We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better.”
Review of Passage House Inn

Passage House Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“could be better.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

went for lunch at the passage house inn today,the pub is very dated and smells a little like an old peoples home.our fist introduction was a very bad tempered woman behind the bar.there were several people in front of us waiting to be served so she yelled at someone who was out of sight to and i quote"get off your **** and give me a hand".the young man appeared and we were served by him.the poor man this lady was serving complained that the real ale he has just purchased tasted awful so could he have another.after tutting she did so but he very nicley told her this too was bad.for his trouble he was glared at and tutted at again.the menu is very dated was i was disappointed to find no salads or healthy options on offer.i did however find a 3 smoked fish salad on the specials board which was very very nice and well worth the money.a visit to the ladies was met with yellow stained toilet seats(yuk).all in all this pub is in the most beautiful place right on the river but it it did feel like we were an inconvienence instead of new customers.such a shame

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    140
    96
    84
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NEWTON ABBOT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not quite there yet”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food okay but not good enough to get excited about.Lovely location by estuary but décor rather tired and overdue for updating.Would not be inclined to hurry back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Thought these were no more”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Are you nostalgic for how we used to eat in the uk 30 years ago? You know, old red patterned carpet...decor based on a station waiting room. ..
Staff busy but not with you....basic menu of meat and 2 veg...with lemon meringue pie for afters. ...? Then this is the place for you. And when we asked for a drinks list we were sniffingly informed that they just had a wine list. Wine list!!? Sav blanc...chardonnay. ...liebfraumilch. ..pinot grigio. That's not a list....its an afterthought. I get insulted and cross by these lazy outdated and care less places. We wandered around the place to make sure that the next room had some semblance of welcome....to no avail. I can't comment on the food as we decided not to stay in the end so this may not be fair. Don't care really as they didn't. ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited on Sunday for lunch for the first time. There was a choice of carvery or items off the menu. The carvery looked very good and a lot of people were enjoying it, but we chose items off the menu and all four meals ordered were very good. Well cooked and presented, staff very friendly. Lovely view over the river. We had travelled up from Cornwall and we weren't disappointed. We will be back when we are in the area. Excellent prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

we sat outside for are meal to enjoy the view found the rafia chairs very uncomfortable the food was average but the steak pie is fantastic the service is very good the staff are very friendly not bad value for money

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuppennce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage House Inn also viewed

Kingsteignton, Devon
Kingsteignton, Devon
 
Kingsteignton, Devon
 

Been to Passage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing