hotel website for your sat nav - we did point this out so hopefully they will get changed) Check in was very easy and efficient. Our room was in the North Lodge part of the hotel which is across a quiet road from the main part of the hotel with good car park facilities. This section seems to have been refurbished recently as the decoration seemed new and fresh. The furniture was functional. The room was a good size and the bathroom was clean and nicely appointed. However, the carpet in the corridor was cheap and badly fitted which is a shame and worst of all were the beds.There was no mattress protector and the mattress was the cheapest and most uncomfortable I have slept on for many a year ! it was lumpy and every spring could be felt. My husband and I were in twin beds pushed together and his mattress was of equally poor quality.His bed creaked at every move and the pillows were hard and not at all pleasant. I would have preferred no fancy cushion or runner on the bed ( these were the only form of decoration in the room) and the money to be spent on upgrading the mattresses instead. The breakfast was lovely, served in a room with a view of the estuary.It was well cooked and fresh and the service in the breakfast room was good, all the staff were helpful and polite.This has the makings of a nice hotel if some investment is made to improve the beds as this would deter me from staying again if you compare it to Premier Inns whose beds are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your stay. We are upgrading our mattresses, so I am surprised to hear that your bed wasn't comfortable. I will ensure that this is rectified with immediate effect.

Did you notify a member of our team during your stay that you were unhappy? As we would have could have resolved the situation then.

I do hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can offer to you the superior service that we aim to achieve.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
15.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing