We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of The Colliery - CLOSED

The Colliery
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Today I had lunch with my hubby and two friends. Nice warm welcome on arrival food first class good selection,and well priced 2 meals for £10.served by friendly and cheerfull staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thank you so much for this great review we are pleased you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon!

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love this place..

Cold November at around 5pm. Walking in being instantly recognised and greeted, the surroundings
are warm and welcoming. Customer service. Which is key for any establishment. This country side restaurant were exceptional! To the bar staff and to the waiter. The food was amazing, portion was great and timing was almost seamless between courses!. Would recommend this place for everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne_Hannah3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We thank you for your 5 star review and will pass on your kind words, we work very hard to make your visit a very enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“worse than ever”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i only recommend closing this one down...
food terrible..
service rubbish and run by some bloke who keeps interupting you whilst you eat...
not recommended...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank cantona777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, General Manager at The Colliery, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
it is clear from your reviews of all the crook food venues you are not a fan of any of them except your own maybe?

we work hard here to delight our guests time and time again, we serve hundreds of meals every week and to returning guests who if we served rubbish food would not return

you seem to enjoy your food abroad so we suggest you go where you enjoy it sir!!!

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Treat”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

October 15th 2012 Me and my wife had gone to the colliery for our anniversary and I must state that the overall quality of the food and the great hospitality of our young waitress was bar none a delight. We both ordered from the menu and each had the lasagne, needless to say it was the best tasting dish I have ever had the pleasure of eating, great value for money and we also had a cheesecake which I presume were home made as it was outstanding. Will definitely be back to try the specials next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matandsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, General Manager at The Colliery, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for your 5 stars the staff try their hardest to so a nice remark means the world to them and us as owners so thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eating in Crook”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hospitality very good; food good but decor lacking and uninspiring and looked a bit tired and run down

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colliery also viewed

Crook, County Durham
Crook, County Durham
 
Crook, County Durham
Crook, County Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing