We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

A lot of history dating back to the 13th century . There is not much left in the house at the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Phil570
,
Bolton, United Kingdom
Lovely Orchards

The orchards and gardens were splendid. It was very interesting to see how the orchards were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DWoollyTraveller
,
Saint Albans, Vermont
Read all 330 reviews
  
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
162
130
30
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
162
130
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water mill herb garden woodland walk national trust property apple trees tea room wildlife hide old mill flour mill nt property wild garlic worth a visit interesting visit guided tour of the house formal gardens courtyard cafe car parking is
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sadly our time at Acorn Bank was limited. The gardens are beautifully kept and we found lots of different things to admire. I have never seen so many different herbs, categorized by their reputed applications. I love cranesbills (true geraniums) and was pleased to see so many different ones. We will have to visit again.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We included Acorn Bank in a tour of historic sites in the area.

This national trust property is a work in progress but has a number of points of interest.

The woodland trail is well thought out with plenty of quirky points of interest for families.

The watermill has been restored.

There is a small gypsum mine too but we didn't visit that.

The gardens are well maintained and it looks as if further restoration is planned for the future.

At present the house is something of a shell, only certain rooms are open but I'm guesing that securing the outer fabric is the current priority and restoration of the interior will follow.

There is a pleasant cafe.

Well worth a visit if touring in the area and it will be interesting to see the restoration progress in the next couple of years.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Having visited this interesting house and grounds complete with working water mill and drift mine plus gardens once before and found it interesting decided to revisit it as the weather was undecided what to do, special point is that the woodlands areas allow dogs but assistance dogs only allowed inside the house and gardens there is a Cafe/tea room with good opening hours and friendly staff , a bookshop,second hand book shop sale points for plants raised on site also produce from the gardens . There are also a small number of apartments which can be hired .the costs of ad mission to the property/grounds is
Adult £8.80
Child£4.40
Family £22,00(family 1 adult-2 children -£13,20
National Trust members Free Entry Membership of National trust (on web site)
.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bobsnrwickings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

We took our 4 year old around the walk and it was lovely. The fairy houses are such an exciting find for little ones.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank HethT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

While heading toward Scotland, we spied the brown signed announcing Acorn Bank and decided to visit. It turned out to be a great afternoon. Lovely house, beautiful tranquil gardens, a nice tea room and a working mill. While the interior of the house is under renovation, the traditional garden is unbelievably peaceful and colorful. A section of it includes over 100 varieties of apple trees. The mill, staffed by devoted volunteers was a real highlight. It's a bit of a walk from the house but well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews