We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
84
62
25
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
84
62
25
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george borrow beer garden red kites good home cooked food excellent base sunday lunch is cauliflower cheese curry night evening meal mid wales friendly locals country pub steak pie pies family room cosy bar five minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 190 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2018

This Hotel is Excellent, everything about it was first class. We booked in and was shown our room (4) well presented , clean and well furnished, all the normal amenities tea, coffee ,biscuits etc. The views are beautiful, the food was hot and delicious. The owners were welcoming and very concerned that everything was right for our stay ( even though it was one night). I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Friendly welcome. Waited a few minutes before being shown to a nice table by the window. Sunday lunch is just the Carvery so you queue up with big warm plate. Meat was beef (rather well done & dry but quite nice) and lovely moist turkey. Most if us had a bit of each, accompained by stuffing balls, yorkshires, new and roast potatoes, roast parsnips, cauliflower cheese, Swede, carrots, cabbage, peas, gravy and sauces. Everyone cleared their plates so we must have been satisfied. The food was basic Sunday roast fayre but very pleasant, desserts were chocolate cake, lemon merange pie with cream or ice cream which all enjoyed, as I'm gluten intolerant so I just had the ice cream which was ok but had big pieces of ice in it. Anyway for just under £11 per person for a two coarse dinner was extremely good value for money. Over the years we have been here quite a few times and have always been happy with our meals here, the fact it is very busy and we usually have to book in advance shows that's it's very popular with locals and tourists. The view down the gauge from the Garden is breath taking.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Q1445PXjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a warmer welcome, enjoyed every bit of my stay. The views here are amazing, within a five minute drive of Devils Bridge Fabulous food and really can't wait to go back and stay again. Loved it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Guide68200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Very relaxing in large bedroom (family room) even though there was only 2 of us.
Old Georgian home converted to hotel.
Original building now a really good country pub, with real locals. All very friendly. Bar food good - Curry night special. Breakfast on par with good BnB.
Recommended.

Room tip: Pay a bit extra for the family room. Good views.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin and Karen A, Owner at George Borrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hi
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. and we thank you for your comments.
Should we be able to help you with future booking, please phone us on 01970 890230 and we will be happy to help.
We look forwards to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff for sure but it’s a scruffy and uncomfortable hotel. Smelly room that we had to freeze to get rid of the smell. Tiny tiny room . Same cost as other places we have stayed but half the value. Almost left after the first sleepless night. It was like staying in Faulty towers!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cookster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews