We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is in a lovely quiet position, no passing traffic plenty of trees and greenery, like being in the country. Reception lady was so kind in sorting a problem for us , with no fuss. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a choice of pillows and nice shampoos ect. We had a peaceful nights sleep and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: End of corridor no one passes door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments which will be shared with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    179
    110
    45
    27
See reviews for
88
105
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I appreciate other reviewers have marked down this hotel and commented on its physical appearance..and I wont disagree is lacks some panache and atmosphere but........I stayed here on business with some colleagues..the rooms (even my single) were comfortable, clean, not shabby and all 6 people commented n the quality of sleep. Then the staff...everyone on them frm reception to bar to breakfast were great..welcoming, helpful and lightened the place greatly....even when a lager was dropped on us ;-) accidents happen and it was cleared and new drinks brought. Credit to holiday inn and made the difference and the food was very good too decent choice, good taste not bland and reasonably priced for hotel.
Would I stay here again...definitely.
Could they do something better? 21st century holiday inn....free wifi...c'mon !

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the most uninspiring and dull hotel I have ever stayed in.

The exterior is totally unappealing; it looks depressing. Something between army barracks and clinic of the 60s. The picture in the IHG website gives some clues but one can never expect it to be that cold and impersonal!

The interior is also exhibiting the same lack of imagination when it comes to decoration and layout.With the exception of the lobby and restaurant which seem to have been recently modernised, the rest of the spaces were equally dull: winding mazes of clinical corridors, plain creme walls and doors (at times cannot tell the difference...).

I stayed in a spacious double room with a sofa (Room 118). Sofa and armchair very dirty, dusty and badly stained, I avoided using throughout my stay. The furniture looked a bit tired. The bathroom suite old fashioned and dated (white goods, white tiles, with some black mold on the grouting, leaking bathtub, dripping shower, very narrow). Creme flaking wallpapers in the room this time! The towels seemed to have passed their expiry date!

The only good things I found about the hotel were:
- the HD TV in the room
- the bed, which is comfortable (typical of HI)
- the surroundings which are very quiet (and this is a stone's throw from the M1).
- recognition of priority club status.

The restaurant offers a limited menu; not bad, at least some imagination there, for a change. Portions are frugal, dishes are a bit on the pricey side. Not much variety on the draft drinks front either. Also pricey; I was astonished at the £7.95 for a glass of red.

I wish to feel like home when away from home and this hotel failed in this department, so I will avoid staying there again. In fact, had I not pre-paid I would have gone from the very first night. There seems to be standard clientelle using the hotel, which makes me wonder whether my room was the very odd exception of all.

Sorry HI Jct 25 for the negative review, respectfully I will not be visiting you again.

Room Tip: The internet prices are extremely pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moslit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your review and for your constructive feedback. Your observations have been passed to our Management Team for review and discussion. We hope that, despite the shortfalls, you will continue to use InterContinental Hotels and thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandiacre hotels

Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. We stayed overnight again because of our good experience the first time. Again we were travelling with our grandson who is now 4 years old and were not disappointed. We ate in the lounge from the bar menu and enjoyed our food and good quality wine. But what makes this hotel stand out is the exceptional care taken by the staff to make our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments which will be shared with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here overnight en-route to Legoland. From the receptionist to the bar staff everyone was friendly and efficient. Our 9 year old split my glass of Red in the Bar - without hesitation it was cleaned up, my glass refilled free of charge. The food in the restaurant was lovely, hot and tasty and the Restaurant Manager knew our little one wanted to sit in a booth, again without asking he sat us there, its the little persoanl touches that made it a lovelt stay for us. Plus a school group were staying overnight and we were advised what time to avoid breakfast - perfect service.
The room for the 3 of us us was great, we loved the wooden shutters rather than curtains, no light in at all - slept soundly. Tea & Coffee, always a plus for us, choice of pillows and a very comfotable bed-settee for the child, yes the bathroom is small, but how long do you spend in a bathroom! The shower was lovely, the toiletries supplied were fine and plenty of hot water.
To be honest we are already looking for an excuse to come and stay again, we felt well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service and your comments will be shared with our team. I do hope that you will "find an excuse" to stay with us again and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Monday 20th May 2013, room 143, hotel reception was fast and efficient, the bridge and corridors are in need of modernisation as they look tired now. The room itself was comfortable, nice relaxing bed, and the room was very well laid out and functional. The bathroom was very very small, the shower was a good powerful one and the hotel has tried to cater for guests in regards to soap and shower gel. The wifi is a total rip off, come on holiday inn get your act together is it really that important to rip off guests, Premier inn charge £3.00 for 24 hours connection. I used to stay all the time in the holiday inn but it is starting to be beaten by the likes of Premier inn I think for quality, comfort and value for money as a business traveler.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback has been passed to our Management team for review and discussion. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel met our needs for the weekend. The room was big enough to accommodate three of us without a problem (we booked the exec for not much more than standard family room). The double bed was very clean and comfortable and as always we had a choice of pillows. We didn't go a bundle on the bathroom as it was a bit cramped.

The staff were very attentive and helpful. On the Saturday morning breakfast was very hectic and various items of food were in short supply. However, the staff did their best to sort it out and the wait was not too long.

We would stay here again, if necessary, recommend this hotel for a short stopover as it is conveniently situated off junction 25 of the M1

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Grice, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay. Your comments regarding your breakfast experience have been passed to both our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef for review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandiacre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
5.2 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1

Property: Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Address: Bostocks Lane, Sandiacre NG10 5NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Sandiacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether planning a leisure break or business meeting the Holiday Inn Derby Nottingham M1 Jct 25 is ideally located at Junction 25 of the M1. The city of Nottingham is just 8 miles from the hotel and boasts a wealth of sporting activities including bowling, indoor cricket and ice-skating, visit Trent Bridge Cricket Club, Holme Pierrepoint Water Sports, Nottingham RaceCourse or the famous Ice Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham m1 Hotel Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 Sandiacre, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing