We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Stop over visit enroute north.

Really interesting place to have a quick look around. Lovely walk through the woods and see the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wendover6688
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Local day trip

Acorn Bank is a lovely location for walks at any time of year. Lovely old house with interesting... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
John R
,
Penrith, United Kingdom
Read all 282 reviews
  
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
138
111
25
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
111
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water mill herb garden woodland walk national trust property old mill apple trees tea room nt property wildlife hide bird feeders wild garlic worth a visit usual nt delightful place interesting visit formal gardens car parking is
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really interesting place to have a quick look around. Lovely walk through the woods and see the water wheel and the gardens. We saw a few birds we hadn't seen before as well which was a bonus. We didn't tour the house but it looked interesting. Perhaps next time.

Thank wendover6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Acorn Bank is a lovely location for walks at any time of year. Lovely old house with interesting history and gardens. Woodland walk to old corn mill that is being restored. Good for coffee and cake or light lunch. A National Trust property

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This might be my favourite place... We so enjoyed the woodland walk, the staff were all so friendly and helpful and the more formal gardens were really beautiful to wander through. We also learnt so much and the kids really enjoyed running around, even on a wet and windy day. The tea room was a little small but the cake was delicious.

Thank TheFrugalFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just discovered this National Trust property east of Penrith. Lovely gardens but over 100 varieties of apples grown here. We expected more apple based products to be available to buy but that may be in the pipeline for the future. Lots to see including the working flour mill and the house which is currently being renovated. The tea room is lovely with the usual high quality food served that you expect from the N/T. Good parking a little walk from the entrance to the property. Guided tours available including one on the subject of plant dyes for clothes. Well worth a visit. Allow at least half a day. Walk through the woods to see mining works and wild life observation hide.

Thank masumallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is something irresistible about this National Trust property in the Eden Valley in Cumbria. There are some magnificent countryside views and the house itself is beginning to reveal more of its secrets. The main attraction though is the amazing collection of primarily apple trees with somewhere in the region of 170 different varieties. When we visited in September, the trees were laden with fruit with each tree clearly labeled. There are well known varieties and some lesser known ones and the orchards looked an absolute picture. The volunteer staff were friendly and helpful and only too willing to talk about different varieties of apple and some pear. Apples can be bought in the shop.
There is a wonderful herb garden to explore again with all the different herbs clearly labeled. There is a very useful guide available in the herb garden.
The borders were still giving plenty of colour and its worth exploring the area with the pond...some interesting wildlife can be spotted here.
There is a good walk down to the old mill which is working on some days. Afterwards, refueling can take place in the excellent cafe where there is a good selection of cakes of the "must eat me" variety.

Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Acorn bank and was disappointed as only two rooms were open, there was nobody in the mill to explain about it's history. Which is a shame as the site goes back to the 13th Century.
The house has a very good history and there is a film running telling you about its history. When you walk around the property see if you can find the 'Mouseman's' Door.
Early Autumn to see the grounds at its best

Thank Tad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Found this on the National Trust app and didn't know what to expect but it exceeded our expectations, we walked around the house and the gardens and orchards and then walked to The Mill, we spent an enjoyable couple of hours here and really enjoyed it.

Thank MinnieM1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Called in for a break on our way to the Lake District. Lovely tea, coffee and cakes followed by a look round the gardens and a walk down to the river.

Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Pleasant gardens with orchard of apples and pears. Nice walk to watermill and good views. House had little to see and it's difficult to imagine what the National Trust plan to do with the property.

Thank Pzvisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

fantastic walking trail around the gardens and down to the mill, a few garden games at the start to get you in the mood, lovely fairy houses dotted around the woods and plenty of things to keep people of all ages entertained! lovely formal gardens, really well maintained. unfortunately we didn't get to see the house as there were only 2 tours that day and we didn't know that you had to be on a tour to view the house.

Thank 442jakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews