We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 5 Day Stay”

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Weary Ploughman Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent 5 Day Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everything was beyond 1st Class. The Rooms, Food, both Breakfast and Evening meals in the Restaurant and where the Inn is situated, is superb. With the Steam Railway on the doorstep, we hardly ever used the car. We would recommend The Weary Ploughman without hesitation to anone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffFurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
What a glowing review! - for which we all thank you very much indeed. We do try hard to give our guests, and restaurant customers, an enjoyable experience and it is really encouraging when we read such super reviews. Again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
84
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Whilst the outside of this establishment does not look particularly attractive from the main road, the inside is completely different. The main entrance is at the side and leads into a small bar area with comfortable leather chairs. We were welcomed very warmly and shown to a lovely double room with a huge fully tiled bathroom. The shower pressure was very good, the water hot and toiletries good quality. Towels were beautiful - thick and soft. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Having a pre-dinner drink in the bar area, I noticed that the staff were very pleasant and everyone who entered was greeted with a smile and a 'good evening' so I am surprised at a previous reviewers opinion. Having looked at the menu we decided upon white wine and were offered the wine list to make our choice. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble and having travelled extensively I would rate the quality of the staff and the service they provided very highly.

The restaurant area was full and very busy with a large local party but service was swift. Our food (mussels and fish) was of very good quality and the cheeseboard and tiramisu generous.

Breakfast was a buffet selection of cereals, yoghurt, preserves etc following by a choice of eggs, full English breakfast, kippers, haddock. All cooked to order. The OJ was not too sweet and the coffee good.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Well, what can I say - thank you doesn't seem enough - but we do thank you very much for your detailed, very complimentary, review following your stay with us last month.
The Weary Ploughman Inn started life in 1860 as The Railway Hotel for the neighbouring railway station - from which now run steam trains during the holiday seasons - and was built to face the station. This means that the building is actually side-ways on to the main road and, as such, is not very attractive to the passers by. Having gradually up-graded the standards of the internal accommodation throughout, over the past few years, we are now in the early stages of planning for making some changes to improve the external appearance of the building and hope this will be completed by early next year.
We do have a super team working with us and they work hard to give our restaurant customers and over-night guests an enjoyable experience when they visit us, so we all do appreciate very much your kind comments. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked this hotel on as a last min getaway for My Birthday which is always a bit of a lottery !
This is a fantastic place ,Spacious well equipped room,Extremely helpful and friendly staff,Remarkable food. Nothing was too much trouble. They even brought in Mussels specially for my wife as they were not on the menu at that time.
We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family who regularly visit the area.
Well done The weary Ploughman.

Room Tip: Superior room top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your 'glowing' review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are pleased to know that you are telling your family and friends. We hope that they too will have just as an enjoyable stay with us as you did. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were visiting nearby Greenway and needed overnight accommodation before continuing our travels. The Weary Ploughman was ideally situated and everything about our stay was excellent.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Both our evening meal and breakfast were very tasty.
We would not hesitate to recommend The Weary Ploughman to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minibookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review following your stay at The Weary Ploughman Inn. We do try hard to give our overnight guests, and our restaurant customers, an enjoyable experience when they visit us, and we really appreciate your complimentary comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked very last minute. Were made very welcome. The room ( 4) was very spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was 1st class. Service was excellent,friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stop here again.







Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind comments following your stay with us. We really appreciated your review and are delighted that everything was to your liking. We all do try hard to give our over-night guests and restaurant customers and enjoyable experience when they visit The Weary Ploughman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

February is birthday month in our family- mine being at the end it's often difficult to find something different. Recently, I have been hearing good reports about the Weary Ploughman & decided to book a table for me & the family. What a fabulous meal! Living so near, I can't believe that I have never eaten here before. The staff, although busy, were very friendly & helpful. The steak was cooked to perfection & the desserts were devine on their slate platters. WELL DONE everyone. I'm all for supporting local businesses and we will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review which was very much appreciated by us all. We are pleased you had an enjoyable birthday meal at The Weary Ploughman and look forward to seeing you again.
We, too, support as many local suppliers as possible when we source our high quality ingredients for our freshly cooked meals - whether it be breakfast for our over-night guests or the lunches and dinners for our restaurant customers.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Having been past this place a lot over the years we decided to have lunch here.
What a lovely place it was. Wonderful decor in the pub/restaurant.

Food menu was lovely and a lot of good home cooked meals available with local produce. Staff were very friendly and warming.
When the food arrived it was fantastic. Also excellently presented.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review following your visit to our restaurant. We all really appreciate you taking the time and we do appreciate your complimentary comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churston Ferrers
1.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Ploughman Inn

Property: The Weary Ploughman Inn
Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham > Churston Ferrers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churston Ferrers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weary Ploughman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Ploughman was extensively refurbished to a very high standard over the last few years. Every room has been tasefully decorated and the ensuite bathrooms have been renewed, or in the case of room 3 - a shower room. All the furnishings are of a good quality and the beds renewed in July 2012. Each room has a 26" Sony flat-sceen Freeview television, hair-dryer and a large ceiling fan, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the first floor and we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Weary Ploughman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing