We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my wife to be used a Groupon voucher for our stay at the hotel from the 1st til the 3rd February, and were pleasantly surprised with the stay we had. The room was clean and of a good size, overlooking the river and surrounding areas, staff were friendly and attentive, and the leisure facilities were nice, if a little dated. The restaurant was probably the biggest plus point of the hotel however; we were entitled to a free evening meal due to the package we were on, and expected a one, maybe two course meal, however we received a three course meal including steaks! Bargain! There was also plenty of car parking, breakfast was good, and the hotel is near many attractions. A really good getaway, and we'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeGB034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel.

I hope that we get to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    441
    192
    78
    54
See reviews for
167
627
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed on 26 jan one night in the lodges very large rooms, the rooms were clean and bright with tea making facilatis ,nice bathroom very the rooms were very worm ,we used the swinming pool in main building small but nice. hotel in lovley position by estary also good pub food avalable will return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamBenidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Kindest Regards

Carley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked using a Groupon voucher, everything about the hotel was superb.We stayed on the 28th / 29th Jan 2013.The bedroom was large and the bed kingsize.We stayed in one of the lodges which was away from the main hotel, the room was absolutely spotless.
The swimming pool was closed for a clean up. It is a shame that you can't sit with your partner in the steam room as commented on by a previous guest.
Food was excellent and we were served very quickly by a really charming waitress who dealt with us in a really professional manner.
All the staff were very pleasant, we were also dealt with by the Bulgarian receptionist who was nice. The couple (c9ckl) who said she was terrifying really need to get out more often as they certainly don't have a clue about life. What a silly comment to make !

We will certainly stay there again as we really enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the lodges away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
First and foremost thank you for your review.

It gives me great pleasure to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will look forward to sharing your review with the rest of the team members including Iliana (our Bulgarian receptionist)

I hope that we get to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent a very pleasant mid week break, staff were very helpful, room was lovely and clean. Leisure facility were also good. Booked using Groupon and had no issues whatsoever, only down note was the evening meal okay but could have been better prepared. Pub opposite great food with very large portions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejones08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all members of the team.

Kind Regards

Carley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We checked availability for our chosen dates prior to buying a groupon deal, yet when we tried to book it we were told no rooms were available for groupon due to the restaurant being fully booked. In fact our chosen dates are still available to book on line at the full price rate with absolutely no mention of limited dining options. After speaking directly to the hotel we also tried their customer service line in the hope of extending the voucher or maybe even taking the two day break without the 3 course meal included(which seems to be the problem) we were promptly told to take this up with the hotel as best western are a large chain with very little input in the day to day running of individual hotels. We were directed to speak with Carly Warren who again reiterated "COMPUTER SAYS NO" it seems groupon equates to second class citizen which is a shame considering we have stayed there before & enjoyed it, in fact we also have a best western loyalty card!!!! Ironic really as we will never use them again. Over all VERY DISAPPOINTING. No effort was made by management to resolve this issue which in my opinion is appalling customer service

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank backer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Group on advert does say subject to availability and we/ Groupon advise to check the availability prior to purchasing the voucher. By phoning the hotel prior to purchasing the voucher we will be able to advise you of the availability on your requested dates.

I would like to advise you that the most popular days for guests to book their Group on deals are the weekends.

We have an allocation of rooms for Group on to ensure that we do not upset our regular guests or guests who have events at the hotel such as Weddings, by not being able to accommodate them.

If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me on 01626 355515

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just back from a weekend at the Passage House Hotel, on a groupon voucher.
The rooms were fine, although the bed was quite small. All very clean.
The bathrooms could do with updating - grey loo, bath and sink, but all clean and working.
We were given a room above the function room on the first night - right above the band... Very very noisy.... However we knew in advance (we heard them practising earlier in the evening) and that the party was due to end at midnight. So we stayed out until then.
There were lots of complaints the next morning about the noise - any of the rooms above the function room were exceptionally noisy... Why doesn't the hotel put people who are attending the function in those rooms???
We were just gearing up to ask for a room move, as we found out there was another function on the second night, when the receptionist rang to ask if we would like to move. Yes please. Our second night was very quiet.
The meal in the restaurant was good, lovely food. It doesn't really feel that restauranty though, it is definitely a hotel dining room rather than a restaurant feel.
Cooked breakfast was nice. Not that much available on the buffet though, and not replenished often enough at busy times (not enough staff?). It took a while to order tea - this could be ordered as you sit down, rather than when you order your hot choice - the first morning I had to wait nearly 20 minutes for a cup of tea.
There is a lovely sunny room on the verandah looking out over beautiful views of the river estuary - worth relaxing in there for a while.

The leisure suite is disappointing, especially the gym, which is a tiny room with a few machines and a small room off it with a few weights. The pool is ok, if small. But a shame that the sauna and steam rooms are within the changing rooms - so you can't sit in a steam room with your partner and chat. You have to steam separately.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the function venue!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me on 01626355515

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent a happy weekend here just before Christmas as our first Groupon Deal.
On arrival bulgarian receptionist frankly terrifying so a bit of a wobbly start.
Upgraded to a river view room, money really well spent. From here on in all staff very friendly and efficient. The deal included a 3 course meal on first night and we were both really impressed.
Breakfast fresh and again far better than expected. All good in fact, recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Estuary View room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c9ckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
First and foremost thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I will look forward to sharing your review to the rest of the team.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
94 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
237 reviews
7.0 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
523 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing