We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for touring South Devon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location for touring South Devon”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in the RCI section of this hotel complex. We were disappointed with the location of our apartment which was at the far end back of the building close to a very busy railway line, with limited natural light and poor views. After being given an opportunity to view some of the newer apartments on the complex at the end of our trip we felt really shortchanged. Generally speaking the apartment we had was well appointed although a bit tired and this was certainly true of the passageways where carpets were showing signs of considerable wear and tear. This is not really the standard that we have come to expect of RCI timeshare establishments but we don't really have experience of many of these in the UK.. We were disappointed that there was no change of bedding half way through our week which is something that is standard abroad. Having said all that we were always treated couteously by the staff in the hotel on the few occasions(lunchtimes) we ate there. We got the feeling that the hotel was minimally staffed but generally once we found a member of staff service at the bar and restaurant was OK. The old Passage House Inn at the bottom of the hill at the riverside was very good indeed( presumably under same ownership) and we can recommend the carvery there as very good value. The hotel complex provides an excellent base for touring the South Devon Coastline and moorland areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devronmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    441
    192
    78
    54
See reviews for
167
627
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a lovely location to view sea birds and swans. Pleasant helpful staff and a reasonable breakfast was served. Our room was clean fresh and tidy with a large comfortable big bed.
Our evening meal was a little disappointing, could have been something to do with the large party of people they had to look after?

Room Tip: First floor in main hotel to get a window view of the estuary. It's a moving picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that you weren't happy with your meal, I will be sure to investigate this further.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Using an Amazon Voucher, four of of us stayed for two nights in South Lodge which was extremely good value. The 3-course dinner was excellent as was the breakfast. The staff were really helpful & pleasant especially James, Lee, and also Rhys at reception. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and I will be sure to pass on your kind words

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed before, the staff are friendly and the location is wonderful however.. The first stay in a king bed was two single mattresses pushed together meaning one of us had to be constantly falling down the gap. We decided to book again but this time in a superior room as we wrongly assumed the bed would be better, nope, still two single mattresses pushed together. I decided last night that overall it was a lovely place and i liked the staff so I would make do with the bed situation. We ordered a breakfast last night to come to our room this morning at ten, 15 mins late and I phone reception who retake the order apologising profusely. 30 mins later it arrived, cold toast, preserves for one but toast for two, coffee but no cups or sugar, full English with no sausages, no salt and pepper!!! So I rang reception and requested cups, salt and sugar, once again after an apology someone came to the room, she had brought cups but no sugar, and a pot of salt which was empty!!!! Needless to say my partner then went down himself to collect sugar for the coffee which was cold, and salt as we were embarrassed to have to keep ringing reception. This was all such a shame as we really have found the staff polite and helpful at all other times. But after paying 250 for our two night B and B I felt this wasn't good enough. Here's hoping the rest of the stay is better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muaythaivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I would like to discuss this further with you, please can you email to me your phone number and I will call you. carleywarren@passagehousehotel.co.uk

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel courtesy of an Amazon sampler voucher. For just £99, we got 2 nights B&B plus dinner on the first night.
Great spacious bedroom, with a balcony overlooking the Teign Estuary, great freshly cooked food, both in the hotel itself and the Passage House Inn, its adjoining pub - and a great place to explore Teignmouth and Torbay. We couldn’t fault anything in our very relaxing mini break. This was an absolute steal for the price. This Best Western run hotel punches well above its 3-star rating. We will certainly return even though it is a four hour drive away.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new South Lodge annex (rooms 7 to 12 ) for a super Estuary facing room with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I got one of the lumpy beds others have mentioned and it really does ruin your sleep (Room 17 bed furthest from window). Surprised and disappointed that the only toiletries were a wall mounted soap dispenser. Using the hairdryer at the mirror means you are drying your hair over the tea/coffee making facilities (not nice). Bedside lights are ceiling mounted spotlights.
Have to park at reception to book in and then move your car to your Lodge. Friend got her car scraped in the car park (no-one left a note saying sorry). Hotel was fully booked so we had to wait for breakfast - wait to get a table, long wait to get tea/coffee, wait to get cooked breakfast (toast came quickly but it was cold). Not worth the £99 we paid, won't be back. (We ate in the pub, which was lovely)

Room Tip: Feel the mattress before accepting the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

With regards to your car, if you had mentioned this at reception we have 24 hour CCTV cameras and we could have looked at them to see if we saw anything.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If I was on a leisure deal or a coach holiday I would write a slightly different review but being a business traveller I'm writing from that perspective.

Check in. This was ok but don't get your luggage out of the car until you know where your room is as most rooms seem to be in the two lodge buildings. I made a mistake here in not having my BW Diamond card on me and the receptionist looked a bit non plussed when I asked if the free room upgrade was available. (As per usual with BW hotels it wasn't)

The room (51) was certainly large and clean enough but the double bed was infact two singles pushed together. The bathroom was clean enough but no supplied toiletries. This should be a given. The room had no air conditioning. For business travellers (and those with youngsters) you should expect a Wi Fi signal. There was none but there was a wired ethernet connection which didn't work in my room. Thus if you have a device which will only use Wi Fi it is useless in the room. This may be different if you have a room in the main hotel building.

Breakfast was to my mind disappointing as the cold selection was poor unless you wanted prunes in which there were enough to keep a coachload regular. More meats, cheeses and better fruit selection please.

I didn't eat in the restaurant but did eat in the pub which was very good and allowed room charges. The restaurant and bar were fairly priced and had a good selection. There is a good view over the river from the pub but slightly let down with no Wi Fi.

The leisure facilities were ok with everything working that should be but it is a trek to find the place. The swimming pool is about the size a postage stamp so don't expect too much from it.

All in all a nice place and I would probably stay again but it really needs a bit of work to bring it up to scratch for business travellers.

Room Tip: Don't worry too much if your room is near the railway line it shouldn't disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to read that you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay.

Unfortunately as the hotel was fully booked, we were unable to offer the complimentary upgrade on the occasion that you stayed.
The beds are called 'Zip and Link' beds which allows us to create a King size bed and is most common in hotels.

We are currently in the process of placing WiFi throughout the hotel, and replacing the hard wire internet in the bedrooms.

I hope that you will stay with us again and we can offer to you the superior service that we aim to achieve.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
94 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
237 reviews
7.0 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
524 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing