We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break away”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bell Inn is a 15th century Inn, with traditional features of oak beams and open fire place. A friendly family run pub. Families are welcome and we also welcome dogs. All our food is homemade and freshly prepared to order and all our produce is locally sourced. We have a large garden with views of Dartmoor and are only 5 minutes away from Teignmouth seaside resort. We also have ample parking in our large car park.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Myself and my partner visited this area for a long weekend and we decided to eat at the bell on our first eve! We were greated with a very warm welcome by owners Graham and Caroline. The atmosphere was lovely, lots of space, darts and pool Room and a super roaring open fire just what we needed for a relaxing break. Our Food was so good we ate there everyday of our stay and the menu was varied and freshly prepared. There was a live band on the Sat evening and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Well done to all there we will defiantly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank masonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went in last night - (Friday - start of the weekend), we looked at the blackboard menu the barman said "we've just sold out of the Lamb, sorry." Looked again and we both decided to have Liver and mash, not something either of us have at home. Ordered 2 Liver and mash, again the barman said "sorry, we've just sold the last two". Bearing in mind there were only 7 customers in the pub all night, it was the start of the weekend and they'd run out of two items on the blackboard already we were pretty disappointed. It seems to be a family run pub and they were friendly, but apart from the one small fire in the middle of the room the radiators were cold so my friend kept her quilted jacket on while we were eating. The rose wine was very nice and the prices good, but it was one very empty and cold pub. We are locals, but won't be visiting again unfortunately. The new sign outside looks lovely by the way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mags16612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz261165, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit, but I am grateful for the positive comments that you have made also. Going on the dates of your review it was the 1st November when you came into the pub. Our menus are chalk boards and are constantly changing as we buy fresh and seasonal local food. We get a daily delivery of fresh food that once it is sold it is sold until the next day. That particular day we had had an unexpected and extremely busy lunchtime and it is always recommended to book to avoid disappointment. There may have only been 7 people in the premises whilst you were here as that night we had a Halloween disco and we were extremely busy. You do not mention in your review what you did have to eat and if it was satisfactory. With regards to the temperature in the building, as you mention we have an open fire which does a very good job of heating the bar area. The pub is kept at a comfortable temperature for our customers and also for the family that live in the building, if you had mentioned that you were cold we could have moved you to a warmer spot or turned up the heating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We came across this pub when returning from a day out visiting National Trust properties. A nearby eatery which we were intending to go to was closed for their holidays and we saw this one and decided to investigate. We (there were 4 adults and 4 children) were given a warm welcome. All of us enjoyed the food and the good service. We said that we would definitely go there again if we were in the area at that time of day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ExeterGadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

So glad we found this place via tripadvisor whilst staying locally. We received a very warm welcome and had a lovely chat with the owner. They have a great menu with plenty of choice for all tastes and then some daily specials that we chose from. Our meals of honey glazed duck and hunter's chicken were both delicious and accompanied by fresh salad or vegetables. Finished off with the best chocolate brownie ever. If you're in the area look this lovely pub up for great food and a good choice of ales & ciders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TheRowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked to have Sunday lunch at the Bell prior to spending a fab afternoon at the races.

The welcome was warming and the home-cooked food was lovely. We will definitely be going back and would like to wish the family every success with building up trade. You deserve to do really well. Thank you and we all enjoyed our brief visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Kingsteignton, Devon
Kingsteignton, Devon
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing