We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food will be back for sure”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Disley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional british pub serving homemade quality food and drinks. Selection of cask beers,lagers,cider and guiness. Fine selection of wines in our new wine menu.
cheshire
1 review
“fantastic food will be back for sure”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we had the steak deal, two British rump steaks and bottle of wine for £25.The steaks were soft and tender with full trimmings and fresh hand cut chips, the wine was good and served at room temperature (red). I will be back again with the family, great food and nice warm pub

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Disley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy homely pub”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I live in Disley and we call it 'Mum's Tea' although the menu's more extensive than mum could do. Great Spanish Tapas here also, get a few and enjoy. The roasted peppers are great, every now and again you get a firecracker, it's Russian Roulette in food form!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly staff and good quality, cosy food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a voucher for a Sunday roast and bottle of wine, but they let us have a large glass of wine and a pint as my partner is allergic to wine. I had the gammon and my partner had the chicken - both were really well cooked, tender and tasty. The gravy was particularly good, and the roasties were brilliant (although we could have done with a few more). The staff were really welcoming and friendly, and we were given a nice comfy table by the window, away from the tables in front of the bar which seemed quite crowded. The decor of the place is quite standard and nothing special, but that wouldn't put me off. We then paid the extra for the homemade apple crumble which was delicious. A lovely afternoon.
PS - not sure some of the regulars are very enlightened - some old men still using the words 'half caste' and 'coloured'; however this clearly isn't anything to do with the pub itself. We are a gay couple and felt completely welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice pub”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to The White Horse a couple of months ago for tapas and sangria which was very nice. The pub is nice and comfortable and the staff were polite and friendly. The pub is now owned by a Spanish man, so the tapas should be good! They also have specials on the board every day, so there's a good selection to choose from. Last week, we called for Sunday lunch and the beef melted in your mouth. Will definitely call here agian - perhaps one night to have paella!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very disapointed”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

burnt food wouldnt serve to family let alone paying public, conversation from bar staff not of what i expect to hear

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Disley, Cheshire
 
Disley, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing