We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent comfortable stay at Gearge Borrow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Borrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent comfortable stay at Gearge Borrow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Good clean hotel and very friendly, helpful staff. Food in restaurant very good and good portions. Rooms have been recently decorated. Great views of mountains from rear of hotel and waterfall at bottom of garden. Appears popular with walkers and with with those touring in the Aber' area.

  • Liked — clean and friendly - nothing too much trouble
  • Disliked — saniflo toilet - bit of a noise for 10 seconds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    17
    13
    1
See reviews for
32
65
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Room very clean (except for the window) but dated. The rest of the hotel needed a good "spring clean", including the garden. Food was ok. Views from garden were stunning. Hotel Management very friendly and welcoming..

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Unkempt garden which could have been beautiful if taken care of.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

Great staff, great rooms and great food and great views what more could anybody want.. This is a three star hotel inside a two star. Highly recommended. my wife and I were on a birdwatching holiday and we were out with a hearty breakfast inside us also in our ruck sacks was a fresh packed lunch for us made to order and returning in the evening a fantastic choice of food freshly prepared including chefs specials and a lovely cheap bar.(which makes a change)! Mr and Mrs Saunders. west sussex

  • Liked — Clean friendly and great food
  • Disliked — miles from my home but worth it.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zib68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HippyWhippy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

The views from the gsrden over the Reidol Gorge are breathtaking. Good beer, great food and a warm welcome. Comfortable accomodation and conveniently located. Well worth a visit!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyWhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

while on holiday in a bungalow few mile inland we had a power cut one evening, no electric no diner. so we got in our cars, 3 of them,9 people in all, and headed towards aberystwyth, looking for lights. the first of which we found was George Borrow Hotel. not knowing what too exspect we went in. Boy were we shocked, spung on them from nowhere these 9 people were given a very warm welcome. we had a lovely meal,f irst class. nothing was too much trouble. thanks for our lovely evening.
Mick from Newmarket

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank miche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

This was recommended to us by the RSPB-cabin staff at the nearby Nant yr Arian centre (a fabulous place in itself where you can watch dozens of red kites close up).

The hotel charged £75 for 2 people in a double, which I thought was very steep, but then everywhere seemd to charge the same last week.

Room: tiny with very sloping roof. Clean but cramped.

Restaurant: the hotel claims to be aiming for 'logis de France' levels of excellent food, marvellous hospitality etc. I think closer to the mark would be Sibyl Fawlty's 'but chef's opened the tin!' when a guest asks about the fresh fruit salad...

This said it was a pleasant enough place, OK food, some obviously microwaved or ready prepared and so not really worth the money they charged, but the location was convenient and the people friendly. I can't exactly recommend it but there wasn't anything specifically wrong.

British levels of service - ie, trying hard but amateurish.

Overall: all right, handy for the bird centre and touring mid Wales. There may be other nicer places but none were available that night.

  • Liked — Location and availability; staff were friendly
  • Disliked — lots of stairs, average food, the prices!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check that your room as a flat ceiling and you won't clock yourself off the sloping roof like I did.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Archsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
11.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
11.8 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
11.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Property: George Borrow Hotel
Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing