We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greenhead Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crook
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We only stayed here one night along our way but would happily stay here again. Lovely setting, quiet and peaceful, very friendly reception from Paul, great breakfast. Good value and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were welcomed by Paul as soon as we pulled up in the drive to the Greenhead Country house, as we were attending a surprise 50th birthday surprise party in Crook later on in the evening. We had travelled from North Yorkshire and it was lovely to be greeted by such warmth hospitality, the room was lovely and there were more than enough amenities in them. Paul arranged a taxi for us to take us in to Crook and the next morning we ate a very good breakfast. It was such a shame to leave shortly afterwards as we had to get home, but we would definitely book to stay again. We shall return to the Greenhead County house when we return to visit family. 10 out 10

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine Beadl... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What nice people , they couldn't do enough for us and our friends , I would stay there again if our travels take us that way , the rooms are very clean with all you need in them , the breakfast will suit everybody , fantastic , 10 out of 10 .

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the occasion to stay at the Greenhead for 5 nights while visiting friends and sites around Durham and northern England. It was recommended to us by our friends who live locally. Our entire experience was friendly, high-quality, and high-value. We will stay again and highly recommend it.

Correspondence to reserve our two rooms was easy and efficient. We arrived late on a Friday evening (9pm). The co-owner, Paul, greeted us personally and in a fashion more like receiving family friends than business guests. Without our asking, he had arranged our two rooms to be right across the hall from each other, perfect for a family of three.

The house itself is well-maintained and country elegant. The lower floor includes a sunny dining and reception area. Adjacent to that is a truly lovely keeping room with a gorgeous fireplace with a beautiful wood stove, overstuffed chairs and tasteful furnishings. It is precisely the vision one expects when one thinks of an English country house. We had coffee several mornings in this room after breakfast. At the other end of the space beyond the fireplace is a small pub area (for guests only) with a proper collection of spirits and several more seats. While we didn't partake, it would have been a perfect location for a day's-end beverage.

Our rooms were right at the top of the stairs off the dining area. We had a double and a single. Both rooms offered en suite facilities and were decorated in traditional English country style - tasteful wallpapers, pastel paint colors, deep cove mouldings, good amounts of storage and armoire space. Lighting was good and windows could be opened for ventilation. They also provided a blessedly simple alarm clock - no bizarre docking stations, ambiguous buttons or other silliness than chain hotels insist on providing of late. The internet wifi was speedy, free and easy to configure. Beds were comfortable, extra pillows provided. And the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

The breakfast at the Greenhead has been spoken of in other reviews and, in fact, has won several awards in recent years. Paul's wife and the inn's co-owner, Ann, produces the meals. They are every bit as excellent as has been said. The quality is consistent...every one of our five mornings was started with an excellent English breakfast including a selection of cereals, fruit, various types of toast, eggs with proper fried bread, thick bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes and tomatoes. A broad selection of marmalade and jams are provided. Tea, coffee and juice also. And it should be noted that Paul and Ann tweak the offerings for each guest. My wife, a vegetarian, received extra delicious eggs in place of ham and sausage. And for our 10 year old, the happily did scrambled eggs. Breakfast timing was also at our option, not mandated by them. 8:30am worked just fine.

Paul also provided tons of information on local sites we mentioned, and numerous interesting back stories. He was a delight, with sonorous voice and a hearty sense of humor. It's also important to note that while he was ubiquitous - always available - the owners were never intrusive. The balance was just right. They also accommodated our 10 year old beautifully.

The house is set right along a small road, so there is a bit of very occasional road noise if windows are open. There are lovely gardens in back and parking is easy and ample. There are signs along the road prior to arrival, so it's easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently stayed at The Greenhead Country House Hotel near Crook in County Durham. The hotel is run by Ann and Paul who are a lovely friendly couple who made me feel extremely welcome. The hotel itself is quintessentially traditionally English and it was a nice to stay somewhere with a homely feel rather than a hotel chain with no personal touch. Ann and Paul cook a great 'Full English' breakfast and they also offer a plethora of cereals for the more health conscious guest. The rooms have TV and WiFi access, and are warm and homely. The area is quiet and peaceful, but still within walking distance of a couple of pubs/restaurants. I had a great stay and I would recommend the Greenhead Country House to anyone who is visiting the area on business or courses. Regards, Jonathan

Room Tip: Access to some rooms is via a winding metal staircase so perhaps a ground floor room may be required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We picked the Greenhead Hotel out of the blue when the need arose to stay overnight in the Vicinity of Crokk.

If we had searched for a week I do not think we could have found any place nicer, more comfortable, well appointed and so quiet. The owners have renovated a truly beautiful property in excellent taste and in perfect harmony with it's history

The breakfast desreves a paragraph on it's own, perfectly cooked and served locally sourced ingredients, even what was denoted a "small" serving was enough to keep us going all day!

A perfect place to hideaway and visit the local attractions at your leisure

Room Tip: The twin bedded room on the ground floor has a huge picture window overlooking the cottage garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stafford592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very elegant and comfortable house, friendly welcome, and wonderful breakfast. Garden was so peaceful to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Great service from owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crook hotels
3.1 mi away
The Quarry Burn Guest House & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
The Crook Hotel
The Crook Hotel
#5 of 6 in Crook
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhead Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhead Country House

Address: Fir Tree | County Durham, Crook DL15 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crook
Price Range: $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hotel with all en-suite bedrooms restricted to resident guests. Ten miles from Durham Cathedral situated in "Area of outstanding natural Beauty" on Main A68 York-Edinburgh route. Visit Britain 4 Star Rating. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing