We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Crook B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a short break at Dowfold house & were lucky to pick a weekend of lovely weather. The hosts were friendly & helpful, the room spacious, very clean (& with lots of little extra touches such as fresh flowers, mints & an unusually good choice of drinks), the bed comfortable, breakfast excellent & information about the area plentiful. There is lots to do in the area & we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much. Needless to say, we agree with every word! we're also gratified that you wrote positive reviews for the Colliery pub and the Red Lion restaurant, which are the two eateries most used by our guests, and which we ourselves recommend. Much more of this and we'll have to appoint you as official Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
70
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent 3 nights here again this week and wish it could have been longer. Such good hosts and helpful when my daughter came to visit - excellent provision of coffee and goodies in the lounge - just what we needed. Look forward to my next visit - wouldn't stay anywhere else. 11/10

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Well, thank you. It's always a pleasure for us to see you, and we were very glad to be able to help with your meeting your daughter. It helps us feel good too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for one night - two adults, one child, one dog - and found everything to be as good as could ever be expected. The room was very nicely presented and clean; the garden is lovely, with a spectacular view over Crook, and includes an old tyre swing which our 8-year old boy enjoyed playing on. The hosts are friendly and polite, but also happy to leave you to yourselves when appropriate. The breakfast was excellent - not just a very well-cooked bacon, eggs etc, but also a really nice fresh fruit salad. Would definitely book again if we need somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Well, thank you very much. I think you highlight an important point in the host/guest relationship. The host should be friendly, and always polite, but never forget that the guest has his/her own context for being there. It is too easy to overstep the mark and move from helpful to intrusive, and we're very aware of that balancing act. Clearly, here, we got it right and I'm very pleased that we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This really is a fantastic B+B. A very warm welcome into a beautiful house. The rooms are large and comfortable with absolutely everything you'll need during your stay. The home made breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were so friendly (including Raffy the sprocker puppy!). During our stay Jill and Rupert genuinely went above and beyond to ensure our time in Crook was enjoyable from checking weather forecasts, suggesting local attractions and talking motorsport! We cannot recommend Dowfold house highly enough and we'll definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: All beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
As always, a pleasure to have you to stay. Raffie (the puppy) is proving to be a bit of a star; trouble is, he's getting a swollen head and now wants to go on the payroll! I'm glad you appreciated the little extra help we were able to give you; we like doing it and it just helps the whole relationship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Dowfold House whilst visiting family in the North East. I can honestly say that it is one of the nicest, most comfortable guest houses we have stayes in. We had a lovely, personal welcome when we arrived and the room we were given was large, light and spotlessly clean. We slept well and even loved the pillows so much, we bought our own when we got back! We are planning a return trip to the NE soon and will not look for any other B & B as we will definitely be looking to book a room at Dowfold House.
Thank you so much to Jill and Rupert for making us feel so welcome

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks, Robbyn, for your kind words. We have had people dismantle the bed to find out about the mattress in order to order one for themselves, but buying the pillows is a new one! Spotlessly clean we see as a minimum; we simply could not turn out a less than pristine room, and I'm so glad you appreciated the welcome. A nice cup of tea and some home-made biscuits on arrival make all the difference, we find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed a week at Dowfold House along with our dog who appreciated the garden and welcome greeting from our hosts. We searched the internet for a dog friendly B&B which accepted dogs and we were delighted with this find. Delicious breakfasts, comfy lounge, delightful garden and lovely hosts. We had the red room which was well appointed, beautifully clean with great en suite and very comfortable bed. Couldn't be better and with the lovely Durham Dales on the doorstep too. So much to do and see we will be back. A great plus for us as fans of local produce and Fairtrade was the committment of Jill and Rupert to both these. We would also recommend the Duke of York at Fir Tree nearby for your evening meals. We had an excellent welcome and thoroughly ennoyed the wonderful cooking too. Dogs welcome in the spacious bar area..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments. We do enjoy having dogs to stay- they tend to bring a very good class of owner with them! In fact, we wish more people would welcome dogs as we have to turn so many away when we are full, and there are few alternatives round here.

In fact, after your recommendation, we ourselves ate at the Duke of York and found it excellent, so thank you for the tip. People can find their web site address on our own site. I would just make the point that the comment: "Dogs welcome in the spacious bar area" refers to the Duke of York, NOT Dowfold House. We don't have a bar - otherwise dogs would be welcome there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

As a party of four we stayed at Dowfold House for three nights this week. The accomodation and breakfasts are excellent, rooms very clean, well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. The potato bread, sausage and strawberry jam were particularly delicious.

We really appreciated the considered approach Jill and Rupert take in reducing their and their guests impact on the environment. We also really liked their very helpful but inobtrusive approach to their guests.

We will be back and wish Jill and Rupert all the best for their highly deserved success.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oswald75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Gosh! You've really noticed some of the things we value most highly. We do work on the basis of :"save the world - but you don't need to wear a hair shirt to do it", and we always recognise that our guests are here for their own purposes, so we help wherever we can but otherwise essentially stay in the background. Thank you so much for appreciating this approach - we're delighted you like our home-made produce as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
5.0 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.0 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
4.1 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
10.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dowfold House Low Jobs Hill | Low Jobs Hill, Crook DL15 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come & visit our lovely, comfortable Victorian house with its delightful gardens. As a small, high-quality bed and breakfast establishment, we aim to provide a comfortable, welcoming, peaceful - home for you to enjoy; and we do GREAT breakfasts!Our rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, all with en-suite facilities, while our home & gardens offer opportunities for relaxation. We're proud of our green credentials. "Green, but without the hair shirt" is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing