We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked two double rooms bed breakfast & evening meal for a one night stay. The hotel is superbly located and the staff were efficient and friendly. The rooms were well equipped, clean, & comfortable. The meals were excellent and all four of us would certainly use this hotel again. The lounge area was plain but adequate, but at the price we paid this is an excellent value for money hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two levels and you need to book an upper floor room if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 565 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Sure, if you want to be dazzled by facilities, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a hotel where the staff is incredibly responsive and helpful, stay here. On arrival, we realized that the allocated room would pose problems for my disabled mum. The receptionist shifted us into another room. Each request we made was met with efficiency and kindness.
The breakfast was the best I have ever eaten in a hotel: tasty, hot, and plentiful. The dining room staff at breakfast was delightful! And check out the pancake machine.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is yet another entirely tidy, clean, and boring well kept Holiday Inn.

Not that boring is bad. Well kept, efficient staff, quiet bar. Absolutely everything you need for a good business stay and a sound nights sleep. This place does what it says on the tin, and at a reasonable price. I've stayed in more tired HI's for more cash, step forward HI M1 Sheffield/Rotherham!

It's a short drive from the historic city of Nottingham but frankly the city centre has lots of options including its own, more modern HI and a spanking new HI Express. As a result this lives on the margins, but if you can't find a city centre place or need a stopover en route you'll find this a good option choice.

For IHG program members I was upgraded from a single to a twin, and given the option of either 500 points or a drink plus snack in the bar, so recognition for the program is a strong plus here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your constructive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is in a lovely quiet position, no passing traffic plenty of trees and greenery, like being in the country. Reception lady was so kind in sorting a problem for us , with no fuss. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a choice of pillows and nice shampoos ect. We had a peaceful nights sleep and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: End of corridor no one passes door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments which will be shared with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I appreciate other reviewers have marked down this hotel and commented on its physical appearance..and I wont disagree is lacks some panache and atmosphere but........I stayed here on business with some colleagues..the rooms (even my single) were comfortable, clean, not shabby and all 6 people commented n the quality of sleep. Then the staff...everyone on them frm reception to bar to breakfast were great..welcoming, helpful and lightened the place greatly....even when a lager was dropped on us ;-) accidents happen and it was cleared and new drinks brought. Credit to holiday inn and made the difference and the food was very good too decent choice, good taste not bland and reasonably priced for hotel.
Would I stay here again...definitely.
Could they do something better? 21st century holiday inn....free wifi...c'mon !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the most uninspiring and dull hotel I have ever stayed in.

The exterior is totally unappealing; it looks depressing. Something between army barracks and clinic of the 60s. The picture in the IHG website gives some clues but one can never expect it to be that cold and impersonal!

The interior is also exhibiting the same lack of imagination when it comes to decoration and layout.With the exception of the lobby and restaurant which seem to have been recently modernised, the rest of the spaces were equally dull: winding mazes of clinical corridors, plain creme walls and doors (at times cannot tell the difference...).

I stayed in a spacious double room with a sofa (Room 118). Sofa and armchair very dirty, dusty and badly stained, I avoided using throughout my stay. The furniture looked a bit tired. The bathroom suite old fashioned and dated (white goods, white tiles, with some black mold on the grouting, leaking bathtub, dripping shower, very narrow). Creme flaking wallpapers in the room this time! The towels seemed to have passed their expiry date!

The only good things I found about the hotel were:
- the HD TV in the room
- the bed, which is comfortable (typical of HI)
- the surroundings which are very quiet (and this is a stone's throw from the M1).
- recognition of priority club status.

The restaurant offers a limited menu; not bad, at least some imagination there, for a change. Portions are frugal, dishes are a bit on the pricey side. Not much variety on the draft drinks front either. Also pricey; I was astonished at the £7.95 for a glass of red.

I wish to feel like home when away from home and this hotel failed in this department, so I will avoid staying there again. In fact, had I not pre-paid I would have gone from the very first night. There seems to be standard clientelle using the hotel, which makes me wonder whether my room was the very odd exception of all.

Sorry HI Jct 25 for the negative review, respectfully I will not be visiting you again.

Room Tip: The internet prices are extremely pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moslit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Many thanks for leaving your review and for your constructive feedback. Your observations have been passed to our Management Team for review and discussion. We hope that, despite the shortfalls, you will continue to use InterContinental Hotels and thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. We stayed overnight again because of our good experience the first time. Again we were travelling with our grandson who is now 4 years old and were not disappointed. We ate in the lounge from the bar menu and enjoyed our food and good quality wine. But what makes this hotel stand out is the exceptional care taken by the staff to make our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments which will be shared with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandiacre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
386 reviews
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
380 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1

Address: Bostocks Lane, Sandiacre NG10 5NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Sandiacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Price Range: $64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether planning a leisure break or business meeting the Holiday Inn Derby Nottingham M1 Jct 25 is ideally located at Junction 25 of the M1. The city of Nottingham is just 8 miles from the hotel and boasts a wealth of sporting activities including bowling, indoor cricket and ice-skating, visit Trent Bridge Cricket Club, Holme Pierrepoint Water Sports, Nottingham RaceCourse or the famous Ice Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham m1 Hotel Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 Sandiacre, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing