We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be staying somewhere else next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“I will be staying somewhere else next time”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooms look tired in the main hotel complex. Mine overlooked the car park and was adjacent to the stairs which had a squeaky door and the soft stop was not working well. I was awake until after midnight with people returning to their rooms and then woken at 05:30 when people started to leave again. A group of lads happily chatted outside my room (top of the stairs, first room by the squeaky door) before heading off. The bathroom in my room looked very dated and needed a better clean. The one redeeming factor for Passage House is that all the staff I dealt with there were charming. Next time I visit Newton Abbot I will be trying the new Premier Inn which I saw in town opposite the Tesco store.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us here. Did you notify a member of our team to inform them that you were not happy?

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon so that we can provide you with the superior service we aim to achieve.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    436
    192
    78
    52
See reviews for
161
620
32
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have used this hotel many times for both business and pleasure, superb location, good clean hotel, very good value for money, but there is a unique difference with this hotel............THE STAFF, when you enter the hotel you are greeted by Kate on reception, she is extremely friendly and efficient, really make us feel at home and very welcome, Kate will then check with you to make sure our room is fine. Over the years we have stayed in many UK hotels but this is the one we return to. Thanks Kate.

Room Tip: very quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Kate was thrilled to hear she helped make your stay more enjoyable!

Look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Service excellent and surroundings were good with fabulous views. Food well presented and enjoyable. Price structure was also good.Health club and spa facilities with beauty treatments offered. Parking plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

First impression's were good. 2 night stay on the 30.05.14, celebrating my wife's b'day. I paid a extra £100.00 for a up-grade ( room 303,) bitterly disappointed, lovely view's of the estuary etc BUT the bathroom had a corner bath which was really small, TOO SMALL, no-way to lie in, basically had to have a stand up bath and rinse off with shower, the room itself was ok BUT you could literally hear the tea being stirred etc from the room next door, the wall's are wafer thin, I did complain and was given a £30.00 back, had I seen the room before ( phone booking,) I would not have even paid £50.00. The hotel has a restaurant on,which we booked for our 1'st night, my fish order was definatley under cooked, 1 mouthful confirmed this, having complained, on my fresh plate being served, the message from the chef via the waitress, was the fish was cooked, I must be wrong, no apologie's or anything. This has never happened to me on any of my travel's, I did inform the waitress to ask the chef to appear, for which he\ she never did. The overall set up of the hotel is good, good breakfast, good friendly staff BUT the table's are really small, I should add at this point I'm approx. 5' 7, average build, in other word's, I don't hardly take any space up at all. I'm fairly disappointed overall with my stay, as is my wife, we had a lovely time during our stay, looking around Torquay and the surrounding area's, but as far as the Passage House hotel goes, I have to say, to date it is the WORST hotel I have been to yet. This is my own personnel view, should we visit the area again, we'll be staying somewhere else. I'll give credit where it's due, don't get me wrong, the staff are friendly, the room's are clean, the breakfast is nice, but in my opinion that's it.

Room Tip: avoid 303 !!!!, I would imagine ALL the room's have wafer thin wall's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your bedroom, on arrival into your room once you decided you didn't like the room if you had advised a member of our team, we could have rectified the problem for you.

The Chef was unable to leave the kitchen as it was in the middle of a busy service, and unfortunately once service had finished you had left the restaurant.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate in contacting me directly on 07725481518

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Rooms: basic and clean, but there was no information pack in the room: after unpacking for a 3 night stay I decided to try the wifi connection, but there was nothing in the room to tell me how, and the only information reception had given he was about breakfast timings and location. So, I thought I'd ring reception to ask (we were in north lodge, a bit of a trek from reception, so didn't fancy going). Unfortunately, no information pack, and nothing on the phone, so nothing to say what number to dial for reception. I guessed correctly (0), explained the situation and was given the various login details. I explained it was more than just the wifi and that there was no hotel info in the room, and was told then would let housekeeping know. Came back to room following day after room made up: no pack. So I then had to ask reception about the pool times, saying that there was no information in the room, and got a very abrupt response and told the times. How hard would if be to put a pack / sheet of A4 in the room with key info on it? An irritating niggle, not helped by lack of response.

The food was ok, given that we were with a group with a negotiated package, and the restaurant/bar staff were friendly and did their best. However, how can 3 staff cover the bar and serve around 140 covers in a restaurant for a 3 course meal, when they have all been seated at the same time? Our group were told to be seated at 7.30, starters came out at around 8pm, main course at 8.45, and dessert around 9.30. I feel sorry for the poor folk not with a group who were trying to get service too! The staff practically ran from start to finish, and kept smiles on their faces, but couldn't do the impossible! Things were no better for breakfast or dinner on other days.

So, mixed feelings: a reasonable 'deal' but dreadful staffing levels and the irritation of no information in the rooms about the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

In each of our bedrooms we have a guest directory that includes everything about the hotel and what we have to offer - I will ask our house keeping manager to double check each room to ensure there is one in each room.

I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently visited this hotel with an Amazon deal, when we arrived we were given a key to our room, after reading recent reviews we were a little worried about the mattress, we tested it and it was a little hard, because I have had hip replacements I struggle a little so we went and told receptionist and she took us to another room which was much better, she was very efficient but a smile or eye contact a bit of warmth would be nice, she was, I think eastern european and quite abrupt, she is the first contact with the hotel so needs to be a little bit more welcoming. Apart from the abrupt start the rest of our stay was perfect, all the rest of the staff we came in contact with were fantastic so helpful and pleasant, the young man in the Dining Room on the evening was brilliant as were all of the Dining Room staff. We also dealt with another Receptionist with long dark hair who was extremely helpful and very cheerful. Even the cleaning staff we met along the corridors were lovely chatty and polite, well done for your staff trainer fantastic job (apart from one). Our room was really good, exceptionally clean and spacious. All the food we had was wonderful, the menu of an evening was brilliant and the food was too, the breakfast was plentiful, and served hot and cooked well. My husband used the leisure facilities and he said they were excellent too, and again very nice staff. The views from the conservatory, over the estuary were magnificent and watching the little rabbits play outside the window was lovely. In all our stay here was excellent, we would not hesitate to go back again, infact we will definately go back, well done was a fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudySunTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
223 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
327 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing