We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carvery in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best carvery in Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Won't write too much as I do review the George every season when we return to our caravan. Just had our first carvery of the season. Still great, if you find a better one let me know. Thanks George see you next week. If you do go best to give them a ring to book a table, this is not a big premises

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    17
    13
    1
See reviews for
32
66
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

4 friends and I stayed here whilst mountain biking in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating with nothing too much trouble . Our rooms were clean and beds were comfy and a great view from our bedroom window. Great breakfast to fuel us up for a day in the saddle as well and the evening meal we had was delicious and we were all stuffed at the end. No complaints and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Not sure what to say. Friendly, but slightly reluctant helpfulness.Prices probably adjusted on booking to reflect perceived pocket depths of visitors. Rooms on 1st floor attractive and spacious, those on 2nd floor small and needing decoration. This split of pleasant and in need of attention is reflected in all areas. We have always enjoyed our stays, finding the George Borrow a convenient base from which to explore in all directions, and faintly amused by and fairly tolerant of its imperfections.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stopped here on the off chance of accomodation being available which it was.

The staff were friendly, the room was clean but small however the toilet/shower room had that damp smell about it. Meals were good and plenty of choice and bar facilities were good.

Price of 75 ounds not over the top but we did stay at many a B&B for less and nicer rooms.

No cell phone coverage either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay at this well appointed small hotel in Mid Wales. Our double room was clean and had the most spectacular view (Room 4). The room had a compact en suite with shower which worked efficiently, and there was every amenity including hairdryer. The staff were always cheerful and helpful and it is very obvious that Karen, the owner, really does care The breakfast was very good, not at all greasy, and there was a considerable choice of evening meals and bar food which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 - beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reydon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we arrived here for a one night stay and were greeted by nice friendly staff, but the interior of the hotel looked very tired and smelled of a mix of air fresheners and fried food. when showed up to our room which was at the top of the hotel in the roof it was a very small room and with a double bed which had a beam on one side and when i stood up i nearly knocked myself out (i am only 5ft 8inches tall). the bathroom had a beige carpet and a pine toilet seat which was loose. my wife found the room not to be of a standard that we wanted to stay in so we ended up going into town and finding another hotel.we paid £75.00 for a room that we never used and after e-mailing the hotel twice they still have not replied we are not impressed with the customer service so overall we are not happy with this hotel

Room Tip: don't take room eight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is the second time that we have visited the George Borrow Hotel. The first time in August 2013 Like this was a last minute decision to take a short break, and like this time was to the same high standard. The hotel is clean has a lot of character and is set in a beautiful location, Good views from all the rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent selection of good food and very generous servings. We had great 3 Day break Excellent value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_coombes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
11.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
11.7 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Property: George Borrow Hotel
Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing