We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Stop off”
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Have stopped overnight here on a number of occasions while on business. It's nice and handy being just off the M1 junction 25 at Nottingham but far enough away to be peaceful.

The hotel itself is of the older style but is kept clean and tidy. Rooms are generally in good order as well.

Service in the restaurant can be a bit hit and miss while the food is presentable if a little expensive. For a bite to eat my personal favourtite is to go into Stapleford and get an Indian.

  • Liked — Close to M1
  • Disliked — Not much really just an OK hotel
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pgreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    184
    110
    45
    27
See reviews for
92
108
35
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen. England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

This was a good base when travelling to a family wedding in Derby. We booked 2 standard double rooms, a single room and an accessible room.

The location adjacent to M1 between Derby and Nottingham is good - an older Holiday Inn with some refurbishments.

The accessible room was modern and large with a huge bathroom fitted with all the usual grab rails etc. Our double room was OK - modern but smaller than other Holiday Inn rooms we have stayed in in UK. The wooden shutters were very effective at making room dark. The single was small but OK.

Grounds and car parking OK - reception staff helpful.

The big problem was service at breakfast time on the Sunday. Painfully slow service - had to wait for plates, for bread, for refills of bacon sausage etc, for fresh fruit and for coffee refills. The few staff on duty were pleasant but rushed off their feet so long waits were inevitable. Good food when you eventually got it. Breakfast on Monday was slightly better - more staff even though less customers.

This is the third HI we have stayed at this year and by far the worst service. Price started at £39 per night for double with breakfast - but we paid more for the single room because we booked that later.

SO if you get a good price and want a hotel in that location - try it but be prepared for a slow breakfast.

  • Liked — Location handy for Derby, Nottingham and M1
  • Disliked — Poor service at breajkfast time
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

£39 for the two of us including breakfast. Well what would you expect?
What we got was a beautifully re-furbished hotel in nice grounds just a stone's throw from J25 on the M1. Lovely big room and the usual super breakfast.
Perhaps reception staff could have been a bit friendlier but hey for £39 for double B and B I'll put up with quite a lot.
I have no doubt we will be staying there again as we travel up and down the M1.

  • Liked — nice big room
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank colmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We came back from this hotel today after our one night stay, was a little aprehesive after reading the reviews but was fine,
We only paid £39 inc breakfast for the 2 of us, it was used as a base only.

We were in room 118 was quite small but clean enough, and had a great nights sleep, bathroom on the very small side, but adequate,

The Breakfast was fine, took 2 attempts to get some Tea, but we ordered a poached egg and was fine.

All in all was a fine stay.

Michelle & Steve

  • Liked — Free Carparking!
  • Disliked — small bathroom - to be picky!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

This was a pleasent hotel. The staff were really nice and friendly, we had no problems with anything and it was very clean. Breakfast was served untill 11am and was good. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The room had everything you require for a 3 star hotel and was clean. I had a double bed, desk, TV, ensuite etc..
There was internet access but I didn't use it as I think it was around £15 for 24hours.
I had a problem with the radiator not switching off, but without any issue they moved me to another room and all was ok.
I dined in the restaurant and the food was ok and hot with plenty of selection for any taste.. not too expensive.. I paid around £12 for a main course..but there were cheaper dishes like pasta etc..
Room service was available if you wanted it.
I had breakfast included in my room deal and it had a good fresh selection of hot and cold food.
It is a good location easy to find just off the M1 motorway.
No problem with check in and check out.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Stayed here for three nights on business.

I arrived late on Sunday night to find the lobby and reception area deserted. After a few minutes wait a gentleman arrived and tried to check me in. It quickly became apparent he was not the receptionist as he struggled. Eventually the receptionist arrived, back from the loo I was told, and proceeded to check me in. Despite being a Priority Club Platanum member I had a to ask for an upgrade.

Executive Room was acceptable. Although the hotel has reportedly just been renovated, there were areas which were already appearing slighly shabby. The TV buzzed very loudly except when on BBC 1, 2 or ITV 1.

I had room service on two nights and this was the usual fair but the service was very good and friendly.

All in all, I've stayed in better but also worse.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank GeordieEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandiacre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#16 of 49 in Nottingham
672 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1

Property: Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Address: Bostocks Lane, Sandiacre NG10 5NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Sandiacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether planning a leisure break or business meeting the Holiday Inn Derby Nottingham M1 Jct 25 is ideally located at Junction 25 of the M1. The city of Nottingham is just 8 miles from the hotel and boasts a wealth of sporting activities including bowling, indoor cricket and ice-skating, visit Trent Bridge Cricket Club, Holme Pierrepoint Water Sports, Nottingham RaceCourse or the famous Ice Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham m1 Hotel Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 Sandiacre, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing