We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold chips called madras chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Purple Pakora - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Purple Pakora
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cold chips called madras chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The place was pretty vast so I didn't expect to be put right at the back by the kitchen. The staff didn't realise I was a mystery shopper and gave a sigh when i asked to be seated near the window. The service took forever to get a bottle of Cobra and even longer to get the attention of a waiter to take my humble order. I ordered a sizzling plate of lamb and the madras chips..Not rocket science but by the time it was served I had already polished off my second beer and was quite bored of watching other people who hadn't been served. I complained about the cold chips and they were deducted from the menu begrudgingly..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank restaurant1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ash is so friendly and welcoming. We have been loads of times and he makes a fuss. The menu is different and good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkyHes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellent food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

we called in on a tuesday night. first thing we noticed was a new manager. seems a lot of changes and rename are coming to the purple pakora.
the manager was very kean to help and make our visit a good one. he managed this without a doubt. great food and service. friendly staff (improvement on before) and on the ball too. any issues were delt with and more than happy to discus the food and the resteraunt.
we used the taste card here and they were more than accomadating even though some of the ordered items were tricky to include (shared starter).
delicious food and more than enough for us to eat. sharing rice and nann will be what we do next time.
if you decide to eat here after reading this there's a strong possibility the name will have changed but the guy in charge is on the ball and should't disapoint

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pokeiarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Sevices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We drive pass this restaurants few times and decided to make a visit one day, we went on weekday (Tuesday) we were greeted and serviced with professional manner. The food was also excellent. place also a romantic with live candles

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurshed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best this year so far.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

When we arrived at 8pm the place was rammed which we took as a good sign! the staff where really attentive. Good selection of meals and you can also do a banquet is there are at least 4 of you. The pickle tray and poppadoms was lovely! I didn't have a starter but the rest of the party did and they all said how nice they were! I had a tandoori mixed grill, it was gorgeous! meats really tasty and tender! Very filling! it arrives on a sizzler plate to its nice'n' hot! The only down side is soon as the sun sets it starts to get really dark and the way to the toilets is even darker! If your having a birthday then its a good place to celebrate as another party there had birthday song played for them and they all sang happy birthday which was really sweet. Hot towels and after eights when you finish. Lovely. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank layla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pakora also viewed

Disley, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing