We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property”
Review of Lyme Park

Lyme Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Disley
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can highly recommend Lyme Park. As a National Trust member I have visited a number of properties and this one kept me and my husband enthralled for two hours. The history of the property is fascinating and National Trust have created the right balance of accuracy with interactive activities - most notaby letter writing at the writing desk and dressing up in some very high quality Edwardian costumes for photo opportuniites. Despite a grey day, the grounds were spectacular in their autumn colours. Will hope to visit again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsShortStayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    366
    91
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stood and watched the dry stonewallers at work they really serve Lyme really well.Just spend a while just walking there is so much to see beside the house.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Splendid park with lots of deers”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visited Lyme Park on a Wednesday (pity the house is not open on Wednesdays and Thursdays) but with the aid of a very nice volunteer we have seen the whole park which is really beautiful with lots of deers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful walks and family day out”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not far from the City, great for kids (new play park is great), families, small cafe, walkers etc. Well looked after grounds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Warning-a longer walk from Disley station than The National Trust website indicates.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to visit Lyme park because it was Pemberley in "Pride & Prejudice" (1995) but we also watched the recent horror movie "The Awakening" and realized it was also Lyme Park.

Once we got to the house and grounds, as others have indicated, it was lovely. What was not lovely was the lack of direction out of the Disley station (there is a hidden way there), and then they don't tell you on the website that once you get to the gate of the grounds, it is a mile walk to the house. Your choice is to walk on the windy road with cars whizzing by, or to take a more direct route, which was to hike over some hills and what looked like on a horse trail. Watch out for horse poop if you select option 2 and wear some sturdy hiking shoes.

At least heading home, they have a shuttle that takes you to the gate of the grounds, and the nice shuttle driver pointed out the secret direct way via a back road to the station.

Helpful?
1 Thank Konnichiwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyme Park also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to Lyme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing