We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden treasure!”

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Weary Ploughman Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a hidden treasure!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spotted this pub/restaurant from the road when travelling between Brixham and Paignton, and stopped on the off chance. What a find! Birthday treat for me, accompanied by hubby, my teenage daughter and her friend. Service was impeccable and the food outstanding. The desserts were so scrummy I ate my own then polished off my daughter's (well, it was my birthday). Prices were also reasonable, and will definitely return here next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you Heather B for your very kind comments and for taking the time to write a review for The Weary Ploughman, which is much appreciated. We are so pleased that we could make your birthday meal such an enjoyable memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
87
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every year in October we travel to Devon to see friends stopping at this wonderful venue.This time we had the additional celebration of my marriage and spent 4 nights here. Again Mike and his team could not make you more welcome ,all the staff are polite couteous and cannot do enough for you,The rooms are cosy with all the home from home comforts you would need.The restaurant appears to have upped its game even further and is extremely popular with visitors and locals alike,excellent quality,We also booked our wedding lunch here and a special mention must be given to Jodie who made her time ours and prepared everyyhing perfectly ,nothing was too much trouble and she certainly is a big plus to the team.Roll on next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you "postiejames" for your great review, we all really appreciate your kind comments. We were delighted that you stayed over for your wedding and are pleased that everything went so well. We look forward to seeing you next year and, once again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Bedrooms spacious, light and very clean. King size bed and large bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. We had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant and a very good breakfast, Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat128-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night after day at Dartmouth Food Festival. Lovely room, cleanliness excellent. The bathroom sparkled. Had a couple of drinks, background music not too loud and good choice. Food was excellent and the sticky toffee pudding best I have ever had. The staff were excellent, very pleasant girls serving us. Slept well and breakfast was superb and nothing was burnt or dripping in grease !!! Well worth the money and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was very impressed. Lovely clean, well appointed room, very friendy staff and the best bit - great food! The evening menu has some great selections and the quality of the cooking is second to none. Make sure you leave enough room for a very tasty breakfast the next day though!! Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone whether staying here on a business trip or with family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the weary ploughman from fri 19th oct till sun 21st, did we find the service, food and hospitality good? no, we found it superb, simon was very knowledgable on the local area the food was excellent and plenty of it. room was large and very clean as were all the areas of the premises. we will recommend the pub to anyone going to south devon and we will definatly going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Being a regular hotel user due to work, this has to be one of my favourite places to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the food is out of this world. The service was also outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNTravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churston Ferrers
1.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
716 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Ploughman Inn

Property: The Weary Ploughman Inn
Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham > Churston Ferrers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churston Ferrers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weary Ploughman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Ploughman was extensively refurbished to a very high standard over the last few years. Every room has been tasefully decorated and the ensuite bathrooms have been renewed, or in the case of room 3 - a shower room. All the furnishings are of a good quality and the beds renewed in July 2012. Each room has a 26" Sony flat-sceen Freeview television, hair-dryer and a large ceiling fan, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the first floor and we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Weary Ploughman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing