We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for a few days when birdwatching in the area. The staff could not have been nicer and the cook wanted to make sure that nobody was ever hungry! Packed lunches are a meal in themselves. The room was clean and warm with a nice view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unable to get accomodation in Aberystwyth due to beginning of university year. Arrived rather late in the evening to a very warm welcome. Room was basic but comfortable. Small and cramped shower cubicle in bathroom but all worked fine. Superb view from room over valley. Good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast in the morning. Its not a luxury stay but perfect for our purpose. Would like to have stayed longer and will definately use this hotel again rather than paying more money in Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: Valley views are good. Main road adjacent to hotel is very quiet during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianWood94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my partner. Upon arrival the owners were very friendly, and our room was well decorated and had a great view over the river gorge to the hills beyond. The evening meal (eaten in the restaurant with the same great view) was hearty and good value, and breakfast was high quality too. Considering the price (£75 for a double room) it seemed like excellent value for money. We'd certainly return if back in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We called after a room and were happy we got the last room as we'd struggled elsewhere. From walking through the door we were treated in a very friendly way, after spending 6 yrs in the pub trade we can be quite critical but we also know how hard the business is!!! We have no complaints from our overnight stay at all, reasonable cost, very clean and comfortable room and excellent breakfast, and check out wasn't til 11am so no rushing round after breakfast. We would be more than happy to stay here again, maybe not spur of the moment though as next time we may not get in!!!! Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having read George Borrow's account of his 1854 wanderings in Wales in his book Wild Wales numerous times over the last 40 years I was very keen to stay at one of the hostelries that he had patronised. My wife and I were looking for a suitable dog friendly small hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and hoped that the George Borrow Hotel would meet our needs. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in a magnificent location on the edge of a wooded ravine through which the River Rheidol cascades down a dramatic waterfall. Our large bedroom, which overlooked this view contained one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in.
The hospitality was warm and friendly. The evening dinner menu, was for a relatively small establishment, extensive and well cooked. The breakfast choice was as good as any major hotel chain but with the advantage of being. freshly cooked to order. My wife and I are both looking forward to out next visit.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a wonderful view of the surrounding majestic countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbennett1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I've just spent 3 nights at the hotel and had a very warm welcome from the moment I came into the hotel. My room was comfortable and clean. It was facing the road but there was vey little traffic at night. I enjoyed the food - beakfasts and dinners. Staff willing to have a chat and give tips about things eg. parking in Aberystwyth. Weather not good enough to sit out in the garden but good view from the lounge and dining room. Would stay again if in the area. It may be rated 2 stars but was better than one might expect from this rating.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night. It's in a nice location with a lovely view out the back over the valley. The room we stayed in was big with plenty of space and the dining room looks out over the view. The staff were friendly. The hotel was really let down by the standard of cleanliness and maintainence though. I used to be a chambermaid and wouldn't have been allowed to get away with that standard! The bedside cabinet had a layer of dust and so did the folds of the valance sheet. One of the most important things about staying away from home is the feeling that you're getting into a bed with clean bedding. The edges of the windows and frames were dirty and there were a number of spiders in the room. The handle to the ensuite had 2 screws missing and I got stuck in there! The toilet handle was also loose and the shower head could do with a good scrub. Elsewhere in the hotel, cleanliness was an issue with windowsills in the dining room and underneath places such as the tv stand in the lounge. Our mobiles struggled to get a signal and Wifi was very hit and miss up in the bedroom. A real shame because if the place had a good clean, some updating and better maintainence, it would have been a stunning place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPJW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
9.3 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
10.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
10.2 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
179 reviews
10.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing