We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No food on offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No food on offer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Well what can I say? Friday evening meal and 65% of the menu was unavailable leaving what can be described salads and frozen food. The surf and turf was a tasteless with bits of scampi that were out of the freezer. Thought surf and turf was steak and prawns maybe not in Ponterwyd. If they put 10% effort into the food it would have been better than the crap they served.
Question "Would I eat at the George Borrow again?" no but the beer was good

Room Tip: Go to Aberystwyth
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    17
    13
    1
See reviews for
32
66
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I'm just got back from a very long drive and I still feel refreshed from my lovely stay at the George. The two main (and most important) reasons I'm giving this place a 5 is for the amazing view from the beer garden and bedrooms of the beautiful Cambrian hills and the lovely friendly welcome you can expect to receive from this hotel. Everywhere you look you can expect to find loving touches such as nice toiletries in the bathroom, tissues by the bed, biscuits on the tea tray and a hair dryer in the drawer. Basically everything you will need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. After checking in I spent a while in the beer garden enjoying a view of the Cambrian hils which is second to none and when it was bed time fell asleep with the sound of water running over the rocks at the end of the garden. A lovely time. Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: If you like real ale try the Fefinfoel Double Dragon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just had an overnight at the George Borrows as down for our daughter's graduation and there was nowhere available in Aber. Place appears a little shabby to start, the room and bathroom were very small but comfortable. Breakfast was great but dinner!! the best chicken pie I have ever eaten and I am a bit of a pie fanatic. Food wonderful and hot and very good value. And finally the staff, lovely people and nothing too much. Refurbishment ongoing, we wish you all the very best for the future...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiseBird1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed there a while back & we absolutely loved it! Plus the staff are so friendly! They make you feel so welcome, and the food is fantastic (I highly recommend the lamb shank)! It's a proper old fashioned community pub with a really cheerful atmosphere. They also did my mother's wake after her funeral, and it was so well done. They couldn't do enough for us. If you're in the area, it's worth checking it out. A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location & stunning views.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGreenstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have been to the George a few times now as we recently bought a static caravan in the area, and the food has always been of a very good standard. Went for a carvery this Sunday and it was excellent, pork and beef 3 slices of each and the usual array of veg. I do like the cauliflower cheese with these carveries! Staff always friendly, with a real joker there Sunday serving behind the bar.The evening meal menu is a little limited but there is enough to give you some choice, although during our last two visits the gammon was "off". It is a bit "local" but all staff are friendly and when you get over the small bar with every conversation being rather public it is cosy and "authentic" We will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

What a fantastic find. The setting is fabulous, the staff are so friendly and welcoming and the food is brilliant.

The hotel was undergoing some re-wiring work but this did not in anyway interfere with our stay. The rooms and guest areas are all very clean and nothing is too much trouble for he lovely family who run it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the family room. Room was decent and reasonably clean. The bar area has a log fire which was fine, but the room looked very shabby with worn out furniture and dated decor. The breakfasts were fine, and the evening meals were of a good standard , however the menu was quite limited. The hotel needs a serious makeover and a deep clean. The reception area was littered with clutter and the first impressions of this place were not very good. Good location, but spend some money and bring it up to scratch, and it will be a very nice place to stay for a break.

Room Tip: Family room has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
11.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
11.7 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Property: George Borrow Hotel
Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing