We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM overnight business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Most at home in Britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VFM overnight business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

A good budget hotel, on the outskirts of Nottingham and 5 mins from the M1. Free parking was an important factor choice. Only downside was the meal was a bit expensive but overall good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    179
    110
    45
    27
See reviews for
88
105
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OXFORDSHIRE
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

If you'd taken me in there blindfold I would have thought it was a run down Travel Lodge. None of us got much sleep and I got up next morning with an aching back because of the small, rather cheap beds. The breakfast was what you'd get from Morrisons only 5 times the price. I've previously used Holiday Inns because they're reliable and you pretty much know what you're going to get. Not this time. The rooms are small and, in January at least, the corridoors were freezing. When we wanted to make an enquiry about more bedding to reception they just replied "You'll have to wait until more staff come on" then banged the phone down.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEEKAYOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandiacre hotels

NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Okay stayed here for 3 nights Double + Sofa, a good tip here is ask for a room on the upper level which seems to be the refurbished rooms. We booked Bed, Breakfast and Dinner and found that a lot of the food on the set menu's was not available along with basic items like packs of butter for your bread roll.

The service was beyond bad over two hours for a 3 course meal of Soup, Fish& Chips and a slice of cake. If we hadn't already pre paid we would not have eaten there again the next night which was just as bad, the third night we had our meal in the bar thinking if we order a burger and a curry we might catch the ten o clock news after all it was only 6:30pm "WRONG" the burger came out cold and burnt something of a talent when you think about it.

Sent it back but couldn't eat it thinking of what extras may have been added to it since all the staff there seemed to be very young and seemed to take offense when I complained.

Breakfast wasn't much better stuff missing, no butter, pastries cold meats etc. Just got the impression that they had little stock on hand and what was being used wasn't fresh.

The room was okay (207) clean and tidy with everything you need, they have those annoying squeeze tubes in the bathrooms with gel instead of soaps and shampoo.

Front desk staff sorted out the TV being out of sync by re starting the system (every night) the parking barrier was broke so made the car park a little less secure and internet was a whooping £15 a day and no free WiFi in the public areas.

They are widneing the M1at the moment and the place seemed to be packed with construction workers which to be fair they didn't bother us as most of them had gone to bed before we had finished our dinner but you could hear them leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Checked in on a Sunday afternoon to stay for one night, receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. Bit of a hike to get to our room but once there the room was clean and comfortable. Decided to take a stroll to the bar while my partner watched the Wimbledon men's final, eventually got served after 15 minutes (there was nobody else waiting) and was a little shocked to be charged £3.95 for a pint of beer.

We decided to eat at the hotel in the evening and I treated my wife to a single G & T, no ice, no lemon available, not bad for £5.15. Ordered starters, waited half an hour for a prawn cocktail and some pate then another 40 minutes for some overcooked salmon with spuds and tinned tomatoes whist I tucked into some gravy soaked lasagne and limp lettuce, 40 quid plus 10% service charge, OK I suppose if you can book it on expenses (still vastly overpriced). Didn't moan to the staff, they were all youngsters and trying their best.

You may guess from my comments that I may not return but if I do, I will be eating elswhere.

Would be great to hear the thoughts of the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCheezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed here while visiting friends in nottingham and long eaton. It's a very nice, well appointed hotel, with big rooms and a nice restaurant and bar. Wifi is not included, however, and is rather expensive (15 pounds a day). The food served in the restaurant was adequate but not great by any means, and the breakfast was out of many items by the time we got there on both mornings.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stay in holiday inn's, holiday inn express's and crowne plaza hotels all under the same brand 3 times a month. We stayed here for Valentines weekend. The location is quiet and very good access to road links.

Unlike other reviews are hotel room was very modern, we had an executive room so that may be why? The decor was brown and reds and the lighting and furnishings were very up to date.

Look out for the holiday inn 2 for 1 offer, we got a great price.

Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em52mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed here as part of a Coach Tour for four ni. The rooms were good ,sadly no extractor fan working in the bathroom ,so the room quickly filled with steam and trying to put on makeup looking in a steamy mirror ,was interesting and we had to dry the towels on the chairs in the bedroom. My husband did complain and were told all the fans in the bathrooms were not at present working!
The breakfasts were good and the staff lovely. However at times for the evening meal nobody could find any staff. our evening meal was placed on warming trays and then ALL the staff vanished. We often had to help ourselves and at one meal we even cleared the tables. For one meal we had ,mashed potato, roast potato, boiled potato,potato twizzlers and caulifower as the vegetables! i wondered if we would all get scurvy as a variety of vegetables was not available. Price of beer was ridiculous and the evening meals ,stupid prices. So if staying ,go into Derby for your meals.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyMaylandEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandiacre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
5.2 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1

Property: Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Address: Bostocks Lane, Sandiacre NG10 5NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Sandiacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether planning a leisure break or business meeting the Holiday Inn Derby Nottingham M1 Jct 25 is ideally located at Junction 25 of the M1. The city of Nottingham is just 8 miles from the hotel and boasts a wealth of sporting activities including bowling, indoor cricket and ice-skating, visit Trent Bridge Cricket Club, Holme Pierrepoint Water Sports, Nottingham RaceCourse or the famous Ice Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham m1 Hotel Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 Sandiacre, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing