We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

The Foresters Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foresters Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Crook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

a warm welcome by staff,also owners Denise & Jim , we only stayed one night,would have liked to stayed longer, what a great place, very clean and comfortable, breakfast was fantastic it set us up for the day, we will be returning to sample sunday lunch.

Room Tip: we stayed in room one, spacious nice decor and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udnpudn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here at the beginning of Nov. for our Ruby wedding anniversary and loved every moment. Like home from home and made to feel most welcome. The room we had was excellent with lovely views, very clean and welcoming.
Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection. Evening meals very, very nice indeed.

Will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 74Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Foresters Guest House. We stayed for two nights in September.

It's a wonderful place to stay. Denise and Jim are lovely friendly people very helpful and make you feel welcome in their home. The staff are also really nice friendly and helpful.
The place is lovely and clean, and decorated to a very high standard.

The food - well this is superb. The evening meals, we ate there both nights we stayed were fantastic and really good value. The breakfasts we had both mornings were also delicious.

I can't recommend this lovely place enough and we will definitely stay there again, if we are in the area.

Good value, a lovely place and lovely friendly people.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was a family room with a connecting door. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable weeks stay. We were visiting relatives in the area and they recommended The Foresters Arms. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. They offer an extensive and very appetising breakfast menu. We also had several evening meals including their very popular Sunday roast. It is such a shame we live nearly 300 miles away otherwise we would definitely be making a regular booking. Thanks again to Denise and Jim, will most certainly recommend The Foresters to friends and relatives wishing to visit Durham.

Room Tip: Room 2 was by far the largest. Five foot very comfortable bed and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kent37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our first time to The Foresters and hopefully not the last. We stayed 3 nights and everything was fabulous. Absolutely spot on! Great food in the restaurant and cosy, chic little bar. Denise and Jim are the perfect hosts. Our room was probably the most spacious we have ever stayed in...clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely little place. We were recommended to stay as we're were attending a wedding at Crook golf club and we needed a b&b. The rooms were lovely (loving the Laura Ashley wallpaper!), very clean and very comfortable. The owners were spot on, very welcoming and helpful (couldn't do enough for you). The breakfast was the best I have had in a long time and couldn't be faulted in any way.
Really canny place for lots of reasons and fab owners, will certainly return if I need a b&b in the area again but will certainly be venturing there at some point to sample some more food! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah210021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The second time we have stayed at The Foresters, when visiting relatives in the area.
We are sure it will not be the last, as it is everything you could possibly want in a top class B&B.
Denise and Jim are superb Hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are excellent and the food even better. Sunday lunch was spot on and plenty of it, and the breakfasts were first class and again very filling. Look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgibbon830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
4.4 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
79 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crook Hotel
The Crook Hotel
#4 of 5 in Crook
17 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quarry Burn Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foresters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foresters Guest House

Property: The Foresters Guest House
Address: 7 Railway Terrace | Stanley, Crook DL15 9RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresters is conveniently situated to allow easy access to many places of interest in the North East of England. We are truly at the gateway of the beautiful Weardale and only a short distance to many historic delights including the ancient city of Durham with the twin spectacle of Durham Cathedral and Castle. This licensed guest house is new to the market in Autumn 2010. The en-suite bedrooms all have televisions, bathrobes and tea/coffee making facilities, most enjoy panoramic views of the local countryside. A full English breakfast is included in the price with all produce being locally sourced where possible. Evening meals are available. Adjacent to the guest house is the Deerness Valley walkway, providing the ideal opportunity to enjoy the local countryside. These extensive trailways are popular with walkers and cyclists alike. Secure storage for bicycles is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing