We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Year - Will Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Exmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent New Year - Will Be Back”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had the good fortune to attend the very well organised and planned new year celebration at the Passage House Hotel this year. What can I say?

The staff were courteous, polite, well presented and an absolute credit to the hotel.

Food excellent as always is and tasted delicious. My party could not fault a single course and compliments were made to the chef by every member of our table. Extremely well thought out and prepared fare.

Entertainment, not the usual run of the mill DJ, no over loud music designed to deafen the majority of the crowd, more a well thought out and well executed mix of entertainment tailored to the crowd. Excellent and thoroughly enjoyed, music we hadn't heard in years and danced the night away!

All in all, a credit to the Passage house. Have stayed here on numerous occasions in the past when at the racecourse and am pleased to see the quality of this wonderful location is being upheld. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpt_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the New Year's celebrations with us here at the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the staff at the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    440
    192
    78
    54
See reviews for
164
623
32
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times with my husband both in the summer and in the winter and we absolutely love it. Its location overlooking the Teign Estuary is superb and is close to the lovely unspoilt seaside resort of Teignmouth. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant is very good, as are the bar snacks too. We will be back!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a small supplement for a superior estuary facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janreynoldsmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the to write your review.

It gave me great pleasure to read your review.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team at the hotel.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the 'Passage House Hotel' on a special Groupon deal. Not only was it superb value (£159) which included breakfast and a spacious room with views of the river Teign, but with 3 different restaurants to choose from and a relaxed atmosphere, this was one of our best English holidays of the year.

There were the usual niggles, as nothing is perfect. The final bill had various errors; the carvery on our first night was stale and overcooked, having been heated and open to the elements for over 8 hours; but the breakfasts were excellent, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly and the gym and swimming pool/spa adequate.

The hotel is in an excellent location to visit places like Dartmoor, Torquay, Dartmouth and Totnes. Overall, a top quality experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Keep looking out for those special hotel deals. During austere times, why pay full price?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It gives me great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all members of the team.

We currently have a special offer on at the hotel so please call 01626 355515 to find out more. I do hope that we get to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

All in all the hotel is very good. The rooms are spacious and the room I had was refurbished. Beds very comfortable, excellent shower, tea/coffee in rooms. The only comment I have on the rooms is that the towels are small and a little worn. The leisure club is nice, with a small but adequate pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna and a small well equipped gym. My only criticism is you have to pay £1 for a towel or use one from the room, this is not usual in hotels particularly if you are a guest. My main issue is that the bar is often left unmanned and you have to go to reception to ask for someone to come and the restaurant often has no staff in sight, it seems to me they are cost saving by having the same person wait tables as do the bar. No-one welcomes you to the restaurant on arrival and it is a case of find your own table. The food for dinner in the main restaurant is average, breakfast good although compared to other Best Western the choice is limited, no cold meats/cheese, no danish just fruit and cereal. The pub which belongs to the hotel and is next door is really nice and the food excellent.
Hotel has a good location with nice views over the estuary and easy to drive to Torbay and many other towns. The staff are generally pleasant and helpful.
I would stay here again, but just a little more attention to detail would really enhance the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not a hotel I will ever look to book again, the pillows were nothing more than sponge with a pillowcase in casing it, so uncomfortable I wished my time away whilst stay there. We were in room located upon the first floor, which smelled of dampness as you entered the corridor from the lift lobby. Our room was a family room (great) but this was only due to questioning why we were being directed to stay in a block house away from the main hotel which had booked, not a motel.. The bathroom had such a musky smell of dampness or urine that it was very poor.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here at the hotel.

If you had informed reception that you were not happy with the pillows, we could have provided alternative ones for you.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

just come back from our second stay at the passage house hotel, gotta say just as good as the first time we found the place to be comfortable and clean the breakfast was very good and found the evening meals to also be good whether you ate in the hotel or the onsite pub, dont listen to the people who knock this place go and give it a try some reviews went on groupon deals what are they moaning about go and pay two hundred pound a night and stay at the ritz. lastly id like to say a special thank you to Laura, Kat and Carley see you all again soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
First and foremost thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us here at the hotel, it was a pleasure to have you to stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had our Wedding Breakfast at The Passage House Hotel on Saturday 24th November 2012. We are very grateful to all the staff at the hotel for making our day so special especially Danielle who arranged our wedding reception. Nothing could have spoilt the day even the heavy rain was soon forgotten as everything was thought of and made extra special for us. The three course meal and drink at our reception was excellent and the waiting staff always had a smile. Our families stayed at the Passage House Hotel over the weekend and had a lovely time, the rooms were excellent and the service by all the staff was first class.

We would recommend this Hotel as a wedding reception to everybody.

Thank you for giving us a memorable and special day that we will cherish.

Mr & Mrs Minton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Minton,

First and foremost we would like to say Congratulations on your special day.

It truly was a beautiful day (except for the weather) and thank you for letting the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, be part of it.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all members of the team at the hotel.

We wish you all the best for the future.

See you soon

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
231 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
328 reviews
9.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing