We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great grounds, nice day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyme Park

Lyme Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Disley
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great grounds, nice day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely house and park, a great day out, plenty of space for a nice picnic, also tea rooms and restaurant, lots to see and do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank F4V-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    342
    87
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lyme Park is certainly worth a visit. There is a large play area for the children and the walks around the garden are lovely. The house itself is very impressive and the volunteers are very informative and friendly. Well worth a day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank redshoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

have visited Lyme park many times, on this visit, we went into the house and looked around the gardens..was not disappointed, a magnificent house, friendly helpful staff.. well worth the visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phil_r_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“LYME PARK (aka Pemberley)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Being British I have visited a lot of the stately and ancestral houses/parks/castles our great country has to offer. Over the years I have sung the praise of many of them, but hands down this is the most perfectly situated dwelling I have ever seen. It is amazingly beautiful. On our 2nd day there we were the first people to arrive and the serenity was total.
The estate was granted to Sir Thomas Danyers in 1346 and passed to the Leghs of Lyme by marriage in 1388. The house is a very nice period property dating back to the 16th century. It is full of beautiful furniture and paintings and there is an attendant in every room that have a font of information on the history of the place at their fingertips, use them!! The staff was amazingly polite, informative and eager for all to have a nice time. They also have a wardrobe department so you to dress up in Edwardian cloths and stroll about the park.
The beautiful south view is not the main entrance believe it or not.
The statue of Mr Darcy is residing in the Reflection Lake until February 2014 so be quick if you want to see him there.
Lyme house was used for the exterior shots of Pemberley in the 1998 adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice staring Colin Firth and Jennifer Elle.
The grounds are stunning. There are wooded walks, several lakes and some you can fish in, a BBQ area, gift shops, tea rooms, and a restaurant, also a picnic area, an Orangery, formal gardens, a rose garden and a small cascade waterfall. Dogs are allowed on leads. (Not in the house)
PLEASE LOOK AT MY PICTURES TO GET AN IDEA OF HOW STUNNING THIS PLACE REALLY IS.
It is also a part of the National Trust so if you’re a member it’s FREE.
I cannot possible tell you how much we enjoyed our two days visit here, go for yourself and find out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank honee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a fabulous place to go. Stunning countryside. Activities for children. Enjoyed a family picnic down by the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyme Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing