We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start to a short break!”

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Weary Ploughman Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good start to a short break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We got a very warm welcome from Simon who greeted us on our arrival, our room was spacious, clean and well equiped for a comfortable stay. We used the resturant in the evenings, food was excellent (credit to the chef) and the service "5 star!" by the friendly staff.
Breakfast in the morning-excellent! served once again by warm friendly staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, thank you all for making our visit an enjoyable experiance, we will be back when we are down this way again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thank for your kind review and awarding us 5 points. Our staff 'do us proud' and are a great bunch to work with. They work hard to give our overnight guests and restaurant customers an enjoyable experience and we're pleased to read that this was the case for you. When you next visit us you might like to try one of our Gourmet Pizzas - we have installed an Italian pizza oven and are making freshly made, top quality 'home-made' pizzas.
Once again, thank you for your complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
84
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here as soon as we were greeted by claire when we first arrived, it just got better we were able to check in early as are room was vacant the night before, and the room was amazing with a great walk in shower and lots of light.
We booked a table for dinner and this was the cherry on top we both thought the food was beautiful. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchell12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are always working hard towards our aim of giving our over-night guests and restaurant customers an enjoyable experience when they visit us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was our first return visit to the WP with friends for a couple of years and we were certainly
not disappointed.The welcome was warm and the Inn has been equipped and decorated to a high
standard. The menu for lunch/dinner had a great choice at a sensible price.The food itself was
very good and was enjoyed very much by all in our group.The Lord will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAKDAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you 'your lordship' for taking the time to write your very kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your return visit to us. Our aim is to give our customers/over-night guests a really enjoyable experience and we are glad all our hard work achieved this.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited the area 4 years ago and dined in the restaurant every night during our weeks stay. Therefore when we returned to the area this year we again frequented the restaurant on several occasions. Although the staff were excellent and very efficient, we did not find the meals reached the same high standard as on our previous visit. On wednesday evening the vegetables were very hard and did not appear to have been cooked at all, although they were fine on other nights. My wife found the gammon steak she had on Thursday evening to be very salty. Also no mussels were available and tiramisu was off the menu from Tuesday onwards. One of a group on the adjoining table complained at only getting one small sea bass filet when the menu stated filets. In the circumstances this seemed to be a justified complaint.
On our original visit the proprietor made a point of talking to the diners but he was not in evidence this time.
However having said all this still a place worth a visit and we would go again when holidaying in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed review of The Weary Ploughman restaurant.

As a note about the Mussels - we had experienced various problems in the past and now use just one supplier of MSC (Marine Sustainability Certificate) Mussels from the River Exe. I believe he had equipment problems at the time. Luckily, this was soon sorted out.

Thank you once again for your review, all your comments are appreciated. We do take all criticism seriously, as we are always trying to improve what we do, and have had discussions about the points you've raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Convenient location for touring with numerous must-visit attractions within easy reach.We were very pleased with our room, which was both spacious and spotless, and offered quality facilities. The plentiful breakfasts set us up for each day & we recommend the evening dinners, which were also of superb quality. We doubt you would get more enjoyable meals at any 4 or 5 star establishment ! The staff were all welcoming and friendly, highly efficient with good humour and are the strength of this super place. We shall return !!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 face the side & back, probably quieter than front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trev and Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of The Weary Ploughman Inn, and also for rating us with a 5. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
My wife and I are very proud of all our staff, they all work hard and get on well with each other and are good 'team players'. They enjoy their work and it comes out in the way they look after our over-night guests and restaurant customers.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family and I had a excellent meal, good service. Everything was piping hot and the fish pie was something to die for!! Even down to the carver chair which made it a great deal easier for my husband to get in and out of. Many thanks one again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanthechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review of The Weary Ploughman restaurant. We all try hard to give our customers, and over-night guests, an enjoyable experience and do appreciate reading that we have managed to do just that. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. very pleased with the room and the staff were very helpful. Good location only a short distance from both Brixham and Paignton. Restaurant meal was very good and reasonably priced.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lion98man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Weary Ploughman Inn. We all do appreciate knowing that we have looked after you well, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churston Ferrers
1.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Ploughman Inn

Property: The Weary Ploughman Inn
Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham > Churston Ferrers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churston Ferrers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weary Ploughman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Ploughman was extensively refurbished to a very high standard over the last few years. Every room has been tasefully decorated and the ensuite bathrooms have been renewed, or in the case of room 3 - a shower room. All the furnishings are of a good quality and the beds renewed in July 2012. Each room has a 26" Sony flat-sceen Freeview television, hair-dryer and a large ceiling fan, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the first floor and we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Weary Ploughman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing