We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good affordable option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I should start by saying that I realise that we are very demanding hotel guests - we live in London and travel a lot with work and are quite set in our ways!!! This hotel is affordable and in a very pretty location and the staff are affable and try to be helpful - I think it is pretty good value for the price. Personally, I found the breakfast selection limited (again, I am fussy about breakfast so for most people it is probably more than adequate, but there was a limited cold buffet of cereals and fruit, and then 3 hot options - English breakfast, scrambled eggs or kippers - no porridge :-( ) and breakfast didn't start until 8am which is late for me. Equally there is a gym / leisure area but this also doesn't open until 8am (so you can't even go pre-breakfast!) and running routes in the area seem limited. In fairness, the receptionist did say that if I asked the night porter he would probably open the gym for me at 7am - so they do try to be helpful which is always very much appreciated. The rooms are fine - not massively luxurious but perfectly adequate. The best feature is the terrace overlooking the estuary - which you can eat breakfast on and enjoy a drink on later in the day - this is a huge plus point in the hotel's favour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the rest of the team at the hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Passage House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night in July and had a great stay. I rang prior to booking and the staff were extremely helpful and helped me book over the phone. We arrived late Friday evening. Check in was great and we were given the information we needed including the option to order food which could be prepared whilst we unpacked so we did not miss last orders.

The room - in South Lodge and was exceptionally clean, modern, a huge comfortable bed, plenty of tea, coffee etc. We upgraded to a balcony and due to exceptional good weather it was great. Not sure I would worry about it in winter. The room was very quiet and we had fantastic undisturbed sleep.

Breakfast was good. Served until 10am on a weekend, this meant we had time to swim beforehand. Breakfast itself was delicious. I preferred ordering and waiting for it to be freshly prepared rather than a help yourself buffet. Portions were perfect. I opted for poached haddock and poached eggs which was delicious. It was lovely to be able to take coffee out onto the terrace and enjoy the views after breakfast. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Swimming pool - small but ok to relax in. The whole pool area was very clean and well kept.

The pub - we ate here and enjoyed the food which was fresh, plentiful and well priced. A bonus was that anything ordered was charged to your room.

The staff - The hotel staff were all kind, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They all seemed to take pride in their work.

The hotel is very easy to find and not far off main roads. We followed the public footpath to the main road and caught a local bus to Shaldon/Teignmouth. Overall we had a pleasant stay and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tastyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is ok, the food is ok, the staff are efficient, the bedroom is ok, the decor is definitely dated. The hygeine rating is only 3 out of 5. But the view over the estuary from one of the superior rooms with a balcony is superb. At different states of the tide, the view changes and the birdwatching is very good. In addition to lots of common species, we saw little egrets and avocets.
The next door pub, the Passage House Inn does a good pub meal.
The room got very hot ad there is no air conditioning. We were given a fan when we asked and when it didn't work, it was replaced with one that did.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the estuary for the view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean_mcleod67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After nearly 3 years of staying at the Passage House, not once have we been once have we been disappointed.

The rooms are clean and adequately equipped and some have great views looking out over the estuary.

The staff can't do enough for you, and nothing is too big a problem, from Laura and Kate on reception, who are extremely friendly and helpful, to Chelsea, Beth, James, Sarah, Lorraine and Heather who provide a great service in the restaurant area.

Out of hours, Steve the night porter, is the man to go to if any problems arise.

Not forgetting Danni, who has been nothing but helpful since day one.

Thanks to all the above for making our stays away from home so enjoyable.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nwrteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I will look forward to sharing your review with the rest of the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Steve at the bar during the evening was the most helpfull and understanding person I have met a great asset to this hotel ! Also Laura at reception was brilliant a great help! Chelsea and jim ( James) were also very good !!!! Thanks all

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adiep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere and staff very attentive. Only stayed one night but will certainly return again hopefully soon. Also did not have time to use pool. Lovely view across and down the river towards Teignmouth

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely quiet position on the river estuary. Breakfast very tasty though service very slow at the weekend when it was busy. Room clean and comfortable. Didn't like the brick balcony felt very enclosed and the paint was peeling off the sides - needs updating. Lift was out of order for most of our stay, which was ok for us, but would not have suited an older or disabled person at all. Staff as always very pleasant. Only downside the bed was lumpy so didn't sleep as well as our last stay. Took some meals at the Inn down the road, all ok, except the carvery veg were a bit tired

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the estuary side. It's a lovely ever-changing view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and I will be sure to discuss your feedback with the rest of the team.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
102 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
247 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
9.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range: $85 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing