We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cockhaven Arms(Bishopsteignton)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliffden Hotel(Teignmouth)
$133
$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$212
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveler rating
422
494
213
83
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
494
213
83
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe main hotelgroupon dealnewton abbotteign estuaryleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomlovely locationcooked breakfastoverlooking the riversouth devonsuperior roomenjoyable staysat navlovely weekendmain roadtwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
974 - 979 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the 'Passage House Hotel' on a special Groupon deal. Not only was it superb value (£159) which included breakfast and a spacious room with views of the river Teign, but with 3 different restaurants to choose from and a relaxed atmosphere, this was one of our best English holidays of the year.

There were the usual niggles, as nothing is perfect. The final bill had various errors; the carvery on our first night was stale and overcooked, having been heated and open to the elements for over 8 hours; but the breakfasts were excellent, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly and the gym and swimming pool/spa adequate.

The hotel is in an excellent location to visit places like Dartmoor, Torquay, Dartmouth and Totnes. Overall, a top quality experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Keep looking out for those special hotel deals. During austere times, why pay full price?
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It gives me great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all members of the team.

We currently have a special offer on at the hotel so please call 01626 355515 to find out more. I do hope that we get to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

All in all the hotel is very good. The rooms are spacious and the room I had was refurbished. Beds very comfortable, excellent shower, tea/coffee in rooms. The only comment I have on the rooms is that the towels are small and a little worn. The leisure club is nice, with a small but adequate pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna and a small well equipped gym. My only criticism is you have to pay £1 for a towel or use one from the room, this is not usual in hotels particularly if you are a guest. My main issue is that the bar is often left unmanned and you have to go to reception to ask for someone to come and the restaurant often has no staff in sight, it seems to me they are cost saving by having the same person wait tables as do the bar. No-one welcomes you to the restaurant on arrival and it is a case of find your own table. The food for dinner in the main restaurant is average, breakfast good although compared to other Best Western the choice is limited, no cold meats/cheese, no danish just fruit and cereal. The pub which belongs to the hotel and is next door is really nice and the food excellent.
Hotel has a good location with nice views over the estuary and easy to drive to Torbay and many other towns. The staff are generally pleasant and helpful.
I would stay here again, but just a little more attention to detail would really enhance the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not a hotel I will ever look to book again, the pillows were nothing more than sponge with a pillowcase in casing it, so uncomfortable I wished my time away whilst stay there. We were in room located upon the first floor, which smelled of dampness as you entered the corridor from the lift lobby. Our room was a family room (great) but this was only due to questioning why we were being directed to stay in a block house away from the main hotel which had booked, not a motel.. The bathroom had such a musky smell of dampness or urine that it was very poor.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here at the hotel.

If you had informed reception that you were not happy with the pillows, we could have provided alternative ones for you.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

just come back from our second stay at the passage house hotel, gotta say just as good as the first time we found the place to be comfortable and clean the breakfast was very good and found the evening meals to also be good whether you ate in the hotel or the onsite pub, dont listen to the people who knock this place go and give it a try some reviews went on groupon deals what are they moaning about go and pay two hundred pound a night and stay at the ritz. lastly id like to say a special thank you to Laura, Kat and Carley see you all again soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

First and foremost thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us here at the hotel, it was a pleasure to have you to stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had our Wedding Breakfast at The Passage House Hotel on Saturday 24th November 2012. We are very grateful to all the staff at the hotel for making our day so special especially Danielle who arranged our wedding reception. Nothing could have spoilt the day even the heavy rain was soon forgotten as everything was thought of and made extra special for us. The three course meal and drink at our reception was excellent and the waiting staff always had a smile. Our families stayed at the Passage House Hotel over the weekend and had a lovely time, the rooms were excellent and the service by all the staff was first class.

We would recommend this Hotel as a wedding reception to everybody.

Thank you for giving us a memorable and special day that we will cherish.

Mr & Mrs Minton

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Minton,

First and foremost we would like to say Congratulations on your special day.

It truly was a beautiful day (except for the weather) and thank you for letting the BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, be part of it.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all members of the team at the hotel.

We wish you all the best for the future.

See you soon

Kindest Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews